fbpx
Jane Greengold Stevens

Джейн Гринголд Стивенс из NYLAG удостоена награды Vern Countryman Award от Национального центра защиты прав потребителей

Осенью прошлого года исполнилось 50 лет со дня приема Джейн Гринголд Стивенс в адвокатуру. В знак признания ее многолетней приверженности правам и благополучию потребителей с низкими доходами она недавно была удостоена престижной награды Vern Countryman Award от Национального центра защиты прав потребителей.

Джейн посвятила свою карьеру представлению интересов людей и семей с низкими доходами, работая в юридических организациях, включая NYLAG, где она провела последние два десятилетия своей карьеры и со-руководит судебной практикой организации. Джейн имеет долгую историю судебных разбирательств по важным и интересным делам для защиты потребителей. Вот несколько ярких моментов ее невероятной карьеры:

  • Джейн вела судебные тяжбы против коммерческих школ на протяжении десятилетий, в том числе подавая многочисленные иски против школ, которые искажали себя перед учениками. (Примеры включают Фигероа против Market Training Institute, Inc. и др .; Мой против Института Адельфи и др .; и Фрика Санчес против АСА).
  • По делу 1994 года Гиббонс против Райли, № 94 Civ. 5212, Джейн оспорила чрезмерные сборы, взимаемые Министерством образования, и достигла урегулирования, помогая трем миллионам заемщиков.
  • Джейн подала в суд на юридическую фирму по взысканию долгов, которая взыскала задолженность по федеральной студенческой ссуде в нарушение Закона о высшем образовании (Арройо против Соломона и Соломона, PC, № 99 Civ. 8302 (EDNY 1999).
  • Джейн неоднократно судилась, чтобы защитить права заемщиков студенческих ссуд на погашение своих ссуд, в том числе в Гилл против Пейдж, No. 00 Civ. 5453 (EDNY 2000). В более поздних Салазар против Короля, No. 14 Civ. 1230 (SDNY), победа Джейн и ее команды в апелляционном суде привела к соглашению, которое принесло пользу более чем 60 000 бывшим ученикам фиктивной школы Wilfred Academy.
  • Джейн возбудила множество дел, оспаривающих законодательные акты штата Нью-Йорк, разрешающие исполнение судебных решений или задолженность потребителей с низкими доходами. (Примеры включают Дири против Guardian Loan Co., Inc., № 80 Гр. 1976 (SDNY), Майерс против Нью-Йоркского сообщества Bancorp, Inc. и др., No. 03 Civ. 5837 (EDNY), Симс против Банка Америки и др., No. 06 Civ. 5991 (EDNY), Уоттс против Уинга, Томпсон против Уинга).

Для NYLAG очень приятно отметить Джейн Гринголд Стивенс, получившую эту заслуженную награду. 

Поделиться этой записью

Поделиться в facebook
Поделиться в twitter
Поделиться в linkedin
Поделиться в pinterest
Поделиться в print
Поделиться в email

Статьи по Теме

Cellphone with unknown caller

Как определить восемь самых распространенных финансовых афер

После пандемии COVID-19 количество мошенничества, особенно онлайн-мошенничества, возросло. Если вы или ваши близкие пользуетесь Интернетом, важно, чтобы вы знали о восьми наиболее распространенных случаях мошенничества.

Прочитайте больше "
Eileen Connor (left) and Toby Merrill of the Harvard Law School's Project on Predatory Student Lending Photograph courtesy of the Project on Predatory Student Lending

«Атака на концепцию долга»

В этой статье журнала Harvard Magazine Джессика Рануччи из NYLAG прямо заявляет, что для преодоления проблем, связанных с судебными разбирательствами в коммерческой индустрии колледжей, требуется перспективный судебный процесс.

Прочитайте больше "
Русский
English Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Français اردو বাংলা Русский
Пролистать наверх

We can help you improve your finances, and remove barriers to economic security—all for free. Working with a NYLAG financial counselor and coach will help you pay off debt, manage your personal finances more efficiently, navigate through financial crises, and build long-term financial stability.

fbpx
Jane Greengold Stevens

NYLAG’s Jane Greengold Stevens Awarded “Vern Countryman Award” by the National Consumer Law Center

Last fall marked the 50th anniversary of Jane Greengold Stevens’s admission to the Bar. In recognition of her decades-long commitment to the rights and well-being of consumers with low income, she has recently been awarded the prestigious “Vern Countryman Award” by the National Consumer Law Center.

Jane has devoted her career to representing the interests of individuals and families with low-income through her work at legal services organizations, including NYLAG, where she has spent the last two decades of her career and co-directs the organization’s impact litigation practice. Jane has a long history of litigating important and interesting cases to protect consumers. Here are some highlights of her incredible career:

  • Jane has been litigating against for-profit schools for decades, including by filing multiple cases against schools that misrepresented themselves to students. (Examples include Figueroa v. Market Training Institute, Inc. et al.; Moy v. Adelphi Institute et al.; and Frica Sanchez v. ASA).
  • In the 1994 case Gibbons v. Riley, No. 94 Civ. 5212, Jane challenged excessive collection fees charged by the Department of Education, and achieved a settlement helping three million borrowers.
  • Jane sued a debt collection law firm that collected federal student loan debt in violation of the Higher Education Act (Arroyo v. Solomon and Solomon, P.C., No. 99 Civ. 8302 (E.D.N.Y. 1999).
  • Jane has repeatedly litigated to protect student loan borrowers’ rights to discharges of their loans, including in Gill v. Paige, No. 00 Civ. 5453 (E.D.N.Y. 2000). In the more recent Salazar v. King, No. 14 Civ. 1230 (S.D.N.Y.), Jane and her team’s appellate court victory led to a settlement benefiting over 60,000 former students of the sham school Wilfred Academy.
  • Jane has brought many cases challenging New York state statutes that permit execution of judgments or debts against low-income consumers. (Examples include Deary v. Guardian Loan Co., Inc., No 80 Civ. 1976 (S.D.N.Y.), Mayers v. New York Community Bancorp, Inc., et al., No. 03 Civ. 5837 (E.D.N.Y.), Sims v. Bank of America et al., No. 06 Civ. 5991 (E.D.N.Y), Watts v. Wing, Thompson v. Wing).

It is NYLAG’s great pleasure to celebrate Jane Greengold Stevens as she receives this well-deserved award. 

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

Eileen Connor (left) and Toby Merrill of the Harvard Law School's Project on Predatory Student Lending Photograph courtesy of the Project on Predatory Student Lending

“Attacking the Concept of Debt”

In this Harvard Magazine article, NYLAG’s Jessica Ranucci proclaims explicitly prospective litigation is needed to overcome the litigation challenges in the for-profit college industry.

Read More »
English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, we are still working hard and our intake lines are open, but please note that our physical office is closed.

During these unprecedented times, we’ve launched a free NY COVID-19 Legal Resources Hotline and compiled the latest legal and financial counseling updates.