fbpx

NYLAG прекращает незаконное взыскание задолженности за обучение в некоммерческом колледже

Филимон против Овна Капитал Партнерс и соавт.

В 2017 году к Виктору Филимону был предъявлен иск в Гражданском суде Нью-Йорка компанией Aries Capital Partners. Овен утверждал, что г-н Филимон задолжал за неоплаченное обучение в теперь закрытом коммерческом колледже, который называется Технический институт карьеры (TCI). Иск Овна против мистера Филимона был незаконным, в том числе и потому, что мистер Филимон никогда не должен был платить за обучение. Овен также подал в суд на более двухсот других бывших студентов TCI в похожих коллекциях костюмов. NYLAG подала иск против Овна и его президента и адвокатов от имени Филимона и всех других студентов TCI, которые подали аналогичные иски против них.

Стороны договорились урегулировать дела, так что в случае одобрения судом все судебные иски Гражданского суда против членов класса будут отклонены, а решения против них будут отменены; все деньги, полученные от учеников, будут возвращены; и ученики, которые заплатили деньги, предстали перед судом или приняли решение против них, будут иметь право на дополнительную денежную выплату.

Если вы получили письмо по этому поводу и у вас есть вопросы, вы можете связаться с нами по адресу 212-613-5032.

Больше информации:

Имя: Филимон против Овна Капитал Партнерс и соавт.

Dkt. #: № 18 Цив. 1927 (2018 год)

судья: Достопочтенный Шерил Поллак

Положение дел: Расчет до окончательного утверждения

Требования:

Нарушения Закона о добросовестном взыскании долгов и Нью-Йоркского закона о судебной власти, в частности, в отношении подачи исков за пределы срока давности, незаконно требующих оплату адвоката, неспособности осмысленно рассмотреть судебные документы до подачи и раскрытия номеров социального страхования в публичном суде файлы.

Особенности:

  • NYLAG подала жалоба в марте 2018 года.
  • NYLAG перешел на сертификацию класса в апреле 2018 года.
  • В феврале 2019 года NYLAG принял решение об утверждении общеклассного соглашения, которое обеспечило бы практически полное облегчение всех требований класса.
  • Суд предварительно одобрил Поселок.
  • Слушание дела по справедливости состоится 1 октябряулица, 2019.
Помогите нам предоставить бесплатные юридические услуги детям и взрослым, нуждающимся в адвокате.
Присоединиться к нашему списку рассылки. Получайте уведомления о действиях, обновления и специальные приглашения.
Русский
Пролистать наверх

NYLAG's 2021 Virtual Gala

Tuesday, April 13th 

Doors Open 6:45 PM, EST
Program 7:00 PM, EST

Please join us for our annual Gala—we look forward to gathering with you virtually this year!

This year’s Gala will launch our year-long campaign—то Resiliency Fund—which will provide transformative critical financial stability, enabling us to remain strong at a time our community needs us most.

—Honoring—

Роджер В. Фергюсон-младший
President & CEO, TIAA

Аннет Л. Назарет
Senior Counsel, Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP

Бойд Джонсон
Partner, WilmerHale

—Celebrating—

Эбби С. Мильштейн

Menu

NYLAG Stops Illegal Collection of Tuition Debt from For-Profit College

Philemon v. Aries Capital Partners et al.

In 2017, Victor Philemon was sued in New York City Civil Court by a company called Aries Capital Partners. Aries claimed that Mr. Philemon owed a debt from unpaid tuition at the now-closed for-profit college called the Technical Career Institute (TCI). Aries’s lawsuit against Mr. Philemon was illegal—including because Mr. Philemon never owed any tuition in the first place. Aries also sued more than two hundred other former TCI students in similar collections suits. NYLAG brought this lawsuit against Aries and its president and attorneys, on behalf of Mr. Philemon and all the other TCI students who had similar lawsuits filed against them.

The parties have agreed to settle the cases, so that, if approved by the court, all the Civil Court lawsuits against the class members will be dismissed and judgments against them will be vacated; all money collected from class members will be returned; and class members who paid money, appeared in court, or had a judgment entered against them will be eligible for an additional monetary payment.

If you have received a letter in the mail about this case and have questions, you can contact us at 212-613-5032.

More Information:

Name: Philemon v. Aries Capital Partners et al.

Dkt. #: No. 18 Civ. 1927 (2018 E.D.N.Y.)

Judge: Hon. Cheryl Pollak

Status: Settlement Pending Final Approval

Claims:

Violations of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act and New York Judiciary Law for, among other things: filing cases outside of the statute of limitations, illegally demanding attorney’s fees, failing to meaningfully review litigation documents before filing, and disclosing social security numbers in public court files.

Highlights:

  • NYLAG filed the Complaint in March 2018.
  • NYLAG moved for class certification in April 2018.
  • In February 2019, NYLAG moved for approval of the classwide settlement, which would provide virtually complete relief for all the class’s claims.
  • The Court granted preliminary approval to the Settlement.
  • A fairness hearing will be held on October 1st, 2019.
Help us provide free legal services to children and adults in need of a lawyer.
Join our mailing list. Get action alerts, updates, and special invites.
Scroll to Top