fbpx

重新思考法律制度如何評估家庭暴力倖存者故事的可信度的運動。

證人證詞通常是審判中最重要的組成部分。知識豐富的人有機會背誦事實,對方不利地進行盤問的機會以及法學家在證詞期間觀察證人行為舉止的能力,是審判尋求真相的基礎。

然而,法律制度普遍質疑家庭暴力倖存者是否可信,因為證人的舉止,舉止或言語不符合法院的預期。我們的社會,包括法律制度,充斥著內隱的偏見,往往導致人們不相信倖存者。當倖存者是有色人種時,這一點更為普遍。種族主義和隱性偏見導致有色人種的倖存者被較少相信,受到較少保護,並且將來不太可能感到安全地參與系統。當這些倖存者也處於貧困之中時,這一點就更加明顯。

“成人認為黑人女孩比白人女孩少無辜……”

-喬治敦法律的貧困與不平等中心

#RethinkCredibility 著重於我們的法律體系評估信譽時必須認真考慮的三個重要方面: 種族主義,貧窮和創傷如何影響倖存者的表現和反應。 法律制度不了解這些交叉點通常會導致司法公正。

研究表明,在所有種族和族裔中,家庭暴力的發生率均相同,但是黑人婦女和女童被配偶殺死的可能性是其兩倍,而被虐待伴侶殺死的可能性是四倍。為什麼?

是因為黑人倖存者不太可能被相信嗎? 一份報告 喬治敦·羅夫(Georgetown Law)的貧困與不平等中心(Center for貧困與不平等)發表的研究發現,“成年人認為黑人女孩比白人白人更無辜。”種族主義和隱性偏見影響著信譽的確定,以及歷史上我們對黑人受害者與白人受害者的同情程度。雖然這種影響對黑人倖存者更為明顯,但我們也看到了其他有色人種倖存者的類似影響。這不是因為他們不再需要保護,而是因為他們在獲得幫助方面面臨系統性障礙。

根據我們與倖存者的合作,我們發現,當有色人種客戶向執法機構舉報濫用行為(或參與法律制度)時,他們不太可能被相信,更有可能面臨被指控(或相互逮捕)的風險。他們的施虐者)。他們更有可能感到不安全或不願意向警察或我們的法院舉報,因為歷史上有色人種受到了過度的警察和過分的刑事定罪。

在移民社區(主要是有色人種)中,倖存者可能不願參與法律制度,因為擔心會觸發ICE介入,這可能傷害他們或家庭成員,可能僅僅是出於尋求幫助而被驅逐出境。如果移民倖存者報告,他們經常會遭受虐待伴侶的驅逐出境或移民執法的威脅。直到最近,ICE還是出現在法院內外,以拘留出庭的移民。這種行為對倖存者產生了令人不寒而栗的影響,並引起了人們對他們可能被拘留的恐懼。 NYLAG最近參加了ICE法院外聯盟,負責影響法院停止這種做法。儘管如此,恐懼依然存在。

不說英語的移民也會遇到語言障礙。許多客戶報告說,警察在接聽電話時無法使用口譯服務,最近一次是在大流行期間,法院關閉標誌和告示牌告訴公眾在緊急情況下應撥打電話的地方僅以英語顯示。

這些結構性障礙和因親密伴侶暴力而對有色人種施加的不當負擔導致受影響的倖存者失去對法律制度的信任。這就形成了一種模式,在這種模式下,法院發現那些與外界隔離,處於防御狀態,或較少參與或情緒化的人是不可信的。人們經常被問到為什麼他們不向警方報告“盡快”或根本不向警方報告,儘管現實生活中他們由於種族主義的生活經驗以及對將警察告上法庭而產生的後果的恐懼,可能會感到不安全。黑人個人,或沒有身份的人。法院通常不會意識到這些細微差別,因此通常會偏向於顏色倖存者。

還可以在貧困的背景下檢查信譽,因為歷史上的系統性壁壘使這些社區更難以積累財富,貧困對色彩社區的影響不成比例。

收入很少甚至沒有收入的倖存者經常保持虐待關係,因為動力的變化和經濟上的壓力使他們幾乎沒有選擇。如果他們負擔不起房租或必需品,倖存者儘管受到虐待仍會留下來。法院繼續懷疑為什麼家庭暴力的受害者會保持虐待關係,因為他們可能不理解對貧窮,無家可歸和/或糧食不安全的恐懼可能如何影響倖存者的選擇。人們留下來或回到虐待狀態的原因有很多,包括經濟依賴的現實,紐約市的生活成本以及缺乏負擔得起的住房,住所,育兒和滿足基本需求的福利。

更糟糕的是,倖存者在沒有足夠資源避免陷入貧困時離開虐待對象時會受到嚴厲的審判。監護父母可能無法為孩子提供自己的床,或者家中可能沒有足夠的雜貨。在某些情況下,法院可能會授予濫用者監護權,因為他們的財務狀況可能更好。法院通常不認為施虐者通常會限制獲得金錢或阻止受虐伴侶長期受僱,以此作為控制和隔離受害者的一種策略。

當回憶起創傷事件時,倖存者可能會以意想不到的方式做出反應。他們可能會產生平淡的影響,以非時間順序講述他們的故事,甚至可能會遇到看似不成比例的反應,例如無法控制的笑聲。這些完全是召回創傷的常見反應,但可能不被認為是創傷的表現。

沒有創傷知識的培訓,甚至法律專家都希望“可信的”證人講線性故事,但許多倖存者不會以這種方式記住創傷事件,因為創傷記憶在大腦中的存儲方式不同。如果定期記憶像電影一樣播放,創傷性記憶(如家庭暴力)的播放就像思想,聲音和感覺的重頭戲一樣,通過聲音和氣味等感官細節可以看出。由於在經歷創傷時如何存儲記憶,回憶日期和時間並不容易。此外,當回憶起創傷經歷時,該人經常重溫創傷經歷(觸發),這使得獲得這樣的細節變得更加困難。但是,我們的法律體係是建立在基礎上的,並且期望清晰,線性的敘述包含“重要細節”,例如事件發生的日期和時間。

當我們遭受創傷時,我們的身體會立即觸發一種稱為“戰鬥,逃跑或凍結”的反應,這是一種原始而有力的生存反應。當倖存者戰鬥或逃離時,社會會為倖存者鼓掌,而當他們結冰時,他們會責備他們。許多倖存者凍結。倖存者經常說:“我因為害怕而又不知道該怎麼辦而凍結。”研究表明,害怕報復或不被相信是受害者不舉報的最常見原因。

由於面對面對自己的經歷懷有敵意的法院時,為了減輕虐待的痛苦,倖存者更願意放棄訴訟。法官,其他法院人員,警察等需要同情並了解倖存者對創傷如何影響某人的選擇,行動和事件重述的了解。

這並不意味著他們不能質疑他們。調查事實是我們司法系統的運作方式。儘管如此,法院仍需要創造一個安全的環境,並且在評估可信度時需要考慮創傷和創傷反應。當您了解自然的創傷反應時,當有人講出一些帶有縫隙的故事時,當他們似乎被凍僵在架子上,或以可能看起來很奇怪但可能由於腎上腺素流過他們的身體而產生的反應時,這是令人相信的當他們重溫恐怖的經歷時。

我們的法院必須了解創傷和家庭暴力及其對倖存者的影響。當我們的法律體系及其所有參與者沒有反映出對創傷的理解時,正義對於倖存者是難以捉摸的。

“評估信譽必須考慮到,沒有像家庭暴力那樣的'典型'倖存者。每個人的故事以及講故事的反應都是獨一無二的。我們的法律制度必須在沒有事先偏見和期望的情況下處理每個案件。”

-Lorna Zhen,監督律師

#RethinkCredibility-我們需要你的幫助。

在NYLAG,我們提倡為客戶服務,解釋創傷反應,在看到種族歧視時予以宣揚,並解釋貧困如何影響客戶的選擇。

這就是您的來歷:我們需要您的幫助來改變我們的社會和法院對信譽的看法。這樣做可以改變司法系統,從而更好地幫助家庭暴力倖存者及其子女。它可以挽救生命。

選擇以下操作之一。

立即捐款,為倖存者提供免費的創傷知情法律服務。

說出來

使用主題標籤分享您的故事和見解 #RethinkCredibility。

使 #RethinkCredibility 重新思考法律制度如何評估家庭暴力倖存者故事的可信度的運動。

繁體中文
English Español de México 简体中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 繁體中文
滾動到頂部

fbpx

A campaign to rethink how the legal system assesses the credibility of a domestic violence survivor’s story.

Witness testimony is often the most important component of a trial. The opportunity for people with knowledge of events to recite facts, the chance for the adverse party to cross-examine, and the jurist’s ability to observe the witnesses’ demeanor during testimony is a fundamental part of the truth-seeking function of a trial.

Yet, it is common for the legal system to question whether a survivor of domestic violence is credible because a witness doesn’t behave, look, or speak, the way the court may expect. Our society, including the legal system, is rife with implicit bias that often results in survivors not being believed. This is even more prevalent when a survivor is a person of color. Racism and implicit bias result in survivors who are people of color being less believed, less protected, and less likely to feel safe engaging with systems in the future. This becomes more pronounced when those survivors are also experiencing poverty.

“Adults view Black girls as less innocent…than their white peers.”

-Georgetown Law’s Center on Poverty and Inequality

#RethinkCredibility focuses on three important aspects that must be carefully considered when our legal system assesses credibility: how racism, poverty, and trauma impact how a survivor presents and reacts. The legal system’s failure to understand these intersections often results in a denial of justice.

Studies have shown that the domestic violence occurs at the same rate across all races and ethnicities, but that Black women and girls are twice as likely to be killed by a spouse, and four times more likely to be killed by an abusive partner. Why?

Is it because Black survivors are less likely to be believed? A report published by Georgetown Law’s Center on Poverty and Inequality found that “adults view Black girls as less innocent…than their white peers.” Racist and implicit biases impact credibility determinations, as well as the level of sympathy we have seen historically given to Black victims versus white victims. While this impact is more pronounced with respect to Black survivors, we also see a similar impact for other survivors who are people of color. This is not because they are any less in need of protection, but because they face systemic barriers to accessing help.

Based on our work with survivors, we have found that when clients of color report abuse to law enforcement—or get involved with the legal system—they are less likely to be believed, are more likely to risk being charged themselves (or mutually arrested with their abuser). They are more likely to feel unsafe or unwilling to report to police or our courts because communities of color have historically been over policed and over criminalized.

Among immigrant communities (which are largely of color), survivors may be reluctant to get involved with the legal system for fear of triggering ICE involvement which can harm either them or family members with possible deportation simply for seeking help. Immigrant survivors have often faced threats of deportation or immigration enforcement by their abusive partner if they report. Until recently, ICE appeared inside and outside courthouse to detain immigrants appearing in court. This conduct has had a chilling effect on survivors and causes fear they could be placed in custody. NYLAG recently participated in the ICE Out of Courts Coalition, responsible for influencing the court to cease this practice. Still, fear remains.

Immigrants who do not speak English also encounter language barriers. Many clients have reported that police fail to use interpretation services when responding to calls, and most recently during the pandemic, court closure signs and notices telling the public where to call in case of emergency appear only in English.

These structural impediments and undue burdens imposed on people of color victimized by intimate partner violence cause impacted survivors to lose trust in the legal system. That then creates a pattern where courts find people who are closed off, defensive, or less engaged or emotional, as not credible. They are often questioned as to why they didn’t report “sooner” or at all to the police, despite the reality that they may feel unsafe doing so because of their lived experience of racism and valid fear of the consequences of calling police on a Black individual, or on someone without status. Courts do not often recognize these nuances and too commonly carry bias towards survivors of color as a result.

Credibility can also be examined in the context of poverty which disproportionately affects community of color due to historical systemic barriers that have made it harder for these communities to accumulate wealth.

Survivors with little to no income often stay in abusive relationships because the power dynamics and economic coercion leave them with few or no options. If they cannot afford rent or essentials, survivors will stay despite the abuse. Courts continue to wonder why victims of domestic violence stay in abusive relationships because they may not understand how fear of poverty, homelessness, and/or food insecurity may inform the choices that a survivor makes. There are many reasons people stay or return to abusive situations, including the reality of economic dependence, the cost of living in NYC, and lack of affordable housing, shelter, childcare and benefits that cover basic needs.

Even worse, survivors are harshly judged when they leave an abusive partner without sufficient resources to avoid slipping into poverty. The custodial parent may not be able to provide a child with his or her own bed or the home may not be fully stocked with groceries. In some cases, the court may award custody to the abuser because they may be more financially sound. Courts do not often consider that an abuser typically restricts access to money or prevents the abused partner from being employed over extended periods of time as a tactic to control and isolate the victim.

When recalling a traumatic event, a survivor may respond in unexpected ways. They may have a flat affect, tell their story in non-chronological order, and they may even experience seemingly disproportionate responses such as uncontrollable laughter. These are completely common reactions to recalling trauma but may not be recognized as the manifestations of trauma.

Without trauma-informed training, even legal experts expect “credible” witnesses to tell linear stories, but many survivors don’t remember traumatic events in that way because traumatic memories are stored differently in the brain. If a regular memory plays like a movie, traumatic memories, like domestic violence, play like a highlight reel of thoughts, sounds, feelings, as told through sensory details like sounds and smells. Because of how memories are stored while experiencing trauma, recalling dates and times is not as easy; further, when recalling the traumatic experience, the person often relives the traumatic experience (triggers), making it even more difficult to obtain such details. Yet, our legal system is built around and expects clear, linear narratives which contain “essential details” such as the date and time an event occurred.

When we experience something traumatic our bodies immediately trigger a response called the “fight, flight, or freeze”—a primitive and powerful survival reaction. Society applauds survivors when they fight or flee, yet blames them when they freeze. Many survivors freeze. Survivors often say, “I froze because I was terrified and didn’t know what to do.” Research shows fear of retaliation or of not being believed are the most common reasons that victims do not report.

Survivors are more likely to abandon their case because of the pain of reliving their abuse when faced with courts who appear hostile to their experience. Judges, other court personnel, police, and the like, need to approach survivors with empathy and knowledge of how trauma impacts someone’s choices, actions, and re-telling of events.

This does not mean they cannot question them. Inquiry into facts is how our justice system works. Still, courts need to create an environment of safety and security and need to take trauma and trauma reactions into account when assessing credibility. When you understand natural trauma reactions, it is believable when someone tells a story with some gaps, when they appear to have become frozen on the stand, or react in a way that may appear odd but could be fueled by the adrenaline running through their bodies as they relive the horrifying experience.

It is imperative that our courts understand trauma and domestic violence and its impact on survivors. Justice is elusive for survivors when our legal system and all its players do not reflect an understanding of trauma.

“Assessing credibility must take into account that there is no such thing as a ‘typical’ survivor of domestic violence. Each person’s story, and reaction in telling it, is unique. Our legal system must approach each case without prior prejudices and expectations.”

-Lorna Zhen, Supervising Attorney

#RethinkCredibility—We need your help.

At NYLAG, we advocate for our clients, explaining trauma reactions, calling out racism when we see it, and explaining how poverty affects our clients’ choices.

This is where you come in: we need your help to change how our society and courts think about credibility. Doing so could transform the justice system to better help survivors of domestic violence and their children. It can save lives.

Choose one of the actions below.

Give today to support free trauma-informed legal services for survivors.

Speak out

Share your stories and insights using the hashtag #RethinkCredibility.

Make #RethinkCredibility a movement to rethink how the legal system assesses the credibility of a domestic violence survivor’s story.

English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top