fbpx

数据事件通知

2020年9月8日,纽约法律援助组织(“ NYLAG”)在员工的电子邮件帐户中发现异常活动。我们立即在第三方计算机司法调查员的协助下展开了调查,以确定所发生事件的全部性质和范围。通过此调查,我们确定在2020年8月15日至2020年9月24日之间,有未知身份的参与者可以访问某些员工电子邮件帐户。一旦确定了这些电子邮件帐户,便会为整个组织执行密码重置。

我们关心的信息的机密性,隐私和安全性是我们的最高优先事项之一。 发现此事件后,我们迅速采取行动进行调查,并采取了其他安全措施以进一步保护信息。调查确定电子邮件帐户中可能包含以下类型的信息:名称,社会安全号码,驾驶执照或其他政府颁发的ID号,金融帐户信息,用户名和密码以及支付卡信息。 

您可以采取的行动:在多加注意的情况下,我们会通知可能受影响的个人,并免费提供身份保护服务,以作为额外的预防措施。 如果您对此事件有疑问,可以从东部时间上午8:00到下午5:30致电1-212-659-7492。可能受到影响的个人也可以考虑以下概述的信息和资源。

他们得知此事后,NYLAG做了什么? 得知事件后,我们立即进行了调查,以确定所发生事件的全部性质和范围。我们还实施了其他安全措施,以进一步保护信息。尽管我们不知道任何实际或企图滥用任何信息,但是出于谨慎考虑,我们仍在提供有关此事件的通知。我们还鼓励认为自己可能受此事件影响的个人联系我们上面的专用帮助热线,以获取更多信息,包括有关我们提供的免费信用监控和身份保护服务的信息。         

监控您的帐户

我们鼓励可能受到影响的个人通过检查其帐户,福利说明和可疑活动的信用报告来保持警惕,以防身份盗用和欺诈事件的发生,并立即向关联机构报告任何可疑活动。 

 

根据美国法律,您有权每年从三个主要信用报告局中的每个获得一份免费信用报告。要订购免费的信用报告,请访问 www.annualcreditreport.com 或致电免费电话1-877-322-8228。您也可以直接与三个主要征信机构联系,以索取免费的信用报告副本。

 

您有权对信用报告进行“冻结”,这将禁止消费者报告机构未经您的明确授权而发布信用报告中的信息。安全冻结旨在防止未经您的同意以您的名义批准信贷,贷款和服务。但是,您应该意识到,使用安全冻结来控制谁可以访问您的信用报告中的个人和财务信息可能会延迟,干扰或禁止及时批准您对新帐户提出的任何后续请求或申请贷款,信贷,抵押或任何其他涉及信贷延伸的帐户。根据联邦法律,您无需承担信用报告冻结或冻结的费用。如果您希望冻结安全性,请联系下面列出的主要消费者报告机构:

 

益百利

邮政信箱9554

艾伦,TX 75013

1-888-397-3742

www.experian.com/freeze/center.html

 

创联

邮政信箱160

宾夕法尼亚州伍德林19094

1-888-909-8872

www.transunion.com/credit-freeze

Equifax

邮政信箱105788

乔治亚州亚特兰大30348-5788

1-800-685-1111

www.equifax.com/personal/credit-report-services

 

 

 

为了请求冻结安全性,您将需要提供以下信息:

  1. 您的全名(包括中间名的缩写以及Jr.,Sr.,II,III等);
  2. 社会安全号码;
  3. 出生日期;
  4. 如果您在过去五(5)年内已搬家,请提供您在过去五年中居住的地址;
  5. 当前地址的证明,例如当前的水电费或电话费;
  6. 政府签发的身份证(国家驾驶执照或身份证,军事身份证等)的清晰复印件;
  7. 如果您是身份盗用的受害者,请提供一份警察报告,调查报告的副本,或向执法机构投诉有关身份盗用的副本。

 

作为安全冻结的替代方法,您有权免费在文件上放置初始或扩展的“欺诈警报”。初始欺诈警报是放置在消费者信用档案中的一年警报。在消费者的信用文件上看到欺诈警报显示后,企业需要在扩展新信用之前采取步骤来验证消费者的身份。如果您是身份盗用的受害者,则您有权获得延长的欺诈警报,该警报持续7年。如果您想发出欺诈警报,请联系以下任一机构:

 

 

益百利

邮政信箱9554

艾伦,TX 75013

1-888-397-3742

www.experian.com/fraud/center.html

创联

邮政信箱2000

宾夕法尼亚切斯特,19016

1-800-680-7289

www.transunion.com/fraud-victim-resource/place-fraud-alert

Equifax

邮政信箱105069

乔治亚州亚特兰大30348

1-888-766-0008

www.equifax.com/personal/credit-report-services

 

您可以通过与消费者报告机构,联邦贸易委员会或州总检察长联系,进一步了解身份盗用,欺诈警报,安全冻结以及可以采取的保护自己的步骤。

可以通过以下地址与美国联邦贸易委员会联系:600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW,华盛顿特区20580, www.identitytheft.gov,1-877-ID-THEFT(1-877-438-4338); TTY:1-866-653-4261。联邦贸易委员会还鼓励那些发现自己的信息被滥用的人向他们投诉。您可以通过上面列出的联系信息获取有关如何提出此类投诉的更多信息。如果您遇到身份盗用或欺诈,则有权提交警察报告。请注意,为了向执法部门举报有关身份盗用的报告,您可能需要提供一些证明自己是受害者的证据。已知或怀疑的身份盗用事件也应报告给执法部门和您所在州的总检察长。可以通过以下方式与纽约州总检察长联系:总检察长办公室,国会大厦,奥尔巴尼,纽约12224-0341; 1-800-771-7755; https://ag.ny.gov/。通知没有被执法机构延迟。   

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin
分享到pinterest
分享到print
分享到email

相关文章

简体中文
English Español de México 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 简体中文
滚动到顶部

We can help you improve your finances, and remove barriers to economic security—all for free. Working with a NYLAG financial counselor and coach will help you pay off debt, manage your personal finances more efficiently, navigate through financial crises, and build long-term financial stability.

fbpx

Notice of Data Event

On September 8, 2020 The New York Legal Assistance Group (“NYLAG”) discovered unusual activity in an employee email account. We immediately launched an investigation with the assistance of a third-party computer forensic investigator to determine the full nature and scope of what occurred. Through this investigation, we determined that an unknown actor gained access to certain employee email accounts between August 15, 2020 and September 24, 2020. Once we identified these email accounts, we performed a password reset for the entire organization.

The confidentiality, privacy, and security of information in our care is one of our highest priorities. Upon discovering this incident, we moved quickly to investigate and put additional security measures in place to further protect information. The investigation determined the following type of information may have been contained in the email accounts: name, Social Security number, driver’s license or other government issued ID number, financial account information, username and password, and payment card information. 

What you can do: In an abundance of caution, we are notifying potentially impacted individuals and are offering identity protection services at no cost as an added precaution. If you have questions about this incident you can call 1-212-659-7492 from 8:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Eastern Time. Potentially affected individuals may also consider the information and resources outlined below.

What did NYLAG do once they learned of the incident? Immediately after learning of the incident we  launched an investigation to determine the full nature and scope of what occurred.  We also implemented additional security measures to further protect information. Although we are unaware of any actual or attempted misuse of any information, we are providing notice of this incident out of an abundance of caution. We also encourage individuals who believe they may be impacted by this incident to contact our dedicated assistance line, above, for additional information, including information about free credit monitoring and identity protection services we are making available.         

Monitor Your Accounts

We encourage potentially impacted individuals to remain vigilant against incidents of identity theft and fraud by reviewing their accounts, explanations of benefits, and credit reports for suspicious activity, and to report any suspicious activity to the affiliated institutions immediately. 

 

Under U.S. law you are entitled to one free credit report annually from each of the three major credit reporting bureaus.  To order your free credit report, visit www.annualcreditreport.com or call, toll-free, 1-877-322-8228.  You may also contact the three major credit bureaus directly to request a free copy of your credit report.

 

You have the right to place a “security freeze” on your credit report, which will prohibit a consumer reporting agency from releasing information in your credit report without your express authorization.  The security freeze is designed to prevent credit, loans, and services from being approved in your name without your consent.  However, you should be aware that using a security freeze to take control over who gets access to the personal and financial information in your credit report may delay, interfere with, or prohibit the timely approval of any subsequent request or application you make regarding a new loan, credit, mortgage, or any other account involving the extension of credit.  Pursuant to federal law, you cannot be charged to place or lift a security freeze on your credit report.  Should you wish to place a security freeze, please contact the major consumer reporting agencies listed below:

 

Experian

P.O. Box 9554

Allen, TX 75013

1-888-397-3742

www.experian.com/freeze/center.html

 

TransUnion

P.O. Box 160

Woodlyn, PA 19094

1-888-909-8872

www.transunion.com/credit-freeze

Equifax

P.O. Box 105788

Atlanta, GA 30348-5788

1-800-685-1111

www.equifax.com/personal/credit-report-services

 

 

 

In order to request a security freeze, you will need to provide the following information:

  1. Your full name (including middle initial as well as Jr., Sr., II, III, etc.);
  2. Social Security number;
  3. Date of birth;
  4. If you have moved in the past five (5) years, provide the addresses where you have lived over the prior five years;
  5. Proof of current address, such as a current utility bill or telephone bill;
  6. A legible photocopy of a government-issued identification card (state driver’s license or ID card, military identification, etc.);
  7. If you are a victim of identity theft, include a copy of either the police report, investigative report, or complaint to a law enforcement agency concerning identity theft.

 

As an alternative to a security freeze, you have the right to place an initial or extended “fraud alert” on your file at no cost.  An initial fraud alert is a one year alert that is placed on a consumer’s credit file.  Upon seeing a fraud alert display on a consumer’s credit file, a business is required to take steps to verify the consumer’s identity before extending new credit.  If you are a victim of identity theft, you are entitled to an extended fraud alert, which is a fraud alert lasting seven years.  Should you wish to place a fraud alert, please contact any one of the agencies listed below:

 

 

Experian

P.O. Box 9554

Allen, TX 75013

1-888-397-3742

www.experian.com/fraud/center.html

TransUnion

P.O. Box 2000

Chester, PA 19016

1-800-680-7289

www.transunion.com/fraud-victim-resource/place-fraud-alert

Equifax

P.O. Box 105069

Atlanta, GA 30348

1-888-766-0008

www.equifax.com/personal/credit-report-services

 

You can further educate yourself regarding identity theft, fraud alerts, security freezes, and the steps you can take to protect yourself, by contacting the consumer reporting agencies, the Federal Trade Commission, or your state Attorney General.

The Federal Trade Commission can be reached at: 600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20580, www.identitytheft.gov, 1-877-ID-THEFT (1-877-438-4338); TTY: 1-866-653-4261. The Federal Trade Commission also encourages those who discover that their information has been misused to file a complaint with them. You can obtain further information on how to file such a complaint by way of the contact information listed above. You have the right to file a police report if you ever experience identity theft or fraud.  Please note that in order to file a report with law enforcement for identity theft, you will likely need to provide some proof that you have been a victim.  Instances of known or suspected identity theft should also be reported to law enforcement and your state Attorney General. The New York Attorney General the Attorney General may be contacted at: Office of the Attorney General, The Capitol, Albany, NY 12224-0341; 1-800-771-7755; https://ag.ny.gov/. This notice has not been delayed by law enforcement.   

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top