fbpx
American Visa

特朗普政府的无限制政策是旨在遏制移民的最新卡夫卡式计划

凯瑟琳·兰佩尔(Catherine Rampell)
华盛顿邮报 

如果移民学会如何驾驭您为他们设置的最新诱杀装置,该怎么办?

如果您是特朗普政府,则为那些移民必须依靠的其他人设置了陷阱,例如执法或医务人员,他们为某些签证申请提供证据。

去年秋天,美国公民及移民服务局 引进 也许是对移民系统迄今为止最随意,荒谬的修改:除非每个字段都填写,否则它开始拒绝申请,即使那些显然与申请人不相关的字段也是如此。

因为申请人没有中间名,“中间名”字段留为空白?抱歉,您的申请被拒绝了。没有号码,因为你住在房子里?您也被拒绝了。

没有为您的父母提供地址,因为他们已经死了?没有兄弟姐妹因为您是独生子女而被命名?没有工作历史记录是因为您是8岁的孩子?

所有真实案例,全部被拒绝

A redacted asylum application rejected because some inapplicable fields were left blank. The applicant filled in the names of his three siblings, but the application has fields for four siblings. USCIS said the form was incomplete because “N/A” was not entered in each box of the row for the nonexistent fourth sibling.

编辑过的庇护申请被拒绝,因为一些不适用的字段留为空白。申请人填写了他的三个兄弟姐妹的名字,但是申请中有四个兄弟姐妹的字段。美国公民及移民服务局说,表格不完整,因为没有为不存在的第四兄弟姐妹在行的每个框中输入“ N / A”。 (由Vicente Omar Barraza提供)

特朗普总统的“墙”不是用钢或混凝土建造的,而是用 文书工作繁文缛节。这项无毛政策只是未经国会或(法律上要求的)正式规则制定程序的同意而进行的最新官僚变革。

当被问到这种棘手的处理变更如何符合公共利益时,美国公民及移民服务局发言人通过电子邮件发送:“完整的申请对于我们的裁判员来说是必要的,以维护我们的移民系统的完整性并确保他们能够确认身份以及申请人的移民和犯罪历史,以确定申请人的资格。”

似乎更有可能是关于阻止符合条件的移民获得签证。

“一千个剪纸导致的死亡”,California的高级政策顾问Cecelia Friedman Levin说 阿斯塔斯塔,这是代表暴力幸存者的非营利组织。

在最初的令人困惑的拒绝信泛滥之后,移民律师明智起来。律师们花了额外的时间梳理每个领域,在所有空白处都仔细地键入“ N / A”或“ none”,即使这样做似乎是多余的。

在某些领域,无法用数字输入“ none”或“ N / A”这两个魔术字,因为USCIS将PDF编码为仅允许输入数字。因此,律师开始跨表格手写“ N / A”。一些精打细算的打字机。其他特别订购的“ N / A”橡皮图章。

An image of the visa application for human trafficking victims. USCIS says it will reject forms that do not include “N/A” or “NONE” in every field that does not apply to the applicant, but the PDF form is coded so that no letters can be entered into some of those fields. As a result, “N/A” must be written in by hand. 
人口贩运受害者签证申请图片。美国公民及移民服务局表示,它将拒绝所有不适用于申请人的字段中不包含“ N / A”或“ NONE”的表格,但PDF表格已编码,因此其中某些字段不能输入字母。结果,必须用手写输入“ N / A”。 (移民局)
 
所有这些繁琐的工作占用了大量时间。但是至少申请者有办法跳过这一难题。
 

因此,美国公民及移民服务局进行了调整-通过要求毫无戒心的第三方清除相同的障碍。

6月下旬,新的精美印刷出现在 移民局网站。它说,无限制政策将扩大到至少一份必须由执法人员填写的文件,这些文件是移民及其律师无法控制的。这些官员必须完成并签署一份表格,以证明申请犯罪受害者(U)签证的移民正在协助调查或起诉。

移民律师说,即使他们与执法部门有良好的关系,但要获得这些证明也可能需要数月的时间,轻率地哄骗和乞讨。

这家非营利组织的律师乔什·多赫蒂(Josh Doherty)说:“有时候警察局大概有五个人。” uda田。 “可以理解的是,如果您是一个由五人组成的机构,并且负责公共安全和交通执法以及所有其他不同的事情,那么您可能会错过一封电子邮件或一封信。”

现在,律师必须说服这些执法机构,请他们重做他们已经签署的所有表格,并在可能的范围内尽可能地填写“ N / A”,无论看起来多么无用。
 

特朗普总统扬言要向内乱动荡的美国城市释放军队,很显然,他正在拥抱内心的尼克松。 (约书亚·卡洛尔(Joshua Carroll),凯特·伍德索(Kate Woodsome)/《华盛顿邮报》)

“这些人员有时已经超出了要求,可以在covid期间重新审理此案,现在我们不得不再次打扰他们,要求对这些外观进行更改,”该部门的高级律师Safiya N. Morgan说。 纽约法律援助小组.

另外,在最近几个月中,至少有另外两名律师从美国公民及移民服务局(USCIS)拒绝接受第三方填写的其他表格上的空白-在两种情况下, 体检报告 绿卡申请所需。该文件由美国公民及移民服务局(USCIS)认证的医生签名,并用密封的信封提交给该机构。不允许移民甚至查看填写好的表格,以确保医生什么都没有留空。

与获得执法证书不同,美国公民及移民服务局没有公开确认是否在医疗形式上全面采用其空白政策,或者这些否认是否是流氓官员的行为。 警报开启 美国公民及移民服务局(USCIS)网站仅标出禁止空白政策 庇护, 犯罪受害者贩运受害者 尽管签证被拒,但签证仍是律师收到的其他类型申请的空白。该机构未回答有关如何或何时决定执行该政策的问题。

卡夫卡式(Kafkaesque)的加工变化不仅是斗气。对于人们填写表格和处理表格的人来说,这是极大的资源浪费。实际上,移民局是 破产了 部分原因是它花费了更多的人/小时的时间来寻找拒绝合格移民的借口。

但是,残酷和财务管理不善吗?这实际上是 特朗普品牌.

最初发表于 华盛顿邮报 2020年8月6日。

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin
分享到pinterest
分享到print
分享到email

相关文章

Eileen Connor (left) and Toby Merrill of the Harvard Law School's Project on Predatory Student Lending Photograph courtesy of the Project on Predatory Student Lending

“攻击债务概念”

在《哈佛杂志》的这篇文章中,NYLAG的杰西卡·拉努奇(Jessica Ranucci)宣称,明确有必要进行前瞻性诉讼,以克服营利性大学行业中的诉讼挑战。

阅读更多 ”
简体中文
English Español de México 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 简体中文
滚动到顶部

为了应对COVID-19危机,我们仍在努力工作,我们的进气管已经开放,但是请注意,我们的物理办公室已关闭。

在这空前的时期,我们启动了免费的NY COVID-19法律资源热线,并编制了最新的法律和财务咨询更新。

fbpx
American Visa

The Trump Administration’s No-Blanks Policy is the Latest Kafkaesque Plan Designed to Curb Immigration

By Catherine Rampell
The Washington Post 

What do you do if immigrants learn how to navigate the latest booby trap you’ve set for them?

If you’re the Trump administration, you set that trap for someone else those immigrants must rely on — such as law enforcement or medical personnel, who submit evidence for certain visa applications.

Last fall, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services introduced perhaps its most arbitrary, absurd modification yet to the immigration system: It began rejecting applications unless every single field was filled in, even those that obviously did not pertain to the applicant.

“Middle name” field left blank because the applicant does not have a middle name? Sorry, your application gets rejected. No apartment number because you live in a house? You’re rejected, too.

No address given for your parents because they’re dead? No siblings named because you’re an only child? No work history dates because you’re an 8-year-old kid?

All real cases, all rejected

A redacted asylum application rejected because some inapplicable fields were left blank. The applicant filled in the names of his three siblings, but the application has fields for four siblings. USCIS said the form was incomplete because “N/A” was not entered in each box of the row for the nonexistent fourth sibling.

A redacted asylum application rejected because some inapplicable fields were left blank. The applicant filled in the names of his three siblings, but the application has fields for four siblings. USCIS said the form was incomplete because “N/A” was not entered in each box of the row for the nonexistent fourth sibling. (Courtesy of Vicente Omar Barraza)

President Trump’s “wall” has been built not of steel or concrete but of paperwork and red tape. This no-blanks policy was just the latest bureaucratic change made without consent from Congress nor the (legally required) formal rulemaking process.

Asked how this persnickety processing change serves the public interest, a USCIS spokesperson emailed, “Complete applications are necessary for our adjudicators to preserve the integrity of our immigration system and ensure they are able to confirm identities, as well as an applicant’s immigration and criminal history, to determine the applicant’s eligibility.”

Seems more likely it’s about preventing eligible immigrants from getting visas.

“It’s death by a thousand paper cuts,” says Cecelia Friedman Levin, senior policy counsel at Asista, a nonprofit that represents immigrant survivors of violence.

After an initial flood of confusing rejection letters, immigration attorneys wised up. Lawyers spent additional hours combing through every field, meticulously typing “N/A” or “none” in all blanks even when doing so seemed superfluous.

In certain fields, it’s not possible to digitally type in the magic words “none” or “N/A,” because USCIS coded the PDF to allow entries of numbers only. So, attorneys began handwriting “N/A” across forms. Some scrounged up typewriters. Others special-ordered “N/A” rubber stamps.

An image of the visa application for human trafficking victims. USCIS says it will reject forms that do not include “N/A” or “NONE” in every field that does not apply to the applicant, but the PDF form is coded so that no letters can be entered into some of those fields. As a result, “N/A” must be written in by hand. 
An image of the visa application for human trafficking victims. USCIS says it will reject forms that do not include “N/A” or “NONE” in every field that does not apply to the applicant, but the PDF form is coded so that no letters can be entered into some of those fields. As a result, “N/A” must be written in by hand. (USCIS)
 
All this busywork took up a tremendous amount of time. But at least applicants had a way to jump through this hoop.
 

So USCIS adapted — by requiring unsuspecting third parties to clear the same hurdle.

In late June, new fine print appeared on USCIS’s website. It said the no-blanks policy would extend to at least one document that must be filled out by law enforcement officials — someone over whom immigrants and their lawyers had no control. These officials must complete and sign a form certifying that immigrants applying for the crime-victim (U) visa are assisting with an investigation or prosecution.

Immigration attorneys say that even when they have good relationships with law enforcement, completing these certifications can require months of nudging, cajoling and begging.

“Sometimes the police department is like five people,” said Josh Doherty, a lawyer at the nonprofit Ayuda. “Understandably, if you are an agency of five people, and you’re responsible for public safety and traffic enforcement, and all these other different things, you might miss an email or letter.”

Now, attorneys must persuade these law enforcement agencies to please, please, please, redo all the forms they already signed, and fill out “N/A” everywhere possible, no matter how gratuitous it seems.
 

As President Trump threatens to unleash the military on American cities roiled in civil unrest, it’s clear that he’s embracing his inner Nixon. (Joshua Carroll, Kate Woodsome/The Washington Post)

“These are officers who have sometimes already gone above and beyond to recertify the case during covid, and now we have to bother them again to ask for these cosmetic changes,” says Safiya N. Morgan, senior staff attorney at the New York Legal Assistance Group.

Separately, in recent months, at least two other attorneys have received denials from USCIS for blanks on other forms filled out by third parties — in both cases, a medical examination report required for green card applications. That document is signed by a USCIS-certified physician and submitted to the agency in a sealed envelope. Immigrants are not allowed to even view the completed form to make sure the doctor left nothing blank.

Unlike with the law enforcement certifications, USCIS has not publicly confirmed whether it is systemically applying its no-blanks policy to medical forms, or if those denials were perhaps the action of a rogue official. Alerts on USCIS’s website flag the no-blanks policy only for asylum, crime-victim and trafficking-victim visas, despite rejections lawyers have received for blanks on other types of applications. The agency did not respond to questions about how or when it was deciding to enforce the policy.

This Kafkaesque processing change isn’t merely vindictive. It’s a huge waste of resources, for the people filling out the forms and those processing them. In fact, USCIS is going broke partly because it’s spending so many more person-hours looking for excuses to reject eligible immigrants.

But hey, cruelty and financial mismanagement? That’s practically the Trump brand.

Originally published in The Washington Post on August 6, 2020.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

Eileen Connor (left) and Toby Merrill of the Harvard Law School's Project on Predatory Student Lending Photograph courtesy of the Project on Predatory Student Lending

“Attacking the Concept of Debt”

In this Harvard Magazine article, NYLAG’s Jessica Ranucci proclaims explicitly prospective litigation is needed to overcome the litigation challenges in the for-profit college industry.

Read More »
Image of a group of people with garbage bags outside a hotel.

Homeless New Yorkers Belong in Hotels Now

In this New York Daily News op-ed, NYLAG’s Deborah Berkman asserts the benefits of placing those experiencing homelessness in hotels and denounces residents of NY’s Upper West Side who deem this placement as a threat.

Read More »
English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, we are still working hard and our intake lines are open, but please note that our physical office is closed.

During these unprecedented times, we’ve launched a free NY COVID-19 Legal Resources Hotline and compiled the latest legal and financial counseling updates.