fbpx
Brownstones

您在COVID-19期间作为房客的权利-回答的常见问题

COVID-19大流行已造成数百万人的经济损失。在纽约,生活费用是全美最高的城市之一,许多纽约人无力支付房租,担心被驱逐出境。

2020年10月7日,NYLAG举行了现场问答环节,讨论了驱逐,租金罢工,租金支付,您作为房客的权利等问题。从下面的问答环节中阅读常见问题的答案。 

常见问题(FAQ):

首先,请记住,房东必须先将您告上法庭,才能驱逐您。这意味着房东必须首先完成以下步骤,然后才能失去家园:

  • 您的房东必须向您发送正式的租金要求,以支付任何应付的租金。房东必须给您至少14天的时间才能偿还所称的债务,然后他们才能将您告上法庭。
  • 如果您尚未按租金要求的日期还清欠租,则房东可能会在住房法院对您提起未付款的诉讼。
  • 法院于6月下旬重新开始受理新案件。在一段时间的停权后,2020年3月16日以后开始的任何案件都可能继续进行。我们希望这些案件的处理速度缓慢。如果您收到住房法院未付款案件的请愿书,那么根据州长的行政命令,您现在有60天的时间可以答复。如果您最近收到了房屋法庭的请愿书,那么您绝对可以通过我们的热线与我们联系。
  • 您不应该仅仅因为房东威胁您或向您发送通知说他们将驱逐您而离开家。法律上 只要 元帅可以驱逐您。

如果您没有钱还清房租,可以使用一键交易,租金补贴和慈善组织。请点击 这里 了解更多。

早在6月,立法机关通过了法案,州长Cuomo签署了《租户安全港法案》,这项法律禁止在COVID-19期间遇到财务困难的租户从2020年3月7日起因拖欠租金而被逐出,直到紧急状态结束。但是,房东仍可以从该时期获得针对其租户的任何未付租金的金钱判决。住房法院针对新法规做出了一些裁决,但法律仍在制定中。我们也不知道COVID-19的期限何时结束。对于租户需要建立什么样的证据来证明他们在COVID-19期间经历了财务困难,不同的法官会有不同的理解,因此我们建议您保存任何可能表明您在租赁期间遇到财务困难的文件。 COVID-19期间。

应该提到的是,纽约州的货币判决绝非“轻而易举”。房东做出金钱判断后,如果您的帐户中的金额超过$2,850或$3,600(取决于您的具体情况),房东可以通过扣发工资和限制银行账户来执行该金钱判断。提供有关纽约银行帐户保护的更多信息这里。货币判决在20年内仍可收集,并且会增长,因为纽约的判决利率为9%。

2020年9月上旬,疾病预防控制中心发布了驱逐暂停令,阻止房东启动新的不付款案件,也阻止房东采取任何行动推进现有案件,直到2020年12月31日。受益于暂停令的保护,房客必须首先向房东发送非常明确的声明(宣誓声明)。您可以阅读有关CDC暂停的更多信息,并找到声明的副本。 这里.

现在,纽约的驱逐暂停令实际上仅适用于在2020年3月16日之前在住房法院拥有现有驱逐判决或案件的人,在这种情况下,房客违约或命令,房东现在有权寻求驱逐判决。要在这些情况下获得驱逐令,房东现在必须向住房法院提出动议,纽约市的房客将有机会与律师联系以进行代理并反对动议。

但是,最近,州长库莫(Cuomo)使法律环境变得更加复杂。 2020年9月29日,Cuomo发布了202.66号行政命令,将对某些租户的驱逐暂停期延长至2021年1月1日。基本上,该行政命令说,将受到《安全港法》保护的任何租户,这意味着可以表明,自3月7日起,他们经历了财务困难,即使房屋法庭案中的驱逐判决是在COVID之前进行的,也可以避免被驱逐到2021年1月1日。由于该行政命令是全新的,而且该语言还留有解释的余地,因此尚不清楚谁受保护。

一种可能的解释是,自3月7日起经历财务困难的任何租户,即使他们有COVID之前的驱逐判决,也要到2021年1月1日才能被驱逐出境。另一种可能的解释是,行政命令仅保护自3月7日以来遇到财务困难的租户(如果他们属于未付款案例),但是行政命令不能保护住户免于在拖延付款情况下被驱逐。由于目前的法律状况如此复杂,复杂且不清楚,因此,在现有的房屋法院案件中,如果房东正在寻求驱逐判决的动议,请一位律师代理您,这一点非常重要。 。

您可能已经收到或可能很快会收到房东律师的动议,以将案件恢复日历,以便房东可以驱逐您。

如果您收到这样的动议,则应该联系我们的热线电话,看看我们是否可以代表您。请点击 这里 讨论您的具体情况。

仅仅因为您收到了该动议并不意味着您会立即被驱逐。您确实有权反对该动议。并且,请记住,在您被驱逐出境之前,需要将您带上元帅的驱逐通知,而元帅必须到您家驱逐您。这就是为什么如果您收到其中一项动议对您很重要的原因,因为律师可能会做些事来拖延甚至阻止驱逐。您也许还可以利用CDC暂停。每个人的情况都不一样,因此与律师谈谈您的具体情况以及可以为您提供哪些法律选择绝对是一个好主意。

如果您已经无法支付租金,罢工可能是您和您的邻居团结起来的好方法。如果您不能作为一个人支付租金,而您的建筑物中的许多其他人都在同一条船上,那么组织一次租金罢工可以使您对房东产生影响。

但是,罢工可能具有风险,特别是对于无证租户。罢工之前,您应该与经验丰富的租户组织者交谈。律师同盟权为考虑罢工的人们提供了资源。您可以在以下位置找到它们 righttocounselnyc.org,或Google“ Rent Strike Toolkit”,或转到 bit.ly/RentStrikeNY,或在文字上(不要称呼)“ Rent Strike”或“ Huelga De Renta” 646-542-1920.

在大流行的头几个月,住房法院只受理了少量案件。但是在11月4日,法院的一项新行政命令恢复了“在纽约提交和送达法律文件的常规做法。”业主可以通过电子方式或亲自提交新案件,尽管法院的行政法官出于公共卫生原因仍可能限制亲自提交。如前所述,在某些情况下,在COVID-19之前开始的案件中,房东还可以进行驱逐。在少数情况下,房东和房客都有律师的案件也正在进行审判。与COVID-19之前相比,大多数其他事情的进展速度仍然较慢。如果您在房屋法院的案件中已经有律师,我们建议您与他们联系以获取更多详细信息。如果您没有律师,并且正在审理中的案件,您将在法院收到一封明信片,上面有您的下一个约会日期,但很难说何时会发生。

记得:只有在房东向住房法院提起诉讼,获得对您的驱逐判决,向您发出元帅通知并且元帅来到您家驱逐您的情况下,您才能被驱逐出家。

一般来说,根据纽约州法律, 只有租金稳定的租户才有权续租。 即使您没有稳定租金的租约,但如果您居住在1974年以前建造的有六个或更多单元的建筑物中,即使您可能没有租金稳定的租户,也有可能成为稳定租金的租户。成为法人单位。如果您不是稳定租金的租户,则您不太可能获得续约租约,并且在租约期满时,房东可以选择不续租,然后在住房法院对您进行延期提起诉讼。给您适当的通知后。如果您居住的时间少于一年,则您有权获得的通知期限至少为30天;如果居住时间在一年至两年之间,则至少为60天;如果您居住的时间至少为90天,在那住了两年或更长时间。这些不同的通知期限仅在2019年6月成为法律,房东经常将其弄乱,如果房东在开始针对您的保留案件之前未向您提供适当的通知,则可能会在保留程序中为您提供某些辩护。

如果您在2020年3月16日之后被驱逐出境,并且在驱逐前没有接到大法官的通知,则您的驱逐很可能是非法的,您可以在您居住的行政区的住房法院发起非法停工案回到家中(恢复财产)。

如果您认为自己已被非法锁定,可以致电给我们。我们会在最后给您电话号码。或者,您可以自己居住的自治市的住房法院自行提出非法停工程序。

是。如果您需要对公寓进行维修,而尽管您反复提出要求,但房东仍拒绝解决,则可以向住房法院对房东提起惠普诉讼,要求房东进行维修。您可以亲自在您居住的自治市的住房法院亲自进行,也可以使用在线申请JustFix。 这里.

如果您受到房东的骚扰,也可以使用JustFix启动HP Action案例。

是的,NYLAG很高兴了解更多信息,以了解我们是否可以为您提供帮助。致电我们免费的NY COVID-19法律资源热线: 929-356-9582 我们会尽快与您联系。了解更多 nylag.org/hotline.

有关租户权利和COVID-19最新资源的信息,请单击 这里

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin
分享到pinterest
分享到print
分享到email

相关文章

简体中文
English Español de México 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 简体中文
滚动到顶部

为了应对COVID-19危机,我们仍在努力工作,我们的进气管已经开放,但是请注意,我们的物理办公室已关闭。

在这空前的时期,我们启动了免费的NY COVID-19法律资源热线,并编制了最新的法律和财务咨询更新。

fbpx
Brownstones

Your Rights as a Tenant During COVID-19—FAQs Answered

The COVID-19 pandemic has caused economic devastation to millions. In New York City, where the cost of living is one of the highest in the country, many New Yorkers are unable to pay rent and fear potentially being evicted.

On October 7th, 2020, NYLAG held a live Q&A that discussed evictions, rent strikes, rent payments, your rights as a tenant, and more. You can view the pre-recorded video below, as well as some FAQs.

Below are some of the FAQs Answered:

First, remember that a landlord cannot evict you without first taking you to court. That means before you can lose your home, your landlord must go through the following steps:

  • Your landlord must send you a formal rent demand for payment of any rent due. Landlords must give you at least 14 days to pay the alleged debt before they can proceed to take you to court.
  • If you have not paid the back rent by the date on the rent demand, the landlord may start a nonpayment case against you in Housing Court.
  • Courts reopened to the filing of new cases in late June, but any case started after March 16, 2020 is suspended until further notice. We don’t know when that suspension will be lifted. If you receive a Petition for a Housing Court non-payment case, because of the suspension it is not necessary to answer the Petition, but you can file an answer if you’d like to and it might be advisable for you to do. If you’ve received a Housing Court petition recently, you can definitely reach out to us on through our hotline.
  • You should not leave your home just because your landlord is threatening you or sending you notices saying they’re going to evict you. Legally only the marshal can evict you.

If you do not have the money to pay back your rent, there are One Shot Deals, rental subsidies, and charitable organizations that can help. Click here to learn more.

  • Back in June, the legislature passed and Governor Cuomo signed the Tenant Safe Harbor Act, which is a law that stops tenants who experienced financial hardship during the COVID-19 period from ever being evicted for non-payment of rent that became due during the period from March 7, 2020, until the state of emergency ends. However, landlords can still get money judgments against their tenants for any unpaid rent from that time period. Because the law is brand-new and there are almost no court decisions interpreting the law, there are many things that we don’t know about how things will play out. We also don’t know when the COVID-19 period will end. We also don’t know how difficult it will be for tenants to establish that they’ve experienced financial hardship during the COVID-19 period, so we encourage you to save any documents that you may have that would show that you experienced financial hardship during the COVID-19 period.

    It should be mentioned that money judgments in New York state are no “cakewalk.” Once a landlord has a money judgment, the landlord can enforce that money judgment by garnishing wages and restraining bank accounts if the amount in the account exceeds $2,850 or $3,600 depending on your specific situation. More information about bank account protections in New York is available here. Money judgments remain collectible for 20 years and can grow because there is a 9% judgment rate of interest in New York. 

In early September 2020, the CDC issued an eviction moratorium that prevents landlords from starting new non-payment cases and also stops landlords from taking any action to move forward with an existing case until December 31, 2020. To benefit from the protections of the moratorium, tenants must first send their landlord a very specific declaration (sworn statement). You can read more about the CDC moratorium and find a copy of the declaration here.

New York’s eviction moratorium now really only applies to people who have existing judgments of eviction or cases commenced in Housing Court before March 16, 2020 in which the tenant defaulted on a stipulation or order and the landlord now has the right to seek a judgment of eviction. To get eviction warrants in those cases, landlords must now file a motion with the Housing Court and tenants in New York City will have an opportunity to connect with lawyers for representation and oppose the motion.

However, very recently Governor Cuomo made the legal landscape even more complicated. On September 29, 2020, Cuomo issued Executive Order 202.66, which extends the eviction moratorium for some tenants until January 1, 2021. Basically, the executive order says that any tenant who would be protected by the Safe Harbor Act, meaning that any tenant who could show that they experienced financial hardship since March 7, would be protected from being evicted until January 1, 2021, even if the judgment of eviction in their Housing Court case was pre-COVID. Because this Executive Order is brand new and the language leaves room for interpretation, it’s not completely clear who is protected.

One possible interpretation is that any tenant who has experienced financial hardship since March 7 can’t be evicted until January 1, 2021 even if they had a pre-COVID eviction judgment. Another possible interpretation is that the executive order would only protect tenants who have experienced financial hardship since March 7 if they are in a nonpayment case, but the executive wouldn’t protect tenants from eviction in holdover cases. Because the legal landscape is so convoluted, complicated, and unclear at the moment, it’s very important that you seek out a lawyer to represent if you are served with a motion in an existing Housing Court case in which your landlord is seeking a judgment of eviction.

You may have received or may soon receive a motion from your landlord’s attorney to restore the case to the calendar so the landlord can evict you.

If you receive such a motion, you should reach out to our hotline to see if we can represent you. Click here to discuss your specific situation.

Just because you received this motion doesn’t mean you’re being evicted immediately. You do have a right to oppose the motion. And, remember that before you can be evicted, your need to be served with a marshal’s notice of eviction, and the marshal has to come to your home to evict you. That’s why it’s important for you to reach out to a lawyer if you receive one of these motions because there may be things a lawyer can do to delay and maybe even prevent the eviction. You may also be able to take advantage of the CDC moratorium. Everyone’s case is different, so it’s definitely a good idea to speak to a lawyer about your specific situation and what legal options may be available to you.

A rent strike can be a great way for you and your neighbors to band together if you already cannot pay your rent. If you cannot pay rent as an individual and many others in your building are in the same boat, organizing a rent strike can give you leverage against your landlord.

But rent strikes can be risky, especially for undocumented tenants. Before striking you should speak with an experienced tenant organizer. The Right to Counsel Coalition has resources for folks considering rent strikes. You can find them at righttocounselnyc.org, or Google “Rent Strike Toolkit”, or go to bit.ly/RentStrikeNY, or text (don’t call) the words “Rent Strike” or “Huelga De Renta” to 646-542-1920.

Housing Court is actually now open for a limited number of things. Landlords can file new cases electronically, but those cases remain suspended until further notice. Landlords can also move forward with evictions in cases that were started before COVID in certain situations as described previously. There are also trials happening in a limited number of cases in which both the landlord and tenant have lawyers. Most everything else is still shut down and it’s unclear when Housing Court will reopen further. If you already have an attorney in your Housing Court case, I encourage you to reach out to them for more details. If you do not have an attorney and you have an ongoing court case, you will receive a postcard in the mail from the court with your next court date, but it’s hard to say when that might happen.

Remember: You can only be evicted from your home if your landlord starts a case in Housing Court, obtains a judgment of eviction against you, you are served with a marshal’s notice, and the marshal comes to your home to evict you.

Generally speaking, under New York law, only rent-stabilized tenants are entitled to a renewal lease. Even if you don’t have a rent-stabilized lease, it’s possible that you may be a rent-stabilized tenant if you live in a building that was built before 1974 that has six or more units, even if some of those units may not be legal units. If you’re not a rent-stabilized tenant, it’s unlikely that you’re entitled to a renewal lease and at the end of your lease, your landlord could elect not to renew your lease and then commence a holdover action against you in Housing Court after giving you proper notice. The amount of notice you’re legally entitled to is at least 30 days if you’ve lived in there less than a year, at least 60 days for between one year and less than two years, and at least 90 days if you’ve lived there for two years or more. These different notice periods only became law in June 2019 and landlords often mess them up, which may give you certain defenses in a holdover proceeding if a landlord does not serve you with the proper notice prior to commencing its holdover case against you.

If you’ve been evicted after March 16, 2020 and were not served with a marshals notice prior to your eviction, it’s likely that your eviction was illegal and you can start an illegal lockout case in the Housing Court in the borough you lived in to get back into your home (be restored to possession).

If you believe you have been illegally locked out, you can call us. We’ll give you the number at the end. Or you can go to the Housing Court in the borough in which you lived to file an illegal lockout proceeding on your own.

Yes. If you have repairs that are necessary for your apartment and your landlord refuses to address them despite your repeated requests, you can file an HP Action against your landlord in Housing Court to get your landlord to make the repairs. You can do that in person in Housing Court in the borough in which you live or use JustFix, an online application, which is available here.

You can also use JustFix to start an HP Action case if you’re being harassed by your landlord.

Yes, NYLAG would be happy to learn more to see if we can assist you. Call our free NY COVID-19 Legal Resource Hotline at 929-356-9582 and we’ll get back to you. Learn more at nylag.org/hotline.

For information on tenants’ rights and the latest resources for COVID-19, click here

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, we are still working hard and our intake lines are open, but please note that our physical office is closed.

During these unprecedented times, we’ve launched a free NY COVID-19 Legal Resources Hotline and compiled the latest legal and financial counseling updates.