fbpx
rent

在COVID期间停止逐出是不够的。苦苦挣扎的租户需要什么。

NYLAG传播与营销总监Brian Pacheco

我们的政府能打多久?在当前的住房危机中,这是一个众所周知的问题。可以吗?迫在眉睫的住房危机,由于COVID-19的经济影响,成千上万的人无法负担租金。失业率创历史新高,因此许多人失去了养家糊口的关键收入。人们正在苦苦挣扎,现在需要帮助。

迄今为止,解决这一危机的办法是通过各种驱逐暂停令来停止驱逐。尽管这项政策确保了现在没有人可以被驱逐,但它并未为以后提供保护。我(虚拟地)与三位住房专家坐下来讨论了当前的危机以及需要做的事情。

让我们谈谈驱逐暂停。他们为什么不解决?

迈尔斯·沃尔瑟(NYLAG租户权利律师):Moratoria只会拖延问题;他们没有解决这个问题。除非有房租减免,否则什么也做不成。是否以大额凭单形式还是取消租金的形式,都存在争议,但是一些未付的租金负担是可以原谅的。对我而言,我们的政府正在竭尽全力将未来的迁离定为个人失败而不是政策失败。

肯德尔韦尔斯 (NYLAG租户权利律师):我同意。如果没有房租减免,那么其他一些解决方案(包括金钱判决)仍然会产生负面影响,这是纽约《租户安全港法案》所不可避免的。做出金钱判决可能不会立即意味着您被驱逐,但是它将对您将来的租金支付能力产生负面影响,因为这会增加您的工资并限制您的银行帐户。这些可以至少收集20年的金钱判决将对经历过大流行对健康和财务影响最严重的有色人种产生不同的影响。金钱的判断是贫穷成为系统性贫困的另一个例子,COVID-19如何加剧了先前存在的差距。我们进一步加重了人们的贫困状况,并加剧和扩大了种族贫富差距。

和我谈谈贫困是系统性的。在这场住房危机期间,这是如何发挥作用的?

肯德尔: 在大流行期间采取的一些协助住户的措施并未意识到大流行之前存在贫困和种族主义。例如,某些政府计划要求在COVID-19大流行期间发生房客的经济困难,以便有资格获得潜在的救济。这将那些在大流行之前经历过贫困的人与那些收入直接受到大流行影响的租户区分开来。这将贫困定为犯罪,并将其定为犯罪,并使情况更加恶化。我认为,无论何时经历贫困,我们都必须一视同仁。

Gabriela“ Gaby” Malespin (NYLAG租户权利律师助理):考虑贫困人口也必须做出的选择。 “我喂孩子吗?还是付租金?”我一直都在听到它-这些困难的选择,任何人都不应该被迫做出。

“我喂孩子吗?还是付租金?”

迈尔斯: 我同意。我们正在大流行。我个人有两个客户死亡。这是大规模的创伤。我们将重点放在生存上,没有人也不必应对“我会被驱逐出境吗?”的压力。客户还有很多其他事情要担心。

房东是否遵守驱逐暂停令?

肯德尔: 从法律上讲,他们必须这样做,但我们看到房东针对无法支付房租的房客的骚扰和恐吓。这对我们来说可能是棘手的,因为在NYLAG,我们代表驱逐案件,但在平权骚扰案件中通常不代表租户。当然,我们会尽力参考并提供一般性的建议和意见,但是随着一些房东越来越迫切地希望获得租金,这已成为越来越多的关注。

客户打电话给他们担心他们可能会被驱逐,他们有什么选择?

肯德尔: 典型的途径是人力资源管理局(HRA)的紧急欠款赠款或慈善机构/外部组织的援助,这意味着租户可以获得一些钱来支付其欠租(或欠款)。但是,即使在最好的情况下,大流行病也造成了22人流产。要获得这些补助的资格,租户通常需要证明他们具有持续支付租金的能力。由于大流行期间失业猖unemployment和总体经济不安全,许多租户无法支付持续的租金。这个问题加上这些赠款的资金减少,使租户现在要获得援助更具挑战性。作为律师,我们不能凭空赚钱。不确定性很大。

里数: 显然,暂停迁离将帮助大多数面临迁离危险的人现在不被迁离。但是,在纽约,禁令将于10月1日结束ST. (编者注:  截至2020年9月29日,根据一些法规,部分租户的驱逐暂停时间已延至2020年1月1日。 行政命令202.66.)  最大的威胁是在COVID-19之前的那些案件。除非纽约政府干预延长暂停期限,否则将允许房东驱逐人民。

一世疾病预防控制中心是否会推出一项联邦驱逐令,直到2020年底才得以缓解?

肯德尔: 是的,这将对某些人有所帮助。但是有很多错误信息。租户在新闻中看到了它,并可能错误地认为自己有资格但没有。它仅适用于某些情况,并且您必须满足一系列要求。一般而言,疾病预防控制中心仅在不付款的情况下保护住户。为了受益于暂停令的保护,租户必须首先向房东发誓宣誓。

里数: 老实说,其中一些法律和命令的起草和混淆不清。我敦促租户打电话给律师,以便我们帮助您了解和了解您的特殊情况。在应对一千种其他创伤和压力时,没有人应该一个人解决这个问题。

在应对一千种其他创伤和压力时,没有人应该一个人解决这个问题。

加比: 移民特别容易受到伤害。

和我谈谈在COVID期间移民以及他们所缺乏的资源。

加比: 因此,当前的许多减免,例如一次性付款或诸如FHEPS或CityFHEPS之类的租金补贴,都需要记录在案的移民身份或公民身份。这很令人沮丧,因为我们依靠移民成为必不可少的工人,但我们却使他们的社区无法获得太多援助。例如,无证件移民没有得到刺激检查或失业。再加上失业,意味着没有收入支付房租甚至吃饭。

我也知道,老年人也处于困境。

里数: 是。拥有社会保障或以其他固定方式生活的年长租户如果落后,将无法弥补租金拖欠,如果市政府确定他们无法负担拖欠的租金,也可能会遇到困难负担他们持续的租金。

尽管COVID-19使住房危机更加恶化,但之前还是充满挑战吗?

里数: 是的,我们必须记住,住房危机在COVID发生之前就非常严峻。由于地理标志法案和Redlining等系统性的故意障碍,许多有色人在拥有房屋方面没有机会,也没有进一步陷入贫困。

加比: 我国历史上缺乏对黑人和棕色房客的适当投资,以留在家中和社区。我们需要大型的变革性解决方案。

那么,有什么解决方案?

加比: 我们需要扩展凭证计划。我们需要更好的法律来大大限制房东可以增加租金的数量。我认为我们需要公共和社会住房方案。我们需要投资解决住房不安全危机。

里数: 我同意。我们需要重新构想并重新投资于租金。租户应有权续签租约,而市政府应投资更多受监管的单位。正如COVID所示,安全就是稳定性。

加比: 住房是医疗保健。

里数: 需要缓解一些租金以解决因COVID而发生的事情,这是我们在NYLAG倡导的事情。

扮演魔鬼的拥护者,这些解决方案中的某些解决方案总共不昂贵吗?

里数: 这将是昂贵的。不这样做会更昂贵。

Gaby:城市中有数万个空置公寓。当我们想到无家可归时,买房要比住房系统便宜得多。稳定的住房减少了医疗费用。即使像我们使用COVID-19一样处于这些沸点,我们仍然认为这些解决方案过于激进或昂贵。然而,我们的政府继续为大型企业和银行提供纾困。

稳定的住房减少了医疗费用。

里数: 律师权的存在是因为维权人士指出,如果我们拥有律师或驱逐人民,他们将为他们省钱,这是发生律师权的原因,这可以为贫困或濒临贫困的人提供律师保障。

最后,您希望租户和其他人了解当前的住房危机?

里数: 保证住房安全是一项人权。我们需要做更多的事情,以使人们不仅在COVID-19期间,而且在长期内。

加比: 这种大流行突出了社区组织的重要性。住房危机不公平,严重损害了有色人种和贫困人口。您有权要求更好。与您当地的住房组织或租户权利组织合作,要求改变。律师联盟权利是一个很好的起点。

肯德尔: 我希望租户保持最新状态。如果您是纽约人,请先在NYLAG与我们联系,然后签署任何声明或对您受到的保护免受新闻消息的影响做出假设。

如果您需要法律帮助,请访问 nylag.org/gethelp 或通过以下网址获得NY COVID-19法律资源热线: nylag.org/hotline。

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin
分享到pinterest
分享到print
分享到email

相关文章

简体中文
English Español de México 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 简体中文
滚动到顶部

为了应对COVID-19危机,我们仍在努力工作,我们的进气管已经开放,但是请注意,我们的物理办公室已关闭。

在这空前的时期,我们启动了免费的NY COVID-19法律资源热线,并编制了最新的法律和财务咨询更新。

fbpx
rent

Stalling evictions during COVID is not enough. What struggling tenants need.

By Brian Pacheco, NYLAG’s Director of Communications & Marketing

How long can our government kick a can down the road? That’s the proverbial question when it comes to the current housing crisis. The can? A looming housing crisis as thousands are unable to afford rent due to the economic fallout of COVID-19. Unemployment rates are at all-time highs and so many people lost critical income that supports their families. People are struggling and need help now.

The answer to this crisis so far has been to stall eviction via various eviction moratoria. While this policy has ensured no one can be evicted now, it does not offer protections for later. I sat down (virtually) with three housing experts to discuss the current crisis, and what needs to be done.

Let’s talk about eviction moratoria. Why aren’t they a solution?

Miles Walser (NYLAG Tenants’ Rights attorney): Moratoria only stall the problem; they don’t address the issue. Nothing will get done unless there is rent relief. Whether that is in the form of mass vouchers or canceling rent can be debated, but some amount of the unpaid rent burden needs to be forgiven.  To me, our government is kicking the can as far as possible to frame any future evictions as personal failures instead of a policy failure.

Kendall Wells (NYLAG Tenants’ Rights attorney): I agree. If there isn’t rent relief, there will still be negative effects with some of the other solutions, including money judgments, which are inevitable because of New York’s Tenant Safe Harbor Act.  A money judgment may not immediately mean you get evicted, but it will negatively affect your ability to pay rent in the future, as they can garnish your wages and restrain your bank account. These money judgments, which remain collectible for at least 20 years, will disparately impact people of color who have experienced the worst health and financial impacts of the pandemic. Money judgments serve as another example of poverty being systemic and how COVID-19 has only exacerbated preexisting disparities. We’re further burdening people experiencing poverty and widening and entrenching the racial wealth gap.

Talk to me about poverty being systemic.  How is that at play during this housing crisis?

Kendall: Some measures taken to assist tenants during the pandemic don’t recognize that poverty and racism existed before the pandemic. For example, some government programs require that a tenant’s economic hardship occurred during the COVID-19 pandemic in order to qualify for potential relief. This separates those who experienced poverty before the pandemic from tenants whose income has been directly impacted by the pandemic. This penalizes and criminalizes poverty and makes things far worse. I believe that we need to treat people the same regardless of when poverty is experienced.

Gabriela “Gaby” Malespin (NYLAG Tenants’ Rights paralegal):  Consider the choices those experiencing poverty have to make, as well. “Do I feed my kids? Or pay rent?” I hear it all the time—these are difficult choices no one should be forced to make.

“Do I feed my kids? Or pay rent?”

Miles: I agree. We’re in a pandemic. I’ve personally had two clients die. This is mass trauma.  We’re focusing on survival—no one should have to also deal with the stress of “Will I be evicted?” There are so many other things clients should be worried about.

Are landlords adhering to the eviction moratorium?

Kendall: Legally they have to, but we are seeing lots of harassment and intimidation from landlords targeting tenants who can’t pay rent. This can be tricky for us because at NYLAG we represent eviction cases but do not typically represent tenants in affirmative harassment cases. Of course, we do our best to refer and provide general advice and counsel, but it’s a growing concern as some landlords become more desperate to get the rent.

A client calls scared they may face eviction, what options do they have?

Kendall: The typical avenue is emergency arrears grant from the Human Resources Administration (HRA) or assistance from charities/outside organizations, which means the tenant can get some money to pay their back rent (or arrears). However, the pandemic has created a catch-22 even in the best of cases. To qualify for these grants, tenants typically need to show that they have the ongoing ability to pay rent. Due to rampant unemployment and general economic insecurity during the pandemic, many tenants cannot pay ongoing rent. This issue combined with dwindling funds for these grants makes it more challenging for tenants to receive assistance now. As lawyers, we can’t create money out of thin air. There is so much uncertainty.

Miles: Obviously, the eviction moratoria will help most people at-risk of eviction not be evicted now. However, in NY the moratorium ends Oct 1st. (Editor’s Note: as  As of September 29, 2020, the eviction moratorium has been extended for some tenants to January 1st, 2020 pursuant to Executive Order 202.66.)  The biggest threat is those cases before COVID-19. Unless the NY government intervenes to extend the moratorium, landlords will be allowed to evict people.

Isn’t there a federal eviction moratorium that the CDC put out that will give relief until the end of 2020?

Kendall: Yes, and this will help some people. But there is a lot of misinformation. Tenants see it in the news and may wrongfully think they qualify but don’t. It’s only applicable for some cases and you have to meet a list of requirements. Generally speaking, the CDC moratorium only protects tenants in nonpayment cases. To benefit from the protections of the moratorium tenants must first send their landlord a sworn declaration.

Miles: Honestly, some of these laws and orders are poorly drafted and confusing.  I urge tenants to call a lawyer so we can help understand and navigate your unique situation. And no one should have to figure this out alone while dealing with a thousand other traumas and stressors.

No one should have to figure this out alone while dealing with a thousand other traumas and stressors.

Gaby: Immigrants are especially vulnerable.

Talk to me about immigrants and the lack of resources that exist for them during COVID.

Gaby: So many of the current reliefs like one-shot-deals or rent subsidies such as FHEPS or CityFHEPS require a documented immigration status or citizenship. It’s upsetting because we’ve relied on immigrants to be essential workers and yet we’ve shut their communities out of so much of the assistance.  For example, undocumented immigrants didn’t get the stimulus checks or unemployment. That coupled with a loss of employment means no income to pay rent, or even eat.

I also understand that seniors are also in a difficult spot.

Miles: Yes. Older tenants who have Social Security or otherwise live on a fixed income aren’t going to be able to make up rental arrears if they fall behind, and may also have a hard time qualifying for rental assistance if the city determines that they can’t afford their ongoing rent.

While COVID-19 has made the housing crisis even worse, it was still pretty challenging before?

Miles: Yes, we have to remember that the housing crisis was pretty dire before COVID. Many people of color didn’t have a fair opportunity at home ownerships or further plummeted into poverty, because of systemic intentional barriers such as the GI bill and Redlining.

Gaby: Our country has a history of a lack of proper investment in black and brown tenants to stay in their homes and communities. We need large transformative solutions.

Well, what are the solutions?

Gaby: We need to expand voucher programs. We need better laws that dramatically limit how much landlords can increase rent.  I believe that we need communal and social housing programs. We need to invest in addressing the housing insecurity crisis.

Miles: I agree. We need to reimagine and reinvest in renting. Tenants should have a right to renewal leases and the city should invest in more regulated units. As COVID has shown, there is safety is stability.

Gaby: Housing is healthcare.

Miles: There needs to be some rent relief to address what has happened because of COVID, which is what we are advocating for at NYLAG.

To play devil’s advocate, aren’t some of those solutions expensive in total?

Miles: It’s going to be expensive.  To not do it will be more expensive.

Gaby: There are tens of thousands of vacant apartments in the city. When we think of homelessness, it would be so much cheaper to pay for housing than the shelter system. Stable housing reduces health costs. Even when we are at these boiling points like we are with COVID-19, we think these solutions are too radical or costly. Yet, our government continues to bail out large corporations and banks.

Stable housing reduces health costs.

Miles: The right to counsel— which guarantees a lawyer to someone in poverty or near poverty who is facing eviction— happened in part because activists pointed out to the city that they would save money if we had lawyers vs. evicting people.

To end, what do you want tenants and others to know about the current housing crisis?

Miles: That safe and secure housing is a human right. We need to do more to keep people in their homes not just during COVID-19, but long term.

Gaby: This pandemic has highlighted the importance of community organizing. The housing crisis isn’t fair and disproportionately harms people of color and those experiencing poverty. You have a right to demand better. Get involved with your local housing organizations or tenants’ rights organizations to demand change. The Right to Counsel Coalition is a good place to start.

Kendall: I want tenants to stay informed. If you are a New Yorker, please reach out to us at NYLAG before signing any declarations or making assumptions on your protections from what you see in the news.

If you are in need of legal help, please visit nylag.org/gethelp or the NY COVID-19 Legal Resource Hotline at nylag.org/hotline.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

Eileen Connor (left) and Toby Merrill of the Harvard Law School's Project on Predatory Student Lending Photograph courtesy of the Project on Predatory Student Lending

“Attacking the Concept of Debt”

In this Harvard Magazine article, NYLAG’s Jessica Ranucci proclaims explicitly prospective litigation is needed to overcome the litigation challenges in the for-profit college industry.

Read More »
English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, we are still working hard and our intake lines are open, but please note that our physical office is closed.

During these unprecedented times, we’ve launched a free NY COVID-19 Legal Resources Hotline and compiled the latest legal and financial counseling updates.