fbpx
An old picture of a young woman and an older woman who's wearing eye glasses.

“视而不见”:法院延误导致纽约市死者家属陷入金钱困境

弗吉尼亚·布雷恩(Virginia Breen)
城市 

当冠状病毒措施使皇后宫代孕法院的大部分诉讼程序中断时,考特尼·博迪(Courtney Boddie)已完成了必要的文书工作,以解决母亲的财产。

“最初,我想,'好吧,我们已经等了这么久了,所以我并没有太担心。”现年42岁的西42街新胜利剧院的教育和学校参与总监鲍迪说。

“但是现在我已经在这些文件上坐了五个多星期,处于一种待办状态,无法处理母亲的财产,而且我承担的费用也无法缓解。”

Boddie的情况并非罕见:数千名在冠状病毒大流行中失去家人和朋友的纽约人无法获得必要的资金或获得合法的权力来监督其财产,而该州的统一法院系统则停止了除“基本”法律之外的所有法律诉讼。

截至4月28日,COVID-19夺走了17,000多名城市居民的生命。根据市卫生和心理卫生部的数据,在大流行之前,纽约市平均每天有145人死亡。 统计.

该市报道了与冠状病毒相关的死亡 于4月7日达到813点的峰值.

倡导者说,每一次死亡的连锁反应都可能将财务影响扩大到纽约人不断扩大的圈子。

“虽然每种情况都将针对所涉及的家庭,但他们可能会支付合作社或公寓的费用,仓储费以及任何需要使用房地产基金的费用,”该机构公共利益部门主管玛丽亚·亨特(Maria Hunter)说。非营利组织 纽约法律援助小组,并指出,即使在停产之前,房地产和解也可能需要数月或数年的时间。

亨特说,她的办公室刚刚收到该州统一法院系统的来信,要求就优先恢复哪些法院职能的工作提出意见。

亨特说:“法院正在努力找出哪些问题对我们的客户至关重要。” “房地产问题绝对必要。”

'耐心一点'

当一个人 有意愿 去世,指定的执行人处理遗产。当一个人在没有遗嘱的情况下死亡时,法院将任命一名管理人员,通常是最近的亲戚。

遗产管理人的 职责 包括收集不动产的资产和债务,要求提供IRS识别号以及为不动产开立帐户。他们还必须偿还死者的债务,丧葬费,应收遗产税,最后将剩余的所有资产分配给尚存的家庭。

但是,该州的统一法院系统目前不将遗产管理视为“必要。”

法院发言人卢西安·查尔芬(Lucian Chalfen)告诉《城市报》,几乎在全州范围内处理的紧急事件包括刑事或家庭法院程序,例如提审,保护令,令状,保护儿童和家庭犯罪案件。

他说:“就像在大流行的所有其他方面一样,人们必须耐心等待。” “随着当前形势的不断发展,我们一直与所有各种法律实践保持沟通,并意识到他们的许多担忧。”

在4月27日的录像中 声明 在州法院网站上,首席法官珍妮特·迪菲尔(Janet DiFiore)指出,有168名法官和法院工作人员对COVID-19的检测呈阳性,有些还没有幸存。

迪菲奥雷说:“其中一半以上是我们的制服部队的成员,他们强调他们面临的风险以及他们表现出的勇气,他们每天都报告要努力保持我们的法院开放。” “不幸的是,我们心爱的法官和专业人员中的一些人已经摆脱了由病毒引起的并发症。”

DiFiore指出,法院意识到扩大虚拟访问权限的必要性,并成立了一个由司法举措副首席行政法官Edwina Mendelson法官领导的小组来研究解决方案。

她说:“他们将很快向他们汇报他们的建议,”但没有提供具体日期。

但是,每天法院出庭时间的延迟都会增加Boddie和类似情况下人的财务焦虑。

死亡证明书错误

Boddie的折磨始于12月,当时她的母亲Queens Village的居民Roselynn Boddie在拿骚县一家医院去世,享年81岁。收到死亡证明后,她发现了许多错误,包括错误的社会安全号码。

她说:“我必须纠正它,最终要花10个星期。”

到颁发修订证书时,该城市已经被冠状病毒感染。 3月16日,法院 停止 除了基本服务。

监督遗嘱认证和遗产管理的代孕法院已关闭,除紧急情况外,所有其他案件均已关闭。 Boddie无法提交书面文件成为她母亲的财产的管理人。

“同时,我必须自掏腰包支付她的抵押贷款和其他账单,”住在布鲁克林的Boddie说,他每周远程工作40多个小时。

她说:“我有点中产阶级,但我不能保证如果继续下去,我会找到一份工作。” “在支付她的遗产费用和我自己的费用之间,我将面临一个选择吗?

她补充说:“除了悲伤和损失之外,无法前进或控制任何事情只会使问题更加复杂。” “通过哪些服务来支持人们?官僚机构要求以某种方式处理某些事情,但是像谁在家中有扫描仪呢?系统需要改变。”

资源:

纽约法律援助小组 敦促任何有紧急法律问题的人致电其COVID-19法律资源 热线(929) 356-9582.

•LawHelpNY.org,一个帮助低收入纽约人的在线工具,还提供冠状病毒 资源 页。

•同时,城市律师司法中心的规划与遗产法律项目(PELP)提供免费, 远程法律协助 代表纽约市的一线医疗保健工作者,准备预谋文件,包括遗嘱,授权书,候补监护人的指定以及医疗代理。

最初发表于 城市 2020年4月29日。

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin
分享到pinterest
分享到print
分享到email

相关文章

简体中文
English Español de México 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 简体中文
滚动到顶部

为了应对COVID-19危机,我们仍在努力工作,我们的进气管已经开放,但是请注意,我们的物理办公室已关闭。

在这空前的时期,我们启动了免费的NY COVID-19法律资源热线,并编制了最新的法律和财务咨询更新。

fbpx
An old picture of a young woman and an older woman who's wearing eye glasses.

‘No Relief In Sight’: Court Delays Cause Money Woes For Families Of NYC Deceased

By Virginia Breen
The City 

Courtney Boddie had completed the necessary paperwork to settle her mother’s estate when coronavirus measures halted most proceedings in Queens Surrogate Court.

“At first I figured, ‘Well, we already waited this long,’ so I didn’t really get too concerned,” said Boddie, 45, director of education and school engagement for the New Victory Theater on West 42 Street.

“But now I have been sitting on these papers for over five weeks and am in a holding pattern where I can’t deal with my mother’s estate and I’m incurring expenses with no relief in sight.”

Boddie’s situation is hardly unique: Thousands of New Yorkers who’ve lost family and friends amid the coronavirus pandemic are unable to access necessary funds or receive the legal authority to oversee their estates while the state’s Unified Court System has halted all but “essential” legal proceedings.

As of April 28, COVID-19 had claimed the lives of more than 17,000 city residents. On an average day in New York City — before the pandemic — about 145 people die, according to city Department of Health and Mental Hygiene statistics.

Coronavirus-related deaths reported in the city peaked on April 7 at 813.

The ripple effect of each of those deaths may extend the financial impact to an ever-widening circle of New Yorkers, advocates say.

“While each situation will be specific to the family involved, they may be paying co-op or condominium fees, storage fees, any number of fees that require access to estate funds,” said Maria Hunter, director of the public benefits unit for the nonprofit New York Legal Assistance Group, noting that estate settlements could take months or years “even before the shutdown.”

Hunter said her office had just received a letter from the state’s Unified Court System asking for input on prioritizing which court functions need to be restored.

“The courts are trying to figure out what issues are vital for our clients,” Hunter said. “Estate matters are absolutely essential.”

‘Be Patient’

When a person with a will dies, the named executor handles the estate. When a person dies without a will, the court appoints an administrator, generally the nearest relative.

The estate administrator’s duties include gathering an estate’s assets and debts, requesting an IRS identification number, and opening an account for the estate. They must also pay off the deceased’s debt, funeral expenses, taxes due on the estate, and then, finally, distribute any remainder of the assets to the surviving family.

The state’s Unified Courts System, however, currently does not consider estate administration as “essential.”

Lucian Chalfen, a spokesperson for the courts, told THE CITY that emergency matters being handled virtually statewide include criminal or family court proceedings such as arraignments, orders of protection, writs, child-protective and family-offense cases.

“Just like in all other aspects of the pandemic, people have to be patient,” he said. “We are in constant communication with all of the various legal practices as the current situation continues to evolve and are aware of many of their concerns.”

In an April 27 videotaped statement on the state courts’ website, Chief Judge Janet DiFiore noted that 168 judges and court staff had tested positive for COVID-19, and that some had not survived.

“More than half of them are members of our uniformed forces, underscoring the risks they face, and the courage they show, in reporting to work every day to keep our courts open,” DiFiore said. “Tragically, several of our beloved judges and professional staff have passed away from complications caused by the virus.”

DiFiore noted that the courts were aware of the need to expand virtual access and had created a group, headed by Judge Edwina Mendelson, deputy chief administrative judge for justice initiatives, to investigate solutions.

“And they will be reporting back with their recommendations shortly,” she said, without offering a specific date.

But each day of delayed court access adds to the financial anxiety of Boddie and those in similar situations.

Death Certificate Errors

Boddie’s ordeal began in December, when her mother, Roselynn Boddie, a resident of Queens Village, died at age 81 in a Nassau County hospital. When she received the death certificate, she noticed a number of errors, including the wrong Social Security number.

“I had to get that corrected and that ended up taking 10 weeks,” she said.

By the time the amended certificate was issued, the city was already being hit by the coronavirus. On March 16, the courts halted all but essential services.

The Surrogate’s Court, which oversees the probate of wills and the administration of estates, has been shuttered for all but emergency cases. Boddie could not file the paperwork to become administrator of her mother’s estate.

“In the meantime, I’m having to pay her mortgage and other bills out of pocket,” said Boddie, who lives in Brooklyn and has been working 40-plus hours a week remotely.

“I’m kind of in the middle class, but I can’t guarantee that I’ll have a job if this continues,” she said. “Will I face a choice then between paying her estate costs and my own expenses?

“On top of the grief and the loss, the inability to move forward or to control anything just compounds the issue,” she added. “Where are the services to support people through this? Bureaucracy dictates certain things get processed a certain way, but like, who even has a scanner at home? Systems need to change.”

RESOURCES:

New York Legal Assistance Group urges anyone with pressing legal issues to call its COVID-19 Legal Resources Hotline at (929) 356-9582.

• LawHelpNY.org, an online tool for helping low-income New Yorkers, also offers a coronavirus resources page.

• The City Bar Justice Center’s Planning & Estates Law Project (PELP), meanwhile, provides free, remote legal assistance to New York City front-line health care workers in preparing advance-planning documents including wills, powers of attorney, designations of standby guardians and health care proxies.

Originally published in The City on April 29, 2020.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top
Picture of a Council Member

Council Member

Francisco Moya

Picture of a NYLAG attorney

NYLAG’s Supervising Attorney

Abby Biberman

Public Benefits & Homeless Shelter Access Amid COVID-19

Missed the Live Q&A? Watch the Pre-Recorded Video on Facebook now.

Today at 12 PM, EST

Receive answers on:

  • public assistance,
  • pandemic EBT,
  • SNAP (food stamps),
  • shelter access,
  • and more!