fbpx
IMG_5956-min

預計$61億州預算赤字預示著布魯克林貧困家庭的危機

奈傑爾·羅伯茨(Nigel Roberts)
比克納

布魯克林-布魯克林每四分之一 生活在貧困中並依靠SNAP (補充營養援助計劃,以前稱為食品券計劃)。由於立法者與預計的鬥爭,生存對他們而言可能很快變得更加困難 $61億國家預算赤字 於11月22日宣布。

州參議員Roxanne J. Persaud是一個民主黨人,其地區包括Canarsie,東紐約和布朗斯維爾的部分地區,於11月26日共同主持了一次圓桌討論會,以徵詢政府機構和窮人的擁護者如何應對迫在眉睫的迫害。危機。 Persaud是紐約州參議院社會服務委員會主席。

這位參議員警告說:“我們面前有艱難的時刻。”在曼哈頓下城的州和市政府聽證室裡,聚集在桌子旁的10位代表警告說。 “即將發生的變化將產生令人生畏的效果。”

州和聯邦一級的變化可能會給窮人造成金融災難。

特朗普政府 在今年早些時候提出了一項計劃 這將改變確定貧困的準則,從而終止對數十個現在有資格的家庭的公共援助。同時,州立法者必須應對巨大的預算赤字 在未來三年內,隨著醫療補助費用的飆升.

紐約州參議員Roxanne J. Persaud和David Carlucci。奈傑爾·羅伯茨(Nigel Roberts)/布克萊納(Bklyner)。

“每個人都對聯邦政府的變化和$61億美元的預算赤字感到擔憂,” Persaud告訴BKLYNER。 “當我們出現赤字時,我們常常會看社會服務,看可以削減什麼。”

布魯克林後衛服務公司的律師比爾·布萊恩(Bill Bryan)提出了許多客戶遇到的問題。要獲得某些利益,申請人不能 資產超過$2,000。這通常意味著失去工作後需要臨時幫助的人必須先花掉自己的積蓄,然後才能獲得幫助。

關於將資產限額從$2,000提高到$4,000的提議達成了共識。使銀行中有更多錢的人有資格享受福利聽起來是違反直覺的。但是,這樣做的想法是,有更多的儲蓄餘地可以購買更多的時間來防止主要靠薪水支付的家庭無家可歸。安置一個無家可歸的家庭要花很多錢。

根據2014財年的數據,庇護系統中有2,896個布魯克林家庭 ICPH研究。在Crown Heights,Brownsville和East New York等社區,缺乏負擔得起的住房和拆遷是主要原因。紐約東部進入庇護系統的家庭數量最多,為564。

這不是因為沒有花錢。 7月,眉毛揚起 當Bklyner報告說該市每月將花費大約$10,000 每個公寓可容納253個家庭,分別位於兩個新建的Park Slope庇護所。就在上個月, HRA在布什威克開設了最先進的服務中心,年租金為$680萬。

倡導窮人和政府機構的代表。奈傑爾·羅伯茨(Nigel Roberts)/布克萊納(Bklyner)。

紐約法律援助組織的高級督導律師艾比·比伯曼(Abby Biberman)補充說,無家可歸者服務的重點是在人們變得無家可歸之後為他們提供幫助。她呼籲該市與州之間進行合作,以資助環繞式服務,以防止無家可歸,這將更有效地利用有限的社會服務資源。

Persaud和共同主持人羅克蘭(Rockland)和奧辛寧(Ossining)民主黨參議員戴維·卡魯奇(David Carlucci)注意到了這些建議。

Persaud告訴Bklyner:“我對政府可以採取什麼措施來抵消聯邦政府的所作所為感到樂觀。” “我們有好人在戰鬥,我認為我們會佔上風。”

未能解決的一個問題是 虐待窮人 在人力資源管理局(HRA)辦事處尋求幫助的人們。 HRA保安和紐約警察局官員的病毒式錄像 從懷裡搶走Jazmine Headley的孩子 去年12月,在Boerum Hill工廠的一個問題引起了人們的關注。上個月, 紐約時報討論 導致脾氣暴躁的因素,有時會導致HRA保安人員襲擊申請人。

Persaud告訴Bklyner,她對HRA官員為解決這些問題而採取的步驟(例如敏感性培訓)感到滿意,她說這是相對罕見的事件。

參議員補充說:“我們確保專員(HRA專員史蒂文·班克斯(Steven Banks))及其工作人員在得知這些問題後立即解決這些問題。”

最初發表於 Bklyner。 上十月21,2019

分享這個帖子

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 linkedin
分享在 pinterest
分享在 print
分享在 email

相關文章

Eileen Connor (left) and Toby Merrill of the Harvard Law School's Project on Predatory Student Lending Photograph courtesy of the Project on Predatory Student Lending

“攻擊債務概念”

在《哈佛雜誌》的這篇文章中,紐約州立大學洛杉磯分校的傑西卡·拉努奇(Jessica Ranucci)宣稱,明確需要進行前瞻性訴訟,才能克服以營利為目的的大學行業中的訴訟挑戰。

閱讀更多 ”
繁體中文
English Español de México 简体中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 繁體中文
滾動到頂部

為了應對COVID-19危機,我們仍在努力工作,我們的進氣管已經開放,但是請注意,我們的物理辦公室已關閉。

在這空前的時期,我們啟動了免費的NY COVID-19法律資源熱線,並編制了最新的法律和財務諮詢更新。

fbpx
IMG_5956-min

Projected $6.1 Billion State Budget Deficit Signals Crisis for Brooklyn’s Poor Families

By Nigel Roberts
Bkylner.

BROOKLYN — One out of every four Brooklynites lives in poverty and depends on SNAP (the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, formerly known as the Food Stamp Program). Survival could soon become more difficult for them, as lawmakers wrestle with the projected $6.1 billion state budget deficit announced on November 22.

State Sen. Roxanne J. Persaud, a Democrat whose district includes parts of Canarsie, East New York, and Brownsville, co-hosted a roundtable discussion on November 26 to get input from government agencies and advocates for the poor on how to handle the looming crisis. Persaud is chair of the NYS Senate Social Services Committee.

“There are tough times ahead of us,” the senator warned the 10 representatives gathered around the table in a state and city government hearing room in lower Manhattan. “The impending changes will have a chilling effect.”

Changes at the state and federal levels could combine to cause a financial catastrophe for the poor.

The Trump administration proposed a plan earlier this year that would change the guidelines for determining poverty, which could end public assistance for scores of families who are now eligible. At the same time, state lawmakers must contend with a huge budget deficit over the next three years as Medicaid costs skyrocket.

NY Sen. Roxanne J. Persaud and David Carlucci. Nigel Roberts/Bklyner.

“Everyone is concerned about changes from the federal government and the $6.1 billion budget deficit,” Persaud told BKLYNER. “Too often when we have a deficit, we look at social services, looking at what can be cut.”

Bill Bryan, an attorney with Brooklyn Defender Services, raised an issue that many of his clients encounter. To receive certain benefits, applicants cannot have more than $2,000 in assets. That often means that someone who needs temporary assistance after losing a job must spend their savings before getting assistance.

A consensus emerged around the proposal of raising the assets limit from $2,000 to $4,000. Making people with more money in the bank eligible for benefits sounds counterintuitive. However, the idea is that having an additional cushion of savings could buy more time to prevent homelessness for families living largely from paycheck-to-paycheck. It costs a lot more to shelter a homeless family.

During FY 2014, there were 2,896 Brooklyn families in the shelter system, according to an ICPH study. In neighborhoods such as Crown Heights, Brownsville, and East New York, lack of affordable housing and evictions were the main causes. East New York had the highest number of families, at 564, entering the shelter system.

It is not for lack of spending money. In July, eyebrows were raised when Bklyner reported that the city will be spending approximately $10,000 a month per apartment to house 253 families at two newly constructed Park Slope shelters. Just last month, HRA opened a state-of-the-art service center in Bushwick, with a $6.8 million annual rent.

Advocates for the poor and government agency representatives. Nigel Roberts/Bklyner.

Abby Biberman, senior supervising attorney at New York Legal Assistance Group, added that homeless services are focused on helping people once they’ve become homeless. She called for a collaboration between the city and state to fund wraparound services to help prevent homelessness, which would be a more efficient use of limited social services resources.

Persaud and co-host Sen. David Carlucci, a Rockland and Ossining Democrat, noted the suggestions.

“I’m optimistic about what the state can do to counteract what the federal government is doing,” Persaud told Bklyner. “We have good people fighting, and I think we will prevail.”

One issue that failed to come up was the mistreatment of poor people seeking assistance at the Human Resources Administration (HRA) offices. A viral video of HRA security guards and an NYPD officer snatching Jazmine Headley’s child from her arms at the Boerum Hill facility last December shined a spotlight on the problem. Last month, a piece in the New York Times discussed the factors that cause tempers to flare, sometimes resulting in HRA security guards assaulting applicants.

Persaud told Bklyner that she’s satisfied with the steps that HRA officials have taken, such as sensitivity training, to address the problems, which she said are relatively rare occurrences.

“We make sure the commissioner (HRA Commissioner Steven Banks) and his staff address those issues as soon as we hear about them,” the senator added.

Originally published in Bklyner. on October 21, 2019

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

Eileen Connor (left) and Toby Merrill of the Harvard Law School's Project on Predatory Student Lending Photograph courtesy of the Project on Predatory Student Lending

“Attacking the Concept of Debt”

In this Harvard Magazine article, NYLAG’s Jessica Ranucci proclaims explicitly prospective litigation is needed to overcome the litigation challenges in the for-profit college industry.

Read More »
Image of a group of people with garbage bags outside a hotel.

Homeless New Yorkers Belong in Hotels Now

In this New York Daily News op-ed, NYLAG’s Deborah Berkman asserts the benefits of placing those experiencing homelessness in hotels and denounces residents of NY’s Upper West Side who deem this placement as a threat.

Read More »
English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, we are still working hard and our intake lines are open, but please note that our physical office is closed.

During these unprecedented times, we’ve launched a free NY COVID-19 Legal Resources Hotline and compiled the latest legal and financial counseling updates.