fbpx
The VA needs to do more in the fight against COVID-19

弗吉尼亚州需要在对抗COVID-19方面做更多工作

Ryan Foley和Meghan Brooks 
任务与目的

退伍军人事务部的任务是照顾那些“打了仗的人”。当我们面临前所未有的公共卫生危机时,弗吉尼亚州完成这项任务的能力将受到考验。

弗吉尼亚州是美国最大的综合卫生保健系统的负责人,已经在与冠状病毒的斗争中处于最前线–至关重要的是,弗吉尼亚州的医院必须配备足够的人员并为应对这种日益严重的流行病做好准备。但是,弗吉尼亚州还必须采取迅速果断的行动,以充分保护退伍军人获得其提供的其他重要利益和服务的机会。迄今为止,罗伯特·威尔基部长秘书的渐进和零星的回应是远远不够的。他必须立即采取措施阻止COVID-19及其经济后果造成的损害。

冠状病毒大流行将严重打击退伍军人及其家人。全国一半以上的退伍军人年龄在65岁或65岁以上,并且所有退伍军人中有很大一部分患有基本的健康状况。 疾病预防控制中心的早期报告 发现65岁或65岁以上的患者代表了COVID-19病例的31%,住院治疗的45%,ICU入院的53%和死亡的80%。 CDC警告说,患有潜在健康状况(例如慢性呼吸道疾病,慢性肝病和糖尿病)的人更容易受到感染。所有这些潜在疾病在退伍军人中更为普遍,作为纽约法律援助小组退伍军人实践的律师,我们看到这些健康状况是服兵役的直接后果。

美国疾病预防控制中心(CDC)建议,在本周末之前,患者应远离患病者,避开人群并尽可能留在家里 超过一半的美国人将受到“不在家”行政命令的约束。 但是,弗吉尼亚州尚未采取必要措施来确保退伍军人事实上可以留在家里而不会冒险受益。

当前,弗吉尼亚州仍要求退伍军人寻求残障补助金,以参加医疗上不必要的亲自福利检查。这些活动发生在已经不堪重负的VA医疗中心(那里更可能存在病毒)或独立承包商(VA不能监控退伍军人或其他临床患者的健康)。 VA必须立即将所有这些检查转换为远程医疗或电话检查,并推迟所有绝对需要面对面检查的检查。退伍军人协会应继续尽可能地提出索赔,并向那些不需要考试的退伍军人尽快提供福利,因为这些福利将是许多因大流行而失去薪水或工作的退伍军人的生命线。

同样,弗吉尼亚州必须采取统一政策,承认这种国家紧急情况对退伍军人提出申诉的能力的影响。目前,索赔和证据提交和上诉的截止日期仍在继续,退伍军人争先恐后地收集,打印和提交文书和证据。 VA必须尽可能延长这些截止日期,因为对于许多退伍军人来说,提交的唯一方法是乘坐公共交通工具旅行,并利用补给商店,图书馆,邮局或VA设施。伴随的暴露风险是不可接受的;退伍军人不应被迫在健康和主张之间做出选择。

不幸的是,退伍军人经常依靠他们来服务于VA的退伍军人服务组织和授权律师根本不足以克服挑战。拥护者在适应旅行和办公室工作的新限制时将难以提供有意义的代表。诸如检查和发送邮件之类的简单任务将变得更加困难-意味着索偿人和辩护人可能不会收到邮寄的截止日期通知-而随着医生办公室拒绝不必要的任命并关闭记录办公室,发展医学证据几乎变得不可能。目前所有申请人均全面暂停索赔和上诉期限是唯一公平和安全的解决方案。

除了让退伍军人为他们的不同福利要求而进行这些不必要的旅行外,弗吉尼亚州还必须采取更多措施,防止退伍军人及其家人承担不必要的接触风险,并长期保护他们的健康和福祉。收入和住房稳定是健康的关键组成部分。因为弗吉尼亚州为许多退伍军人提供金钱和住房福利,所以它有很大的权力来确保退伍军人及其家人得到住房,并在这个国家紧急情况下拥有稳定的收入来源。

自愿咨询小组应首先紧急加快所有涉及财务困难的索赔和其他要求。它不仅应在已经被标记为财务困难的情况下努力加快处理速度,而且还应在所有要求进入以收入为基础的计划(例如VA养老金)和住房援助要求中进行加速处理,无论是通过将更多退伍军人带入HUD-VASH住房中优惠券计划,或确保继续为学生退伍军人提供住房基本津贴, 根据针对COVID-19大流行的新法规通过。

自愿者还必须立即停止所有收债活动,并拒绝在国家紧急状态结束之前开始新的收债程序。退伍军人协会的当前立场是,欠钱的退伍军人如果受到COVID-19的影响,可以“请求援助”,这是不够的。现在不是逐案救济的时候了,因为这使病态的索赔人或退伍军人承受了与大流行相关的工作损失而感到困难的负担。收藏可以等待。目前,退伍军人和我们的经济需要每一分钱来支付房租和账单,以及购买必需品。

最终,在危机时刻,随着我们国家的民用医疗系统迅速变得不堪重负,弗吉尼亚州医疗中心绝不能拒绝任何曾在部队服役且表现出严重症状与COVID-19一致的人。即日起生效,弗吉尼亚州必须为所有退伍军人提供免费的COVID-19治疗,而不论其出院状态如何-都必须为所有“打过仗的人”提供服务。

纽约法律援助小组 并且由其他退伍军人和军事倡导者组成的全国联盟敦促弗吉尼亚州秘书采取这些步骤,并采取其他任何行动来保护退伍军人及其家人的健康和福祉。不确定性和无所作为只会进一步加剧这种流行病的后果,而这对于我们国家的退伍军人及其家人是不可接受的。

完整的建议可以在这里阅读。

最初发表于 任务与目的 2020年3月26日。

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin
分享到pinterest
分享到print
分享到email

相关文章

简体中文
English Español de México 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 简体中文
滚动到顶部

为了应对COVID-19危机,我们仍在努力工作,我们的进气管已经开放,但是请注意,我们的物理办公室已关闭。

在这空前的时期,我们启动了免费的NY COVID-19法律资源热线,并编制了最新的法律和财务咨询更新。

fbpx
The VA needs to do more in the fight against COVID-19

The VA Needs to do More in the Fight Against COVID-19

By Ryan Foley and Meghan Brooks 
Task & Purpose

The Department of Veterans Affairs’ mission is to care for those “who have borne the battle.” As we face an unprecedented public health crisis, the VA’s ability to fulfill that mission will be tested.

Responsible for the largest integrated health care system in the United States, the VA is already on the front lines of the battle against the coronavirus — it will be critical that VA hospitals remain staffed and supplied to respond to this growing pandemic. However, the VA must also take quick and decisive action to adequately protect veterans’ access to the other critical benefits and services that it provides. Secretary Robert Wilkie’s incremental and piecemeal response so far is simply not enough; he must take immediate steps to stem the damage from COVID-19 and its economic fallout.

The coronavirus pandemic will hit veterans and their families especially hard. More than half of veterans nationwide are aged 65 or older, and a significant percentage of all veterans suffer from underlying health conditions. Early reports from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention found that patients 65 or older have represented 31% of COVID-19 cases, 45% of hospitalizations, 53% of ICU admissions, and 80% of deaths. And the CDC has warned that individuals with underlying health conditions such as chronic respiratory diseases, chronic liver diseases, and diabetes are more susceptible to infection. All of these underlying conditions are more prevalent in the veteran population, and as attorneys in the New York Legal Assistance Group’s Veterans Practice, we see how frequently these health conditions are a direct result of military service.

The CDC has recommended that individuals stay away from those who are sick, avoid crowds, and stay at home as much as possible, and by the end of this week more than half of Americans will be subject to a stay-at-home executive order. Yet the VA has not taken essential steps to ensure that veterans can, in fact, stay home without risking their benefits.

Currently, the VA is still asking veterans seeking disability benefits to attend medically unnecessary in-person benefits exams. These take place at already overwhelmed VA medical centers, where the virus is more likely to be present, or at independent contractors, where the VA has no ability to monitor the health of the veteran or other clinic patients. The VA must immediately convert all of these examinations to telehealth or phone exams, and postpone any that absolutely require an in-person exam. The VA should continue to develop claims to the extent possible, and award benefits as quickly as possible to those veterans who do not require examinations, as these benefits will be a lifeline for many veterans who have lost paychecks or jobs as a result of the pandemic.

Similarly, the VA must adopt a uniform policy that recognizes the impact that this national emergency has on veterans’ ability to pursue their claims. Currently, deadlines for claim and evidence submissions and appeals continue to run, leaving veterans scrambling to collect, print, and submit paperwork and evidence. The VA must extend these deadlines whenever possible, as for many veterans the only way to submit is to travel by public transportation and utilize supply stores, libraries, post offices, or VA facilities. The accompanying risk of exposure is unacceptable; veterans should not be forced to choose between their health and their claims.

Unfortunately, the veterans service organizations and accredited attorneys that veterans often rely on to navigate the VA will simply not be enough to overcome the challenges. Advocates will struggle to provide meaningful representation as they adapt to new restrictions on travel and in-office work. Simple tasks like checking and sending mail will become considerably more difficult — meaning claimants and advocates may not receive mailed notice of deadlines — while developing medical evidence will become nearly impossible as doctors’ offices refuse non-essential appointments and records offices close. An across-the-board suspension of claim and appeal deadlines for all claimants is the only equitable and safe solution at this time.

Beyond excusing veterans from making these unnecessary trips for their different benefit claims, the VA must also do more to prevent veterans and their families from taking unwarranted exposure risks, and to protect their health and wellbeing for the long-term. Income and housing stability are key components of health. Because the VA provides monetary and housing benefits to many veterans, it has considerable power to ensure that veterans and their families are housed and have a steady source of income during this national emergency.

The VA should start by urgently expediting all claims and other requests involving financial hardship. It should strive for expedited processing not only in cases already flagged for financial hardship, but in all claims for entry into income-based programs like VA pension, and claims for housing assistance, whether that be by bringing more veterans into the HUD-VASH housing voucher program, or ensuring that Basic Allowance for Housing support for student veterans continues, as new legislation passed in response to the COVID-19 pandemic requires.

The VA must also immediately halt all debt collection activities and decline to start new collections processes through the end of the national emergency. The VA’s current position that veterans who owe money can “request assistance” if they are affected by COVID-19 is insufficient. This is not the time for case-by-case relief that places the burden on sick claimants or veterans reeling from pandemic-related job loss to prove hardship. Collections can wait. Right now, veterans, and our economy, need every cent to pay rent and bills, and buy necessities.

Finally, in this time of crisis and as our nation’s civilian medical system is rapidly becoming overwhelmed, VA medical centers must not turn away anyone who has served in the military and who presents with severe symptoms consistent with COVID-19. Effective immediately, the VA must provide free COVID-19 treatment for all veterans, regardless of discharge status — it must serve all “who have borne the battle.”

The New York Legal Assistance Group and a national coalition of other veteran and military advocates have urged the VA secretary to take these steps and any other action in his power to protect veterans and their families’ health and wellbeing. Uncertainty and inaction will only further compound the consequences of this pandemic, and that is not acceptable to our nation’s veterans and their families.

The full proposal can be read here.

Originally published in Task & Purpose on March 26, 2020.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top
Picture of a Council Member

Council Member

Francisco Moya

Picture of a NYLAG attorney

NYLAG’s Supervising Attorney

Abby Biberman

Public Benefits & Homeless Shelter Access Amid COVID-19

Missed the Live Q&A? Watch the Pre-Recorded Video on Facebook now.

Today at 12 PM, EST

Receive answers on:

  • public assistance,
  • pandemic EBT,
  • SNAP (food stamps),
  • shelter access,
  • and more!