fbpx
Website Header

纽约市房主面临巨大的未知数,洪水保险的变化迫在眉睫

奥利维亚·施沃布(Olivia Schwob)
城市界限

如果住房负担能力和气候变化适应能力是纽约市面临的两个最紧迫的挑战,那么洪水区便是他们有争议的交汇点。由于大量降雨淹没了地铁站,下水道干线甚至史坦顿岛的公共汽车,该市地势低洼,临水而居的居民区拥挤不堪,无法确定极端风暴是否会使他们的房屋暂时(或永久)无法居住。

然而,对于这些社区中的大部分中产阶级和工人阶级的房主而言,另一波涨潮威胁到他们的生存能力,即使在干燥和阳光明媚的日子也是如此:洪水保险。

纽约市海岸线上的业主及其拥护者正准备迎接冲击,因为联邦洪水保险政策的另外两项重大预期变化有望从根本上改变纽约市经济适用房的格局。

不断增加的风险和成本

根据联邦紧急事务管理局(Federal Emergency Management Administration)的规定,“高风险洪水区”的房主如果持有联邦政府支持的抵押贷款,就必须购买洪水保险。由于常规房屋所有者的保险不涵盖洪水损害,因此这些房主中的大多数都按照FEMA国家洪水保险计划规定的费率从私人公司购买了保险。

高危地区以外的业主如已获得FEMA的公共灾难援助或参加了诸如房屋重建计划等本地计划,也必须确保自己的房屋安全。

当Superstorm Sandy远远超出了先前绘制的洪水风险的界限时,洪水保险从海滨豪华住宅的十分之一变成了对史坦顿岛,布鲁克林和皇后区数千名房主的财务压力。最近,这种财务压力一直在加剧。

纽约洪灾区的大多数房屋是在1983年之前建造的,当时风险图的采用开始决定了洪泛区的建筑标准。从历史上看,这类房屋有资格获得补贴的保险费率。

然而,洪水保险费每年可以达到数千美元,这对纽约市洪水区的工人阶级房主来说是一大笔钱。 2017年,兰德公司(RAND Corporation)对纽约市洪水保险的财务负担进行的研究发现,高风险洪水区房屋的年平均保费为$3,000,一些房主每年支付近$10,000。 (就全国而言,该年的平均洪水保险保费为$700。)

该研究估计,高风险区中所有纽约市的房主中有25%,包括60%的低收入房主和40%的低收入房主,已经在洪水保险费,财产税的高昂组合中苦苦挣扎以及抵押付款。

更糟糕的是,2012年,国会通过了旨在使FEMA的保险计划免于破产的立法,这些补贴逐渐开始减弱,导致洪水保险费上涨。尽管这些增加后来受到后续立法的限制,但保费仍可能每年增长18%。在2018年全国范围内,保费总体上涨了8%。

许多恶毒的地图仍然是个谜

现在更大的变化即将到来。

尽管FEMA于2017年发布了“建议性”洪灾灾害地图,但自1983年以来,FEMA尚未更新其官方地图(该标准规定了建筑标准和保险义务)。过时的地图缺乏保险,这对飓风桑迪造成了破坏,由于没有保险的房主在征服复杂的联邦救助官僚机构并修复房屋方面遇到困难。

此后,该修订一直是该市的优先事项之一,这不仅是因为高风险洪水区的房主可以通过提高房屋价格来获得折现的保险费率,这很可能会减少未来洪水造成的破坏。

但是,改变地图将不可避免地意味着在洪泛区拥有更多房屋,并且有更多房主有义务购买洪水保险,这使得低收入房屋所有权的最后一个避难所逐渐变得负担不起。

当FEMA在2015年发布纽约市洪水灾害地图的初步修订版时,市政府强烈呼吁它,认为该机构高估了洪泛区的范围和未来洪水的高度,使太多的房主背负了很高的责任。风险水平。在2016年,FEMA接受了上诉,回到了制图委员会。

自那以来,根据纽约市社区中心(CNYCN)研究主任Caroline Nagy的说法,人们对更新后的地图的含义没有进一步的了解。住房倡导者预测,新地图将在2022年某个时候发布,可能不会发出预警。纳吉说,在那之前,“我们一直在盲目工作。”

评级系统是另一个变量

新出现的洪水风险评级系统是一种最近才出现的变化,人们对其了解甚少。

FEMA衡量洪水风险的方法为那些必须购买的房主确定洪水保险费。这种方法,就像危险地图一样,跟不上技术和气候变化的步伐。

从历史上看,洪水保险义务是一个相对简单的计算方法:所有者要么处于高风险区域,要么必须购买保险,要么必须购买保险,要么不购买保险。费率取决于房屋的高程与“基本洪水高程”之间的差值,或未来洪水的预期水位;补贴在一定程度上抵消了费用。

3月份,FEMA宣布了一项“风险等级2.0”倡议,该倡议将于2020年10月生效-但该机构只是在简短,含糊的措辞中描述了新政策。调整后的评级系统致力于“缩小保险缺口”,并将逐项详细地结合细节,这可能包括重建房屋的成本;距海岸线或河岸的距离;不同类型洪水的不同影响;或建筑物的洪水历史。

就像洪水灾害图一样,Risk Rating 2.0是一个黑匣子。全国所有500万当前的保单持有人将在Risk Rating 2.0系统下看到他们的费率变化-但在FEMA发布更详细的政策说明之前,这种变化的确切形式和方向仍然是个谜。

更改系统一直存在争议且进展缓慢也就不足为奇了。保险费率的上涨可能会严重影响个人所有者以及整个住房市场的承受能力,因为承担保险责任的房屋变得更昂贵且更难以出售。

2017年Rand Corporation的研究预测,消除“祖父化”(允许在洪灾区以外目前没有保险的房主以采用其当前较低的实测风险水平购买保险的比率)可以使采用新的危害图几乎翻番。洪水保险费的中位数,使财产价值降低数万甚至数十万美元。

风险,利率和弹性

目前尚不清楚风险评级2.0是否会保留祖父政策,但RAND策略分析师,2017年报告的合著者之一Noreen Clancy说,基于结构和风险的评级方法反映在3月的公告中这表明基于危害图的补贴,例如祖父级补贴,可能很快就会成为现实。

克兰西说:“从理论上讲,这是使人们朝着更高的基于风险的比率发展的好主意。” “补贴的价格可能使人们对自己的风险产生了扭曲的感觉。”

取消补贴还有助于减轻NFIP债务的负担,该债务在2017年达到$30.4十亿的峰值。国会引用其“不可持续的”资金,自那年以来仅授予该计划数月的临时重新授权,最近一次是重新授权。将于9月30日到期

但是,从房主的角度来看,如果洪水区增加了其留在家里的费用,那么对洪水区危害的更精确,更微妙的描述可能就不受欢迎。

3月份的公告引起了长岛房主的强烈抗议,他们预计由于地区高昂的建筑成本而导致更高的保费-新计算中可能包括这一因素。他们的恐惧是否会消失还不清楚。

纳吉说,根据目前可获得的有限信息,纽约市不同地区的房主可能会在不同程度上感受到这种影响,但许多人的房价可能会上升。而且任何涨幅,即使每年封顶为9%(两党措施中提出的旨在防止由于“未经检验的和未知的方法”而导致房价飙升的数字),也可能是已经受到挤压的房主的最后一根稻草。

洪水之前止赎?

我们有理由相信,在纽约许多易受洪灾影响的社区中,人们感觉到了这种挤压,在这里,止赎率在2017年急剧上升,并且还在继续上升。遭受飓风桑迪打击最严重的地区,如卑尔根海滩和新多普地区,过去三年的止赎率上升了两倍或三倍,涨幅远超过整个城市。在最近一个季度,虽然整个城市的止赎房屋数量实际上有所减少,但在Canarsie,卑尔根海滩和米尔盆地等社区,止赎房屋的数量却有所增加,尤其是止赎前的档案数量有所增加。

布鲁克林和史泰登岛的抵押品赎回权预防律师和房主倡导者警告说,目前逐渐提高的洪水保险率不太可能推动抵押品赎回权背后的趋势。例如,Canarsie的抵押贷款,低收入房主比城市平均多,并且是2008年止赎危机期间的震中。布鲁克林邻里住房服务部预防抵押品赎回计划的主任安吉拉·戴维森说:“我们的客户被抵押品赎回权的原因与以往相同:收入损失,医疗危机或家庭结构的变化。”包括Canarsie在内的布鲁克林南部地区都被取消抵押品赎回权。

但是,财务上的困难有一种相互加剧的方式,当前的止赎前备案数字描绘了处于危机边缘的地势低洼,容易发生洪水的社区。洪水保险费的增加可能会扩大规模。

纽约法律援助组织防止赎项目的监督律师罗斯·玛丽·坎坦诺(Rose Marie Cantanno)说,一些客户,尤其是老年房主,已经发现自己因洪水保险费和财产税的组合而在财务上被耗尽。 (根据CNYCN在2017年发布的洪水保险和可负担性研究,纽约的洪水区居民区超过70%的居民比整个城市更大。)对于拥有固定收入的业主,永久性的增长将迅速成为站不住脚的。 “现在是一个问题;这将是一个更大的问题,”坎坦诺说。

纳吉说,但是仍有乐观的余地。可以抵消某些房主成本的补贴将保持不变,并且当新的评级系统生效时,年度增长率的上限可能会被保留。有关洪水风险的更详细信息提供了一种机会,可以教育房主并推动对缓解和适应措施的投资。

在现行制度下,加高房屋可产生补贴保费的贷方;风险等级2.0可能会包含更多活动的信用,包括将昂贵的设备和建筑系统元素移至更高楼层。对于原型的纽约排屋的所有者来说,几乎或几乎不可能将其抬高,此政策变更可能意味着一个可行的机会,可以为房屋加装以提高弹性,并在此过程中获得较低的保险费率。

纳吉还建议拓宽洪泛平原可能会激发更广泛的对话。纳吉说:“关于洪水的讨论往往是二元的,但存在着很大的风险。”对于面临不同程度威胁的房主,可能需要采用不同的缓解和适应政策。纳吉说,一个更微妙的评级体系可以使政策更加可信,例如经济状况调查补贴和“有管理的务虚会”买断,这些政策比超级风暴桑迪来得普遍。

无论如何,随着新的风险评级系统的出现,新的洪水灾害图将出现,这意味着这些社区的房主将不得不在非常短的时间内做出一些复杂的,具有财务意义的决定。但是直到那时,他们都在等待。

最初发表于 城市界限 于2019年9月18日。

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin
分享到pinterest
分享到print
分享到email

相关文章

简体中文
English Español de México 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 简体中文
滚动到顶部

为了应对COVID-19危机,我们仍在努力工作,我们的进气管已经开放,但是请注意,我们的物理办公室已关闭。

在这空前的时期,我们启动了免费的NY COVID-19法律资源热线,并编制了最新的法律和财务咨询更新。

Menu
Website Header

NYC Homeowners Face Huge Unknowns as Flood Insurance Changes Loom

Olivia Schwob
City Limits

If housing affordability and climate change resiliency are two of the most pressing challenges facing New York City, the flood zone marks their contested intersection. As heavy rainfall inundates subway stations, sewer mains, and even Staten Island buses, residents of the city’s low-lying, water-fronted, neighborhoods brace, unsure if an extreme storm will render their homes temporarily — or permanently — uninhabitable.

Yet for the largely middle- and working-class homeowners in these neighborhoods, another rising tide threatens their ability to stay put, even on dry and sunny days: flood insurance.

Owners on the city’s coastline and their advocates are bracing for impact as two more major anticipated changes to federal flood insurance policy promise to fundamentally alter the landscape of affordable housing in New York City.

Growing risks, and costs

Homeowners in “high risk flood zones,” as charted by the Federal Emergency Management Administration, are required by law to purchase flood insurance if they hold federally-backed mortgages. As flood damage isn’t covered by regular homeowner’s insurance, the majority of these homeowners purchase insurance from private companies at rates set under FEMA’s National Flood Insurance Program.

Owners outside the high-risk zones who have received public disaster assistance from FEMA or participated in local programs like Build It Back are also required to insure their homes.

When Superstorm Sandy far overran the bounds of the previously mapped flood risk, flood insurance went from a tithe on the luxuries of beachfront living to a financial pressure on thousands of homeowners in Staten Island, Brooklyn, and Queens. Recently, that financial pressure has been intensifying.

The majority of homes in New York’s flood zones were built before 1983, when the adoption of risk maps began to dictate construction standards in the flood plain. Historically, such homes have been eligible for subsidized insurance rates.

Nevertheless, flood insurance premiums can run thousands of dollars per year — a significant drain for the working class homeowners of New York City’s flood zones. In 2017, a RAND Corporation study of the financial burden of flood insurance in New York City found that the average annual premium on a house in a high risk flood zone was $3,000, with some homeowners paying almost $10,000 per year. (Nationally, that year, the average flood insurance premium was $700.)

The study estimated that 25 percent of all New York City homeowners in the high risk zone, including 60 percent of very low-income and 40 percent of low-income homeowners, were already struggling with a prohibitively expensive combination of flood insurance premiums, property taxes, and mortgage payments.

To make matters worse, in 2012, Congress passed legislation aimed at saving FEMA’s insurance program from insolvency, and those subsidies gradually began to wane, causing flood insurance premiums to rise. Though those increases were later limited by subsequent legislation, premiums may still increase up to 18 percent per year; nationally in 2018, premiums went up by 8 percent overall.

Much maligned maps remain a mystery

Even bigger changes now loom.

Though FEMA issued “advisory” flood zone hazard maps as recently as 2017, it has not updated its official maps — which dictate construction standards and insurance obligations — since 1983. Lack of insurance following from the outdated maps contributed to the devastation of Hurricane Sandy, as homeowners without insurance struggled to navigate the complex bureaucracy of federal disaster aid and repair their homes.

The revision has been at the top of the city’s priority list ever since, not least because homeowners in high-risk flood zones can secure discounted insurance rates by elevating their homes — an incentive likely to reduce the damage wrought by future floods.

But altered maps will inevitably mean more homes in the floodplain and more homeowners obligated to buy flood insurance, making the last refuge of low-income homeownership steadily less affordable.

When FEMA issued a preliminary revision to the New York City flood hazard maps in 2015, the city government appealed it forcefully, arguing that the agency had overestimated the extent of the floodplain and the height of future floods, saddling too many homeowners with too high a level of risk. In 2016, FEMA accepted the appeal and went back to the drawing board.

Since then, according to Caroline Nagy, director of research at the Center for New York City Neighborhoods (CNYCN), there’s been no further insight into what the updated maps portend. Housing advocates predict that new maps will be released sometime in 2022, likely without forewarning. Until then, Nagy says, “we’ve been working blind.”

Rating system is another variable

A change that more recently appeared on the horizon, and is even less well understood, is a new flood risk rating system.

FEMA’s method of measuring flood risk determines flood insurance premiums for those homeowners who have to buy it; this method, like the hazard maps, had not kept pace with the changing technology and climate.

Historically, flood insurance obligation has been a relatively simple calculation: An owner is either in a high-risk zone, and has to buy insurance, or isn’t, and doesn’t; rates are determined by the difference between the elevation of the home and the “Base Flood Elevation,” or the anticipated water-level of future floods; subsidies offset the expense somewhat.

In March, FEMA announced a “Risk Rating 2.0” initiative, to take effect in October 2020 — but the agency described the new policy only in brief, vague terms. The adjusted rating system strives to “close the insurance gap,” and will incorporate granular, lot-by-lot details, which could potentially include the cost of reconstructing the home; the distance from a shoreline or riverbank; differing impacts of different kinds of floods; or the structure’s history of flooding.

Like the flood hazard maps to come, Risk Rating 2.0 is a black box. All 5 million current policyholders nation-wide will see their rates change under the Risk Rating 2.0 system — but until FEMA releases a more detailed policy description, the precise shape and direction of that change remains a mystery.

It’s no surprise that changing the system has been contentious and slow going. Rising insurance rates could drastically impact affordability for individual owners, and the housing market as a whole, as insurance-obligated houses become more expensive to own and more difficult to sell.

The 2017 Rand Corporation study projected that the elimination of “grandfathering” —  which allows currently uninsured homeowners outside the flood zone to buy insurance at a rate reflecting their current, lower level of measured risk before the adoption of new hazard maps — could nearly double the median flood insurance premium, and depress property values by tens of thousands or even hundreds of thousands of dollars.

Risk, rates and resiliency

It’s not clear at this point whether Risk Rating 2.0 will preserve the grandfathering policy, but Noreen Clancy, a RAND policy analyst and one of the 2017 report’s co-authors, says that the structure- and risk-based rating method reflected in the March announcement suggests hazard map-based subsidies like grandfathering may soon be on the chopping block.

“On a theoretical level, it’s a good idea to move people toward more risk-based rates,” Clancy says. “Subsidized prices may be giving people a distorted sense of their risk.”

Eliminating subsidies could also help tame the NFIP debt, which peaked at $30.4 billion in 2017. Citing its “unsustainable” finances, Congress has granted the program only months-long, temporary reauthorizations since that year, the most recent of which is set to expire on September 30

But from homeowners’ perspective, a more precise and subtle picture of the hazards of the flood zone may not be welcome, if it increases to the cost of staying in their homes.

The March announcement drew outcry from homeowners on Long Island, who anticipate higher premiums as a result of the high regional cost of construction — one factor that could be included in the new calculus. Whether their fear will come to pass is still unknown.

Based on the limited information currently available, Nagy says, New York City homeowners in different neighborhoods could feel the effects to different extents, but rates will likely go up for many. And any increase, even if capped at 9 percent per year — the figure proposed in a bipartisan measure intended to safeguard against rate spikes as a result of the “untested and unknown methodology” — could be the final straw for homeowners already feeling squeezed.

Foreclosure before the flood?

There’s reason to believe that the squeeze is very much felt in many of New York’s flooding-vulnerable neighborhoods, where foreclosure rates spiked precipitously in 2017 and have continued to rise. Neighborhoods like Bergen Beach and New Dorp, which were among the hardest hit by Hurricane Sandy, have seen foreclosure rates increase two- or three-fold in the last three years — a much steeper increase than in the city as a whole. In the most recent quarter, while the number of foreclosures across the city as a whole actually decreased, in neighborhoods like Canarsie, Bergen Beach, and Mill Basin, the number of foreclosures, and especially pre-foreclosure filings, went up.

Foreclosure prevention attorneys and homeowner advocates in Brooklyn and Staten Island caution that gradually increasing flood insurance rates aren’t likely to be driving the trend behind foreclosures at this point. Canarsie, for instance, has more mortgage-bearing, low-income homeowners than the city on average, and was an epicenter during the 2008 foreclosure crisis. “The reasons our clients are in foreclosure are the same as ever: loss of income, medical crisis, or change in family composition,” says Angella Davidson, director of the Foreclosure Prevention Program at Neighborhood Housing Services of Brooklyn, which serves homeowners threatened by foreclosure in South Brooklyn neighborhoods including Canarsie.

But financial difficulties have a way of compounding one another, and current pre-foreclosure filing numbers paint a picture of low-lying, flood-prone neighborhoods on the brink of a crisis. Increasing flood insurance premiums could tip the scales.

Rose Marie Cantanno, supervising attorney for the foreclosure prevention project at New York Legal Assistance Group, says some clients, especially elderly homeowners, are already finding themselves financially drained by the combination of flood insurance premiums and property taxes. (New York’s flood zone neighborhoods have a greater proportion of residents over 70 than the city as a whole, according to a study of flood insurance and affordability published by CNYCN in 2017.) For owners on a fixed income, increases in perpetuity will swiftly become untenable. “It’s a problem now; it’s about to be a much bigger problem,” Cantanno says.

Yet there is room for optimism, according to Nagy. Subsidies to offset the cost for some homeowners will remain in place, and caps on the annual rate of increase are likely to be preserved when the new rating system comes into effect. And more detailed information about flood risk poses an opportunity of a sort, to educate homeowners and push for investment in mitigative and adaptive measures.

Under the current system, elevating a house yields credit toward a subsidized premium; Risk Rating 2.0 will probably include credits for a wider range of activities, including moving expensive appliances and building system elements to higher floors. For owners of prototypical New York row houses, which prove more or less impossible to elevate, this policy change could mean a viable opportunity to outfit their homes for greater resiliency, and to access lower insurance rates in the process.

Nagy also suggested that widening the flood plain could spur a broader conversation. “The conversation about flooding tends to be binary, but there’s a whole spectrum of risk,” Nagy says; different mitigation and adaptation policies might be appropriate for homeowners facing different levels of threat. A more subtle rating system could lend credence to policies such as means-tested subsidies and buy-outs for “managed retreat,” which were more popular than available in the wake of Superstorm Sandy, Nagy says.

No matter what, the arrival of new flood hazard maps on the heels of a new risk rating system will mean that homeowners in these neighborhoods will have to undertake several complicated, financially significant decisions in a very short period of time. But until then, they wait.

Originally published in City Limits on September 18, 2019.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

Scroll to Top