fbpx
Website Header (4)

強烈抗議後,移民強烈抗議後恢復了驅逐出境的保護

貝絲·菲蒂格(Beth Fertig)
哥譚派

與大多數同齡孩子不同,21個月大的Jaciel從未用奶瓶或他的母親作過護理,也從未吃過Cheerios。他所有的營養都是通過飼管來的。

一天五次,他的母親勞拉(Laura)將細管鉤到他的肚子上一個類似於奶嘴的小孔。它被連接到一袋強化牛奶和一個與平板電腦大小差不多的電子設備上,該設備可以監控流量。然後,她將他綁在一把特殊的高腳椅上,這樣他就不會移動設備。他坐直了起來,興高采烈地望著他們在威徹斯特小而整潔的公寓的客廳。

Jaciel需要輸卵管,因為與其他許多唐氏綜合症孩子一樣,他出生時患有先天性心髒病,這使他無法正常進食。他也有c裂。勞拉(Laura)說,他已經進行了五次上顎和其他醫療問題的手術,現在正在等待心臟直視手術,這將允許他進食而不是使用試管。

她用西班牙語說:“如果一切順利並且治療有效,那麼我將獨立於他的比例達到85%。” “我要的是讓他獨立和快樂。”

聽記者Beth Fertig在WNYC上的故事:

紐約州負擔Jaciel的醫療保健費用,因為他是美國公民。但是他的父母是來自墨西哥的無證移民,他們要求我們不要使用家庭中任何人的全名。

為了緩解他們隨時可能遭到驅逐的持續恐懼,Jaciel的家人正在與威徹斯特的Neighbors Link社區法律服務處合作,申請所謂的延期訴訟。 Neighbors Link律師伊麗莎白·馬斯特羅波洛(Elizabeth Mastropolo)說,當無證移民或其子女需要挽救生命的醫療服務且勞拉(Laura)符合要求時,這是美國公民和移民服務局(USCIS)批准的。

她說:“在緊急情況發生後,她一直在照顧她的孩子,處理緊急情況。” “因此,與家人分開,這是她和家人不必擔心的另一件事。”

每年在全國范圍內,只有大約一千名無證件移民申請免遭驅逐。但是Jaciel的父母幾乎失去了這個機會。

在8月初,USCIS突然停止了申請-就在Jaciel的父母準備填寫他們的文書工作時。申請人開始收到拒絕信,告訴他們他們將在一個月內被驅逐出境。特朗普政府沒有任何解釋。但一份備忘錄是由 政治 建議官員擔心延期會遭到濫用。

在公眾的強烈抗議之後,特朗普政府首先允許考慮在8月初之前提交的申請。 國會議員 呼籲移民局完全恢復該計劃,並呼籲波士頓的民權組織 提起訴訟。上週,政府 完全相反的過程 並表示,美國公民及移民服務局也將接受新的申請,以恢復現狀。

美國公民及移民服務局發言人未回應我們要求對撤銷作出解釋的要求。

對於勞拉(Laura)來說,這種逆轉是很大的緩解,因為她和丈夫現在可以申請。他擔任園丁,晚上在自助洗衣店打工,因此勞拉(Laura)可以滿足兒子的醫療需求,並照顧他們的四歲女兒。勞拉說,如果他們被驅逐出境,他們將永遠不會獨自離開美國,也無法將他帶到墨西哥,因為自出生以來一直在治療他的醫生都在紐約。

她解釋說:“我們很難為他的生命而戰。”她說:“與醫學界和醫生的鬥爭,最重要的是,我們必須參加這場法律鬥爭。”

她說,通過恢復驅逐出境的盾牌,她感到政府已承認移民的人性。

但是有一個陷阱。延期行動不是一個正式的程序,它沒有設定誰輸誰贏的標準。這是根據個案授予檢察官酌處權的一種形式。這並不意味著移民永遠不會被驅逐出境,只是他或她的優先級較低。這也是一次臨時的,為期兩年。這就是為什麼移民律師要謹慎樂觀的原因。

紐約法律援助小組法律健康總監Randye Retkin說:“我們將保持警惕,從那時起我們將密切監視USCIS如何處理延期行動,以確保政府遵守諾言。”

她的組織每年向大都市地區的其他任何人提交更多的申請,大約是在對有醫療需求的個人進行仔細審查之後,每年提交25個申請。有些人想留下來接受癌症治療,而另一些人則照顧生病的孩子。 LegalHealth根據跟踪記錄了解了哪些案件最有可能勝訴。但是雷特金表示,目前尚不清楚美國公民及移民服務局是否會繼續採取延期的行動,就像在八月份的騷動之前一樣。

儘管如此,她仍將逆轉視為一個巨大的勝利,稱其為“在全國范圍內進行的令人難以置信的有組織的倡導工作的直接結果。

“對於處理嚴重疾病的移民及其家人來說,這是一次了不起的勝利。”

Andres O'Hare和LidiaTapia-Hernández為本文提供了翻譯。

文章最初發表於 哥譚派 於2019年9月25日。

分享這個帖子

相關文章

Recently-arrived migrants in a crowd looking at paper with a security guard

Migrants Encounter ‘Chaos and Confusion’ in New York Immigration Courts

New York’s immigration systems are severely overwhelmed and unprepared to address a growing backlog of cases for newly-arrived migrants. The “chaos and confusion” come “at the expense of people’s rights and people’s ability to seek legal protection in the United States,” NYLAG’s Jodi Ziesemer commented in this article from The New York Times.

閱讀更多 ”
繁體中文
滾動到頂部

Menu
Website Header (4)

Shield from deportation restored, following outcry, for immigrants with critically ill children

Beth Fertig
Gothamist

Unlike most children his age, 21-month-old Jaciel has never nursed from a bottle or his mother, and he’s never eaten Cheerios. All of his nutrition comes through a feeding tube.

Five times a day, his mother Laura hooks the thin tube to a little port in his stomach that resembles a pacifier. It’s connected to a sack of fortified milk and an electronic device about the size of a tablet that monitors the flow. She then straps him into a special high chair so he can’t dislodge the equipment. He sits up straight, cheerfully looking around the living room of their small but tidy apartment in Westchester.

Jaciel needs the tube because – like many other kids with Down Syndrome – he was born with a congenital heart defect that makes it difficult for him to eat normally. He also had a cleft palate. Laura says he’s already had five operations for the palate and other medical issues, and is now waiting for open heart surgery that will allow him to eat instead of using the tube.

“If everything goes well and the treatment works, I’m going to be 85 percent independent from him,” she said in Spanish. “All I want is for him to be independent and happy.”

Listen to reporter Beth Fertig’s story on WNYC:

New York State covers Jaciel’s healthcare costs because he’s an American citizen. But his parents are undocumented immigrants from Mexico, who have asked us not to use the full names of anyone in the family.

To allay their constant fear of being deported at any time, Jaciel’s family is working with Neighbors Link Community Law Service in Westchester to apply for what’s called deferred action. Neighbors Link attorney Elizabeth Mastropolo said it’s granted by U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) when an undocumented immigrant or their child needs life-saving medical care, and Laura fits the bill.

“She’s constantly caring for her child dealing with emergency after emergency going to the hospital,” she said. “So this is one less thing that she and her family would need to worry about, is being separated from her child.”

Only about a thousand undocumented immigrants apply for this temporary shield from deportation each year, nationally. But Jaciel’s parents almost lost out on the opportunity.

In early August, USCIS suddenly stopped taking applications — just as Jaciel’s parents were getting ready to fill out their paperwork. Applicants began getting rejection letters telling them they’d be deported in a month. There was no explanation from the Trump Administration. But a memo obtained by Politico suggested officials feared the deferrals were open to abuse.

After tremendous outcry from the public, the Trump Administration first allowed applications submitted before early August to be considered. Members of Congress called on USCIS to restore the program completely and civil rights groups in Boston filed a lawsuit. Last week, the administration reversed course altogether and said USCIS would accept new applications, too, restoring the status quo.

A USCIS spokesperson did not respond to our request for an explanation about the reversal.

For Laura, that reversal was a big relief because she and her husband can now apply. He works as a gardener and part-time at night in a laundromat so Laura can deal with their son’s medical needs and also care for their four-year-old daughter. Laura said they could never leave Jaciel alone in the U.S. if they were deported, nor could they take him to Mexico because the doctors who have been treating him since birth are here in New York.

“It was hard enough that we had to be in this fight for his life,” she explained. “Fighting with medicine and the doctors and on top of that we had to be in this legal battle,” she said, referring to the dispute over deferred action.

By restoring the shield of deportation, she said she felt like the government had recognized the humanity of immigrants.

But there’s a catch. Deferred action isn’t a formal program with set criteria for who wins and loses. It’s a form of prosecutorial discretion granted on a case-by-case basis. And it doesn’t mean the immigrant is permanently safe from deportation, just that he or she is a low priority. It’s also temporary for two years at a time. This is why immigration lawyers are cautiously optimistic.

“We are remaining on guard and we will be closely monitoring how USCIS process deferred actions from this point on to make sure that the administration keeps to its word,” said Randye Retkin, director of LegalHealth at New York Legal Assistance Group.

Her organization files more applications than anyone else in the metro region, about 25 each year after carefully vetting for medically-needy individuals. Some want to stay for cancer treatments and others are caring for very sick children. LegalHealth has learned which cases are most likely to win based on a track record. But Retkin said it’s not clear if USCIS will continue granting deferred action the way it did before the uproar in August.

Nonetheless, she viewed the reversal as a big win, calling it the “direct result of an incredible organized advocacy effort on a national scale.

“And it is a wonderful victory for immigrants and their families dealing with serious illness.”

Andres O’Hare and Lidia Tapia-Hernández contributed translation for this article.

Article originally published in Gothamist on September 25, 2019.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

Scroll to Top