fbpx
image of a grocery store window with a sign stating it accepts SNAP benefits.

紐約人無法在COVID-19期間獲得食物,健康和現金利益

即時發布  
聯繫: [email protected] | C: 917.771.9845

由於缺乏技術,HRA系統和應用程序故障,電話線負擔過重以及缺乏替代的應用方法,目前成千上萬的低收入紐約人無法獲得重要的公共利益

紐約,紐約–今天,包括紐約法律服務中心,法律援助協會,紐約法律援助組織(NYLAG)和城市司法中心的安全網項目在內的法律服務組織針對以下報告發表了以下聯合聲明:人力資源管理(HRA)系統故障,例如缺乏對技術的訪問權限和替代的應用方法。這實際上使成千上萬的低收入紐約人無法獲得SNAP等重要的公共利益,而他們需要在COVID-19危機中生存:

“對於成千上萬的紐約人來說,獲得食物券,現金援助和醫療保健實際上是生死攸關的問題,他們的生活因COVID-19危機而被顛倒了。我們的客戶和所有低收入家庭,只要有資格並需要這些重大利益,就必須能夠在不加重技術差距的情況下獲得這些利益,而這只會加劇種族和經濟差異。

“由於紐約人的生活太多,HRA拒絕提供替代的申請方法和案件管理。我們敦促de Blasio市長和HRA優先考慮受影響的社區,我們期待著與HRA和城市合作,因為我們將繼續幫助我們的客戶嘗試申請流程。”

背景:

成千上萬的低收入紐約人有資格獲得併通過HRA的在線門戶Access HRA獲得重要的公共利益。但是,許多符合條件的人沒有智能手機,計算機,也無法使用穩定的wifi,或者無法使用此類設備,並且由於COVID-19大流行期間的公共衛生準則,他們目前都只能在家中使用。

對於年長,極低收入,無家可歸,殘障人士或說英語的人來說,通常不可能在線申請福利。即使是那些能夠使用Access HRA的人,也會遇到錯誤消息,頻繁的系統中斷以及其他技術障礙,從而阻止他們完成申請流程或提交完成申請所需的文檔。同時,HRA的中央電話線(HRA信息線)不堪重負,試圖完成所需的面試或獲取有關其應用或福利的重要信息的個人在與工作人員聯繫之前就已經掉線。

無法提交這些文件或無法完成這些採訪可能會導致福利被拒絕,並且個人需要再次完成30-45天的申請流程。由於公共衛生危機,HRA的大多數中心都關閉了,我們的客戶甚至在獲取和提交書面申請方面都遇到了困難。

儘管HRA官員和紐約市試圖通過重新分配現有員工並增加資源來解決這些問題,但這些步驟不足以確保所有紐約人,無論能力,獲取技術和主要語言,都能申請並獲得公共援助福利。 HRA必須超越在線系統的範圍,以吸引更多需要幫助的人,並建立更好的系統來接收應用程序和文檔,並解決構成問題和疑慮。

倡導者提出了常識性的解決方案,例如:

  • HRA創建一個電子郵件地址來接收應用程序和客戶文檔,尤其是因為HRA的傳真機反复無法接收文檔;
  • 增加InfoLine的人員配備;
  • 增加專門用於處理應用程序的人員;
  • 在工作中心或市區其他地方建立聯繫人員,以回答問題並為InfoLine以外的應用提供支持;和
  • 使用郵資已付的回郵信封在每個DHS和HRA庇護所以及其他面向客戶的服務地點(例如DOE的食品分發地點)提供紙質申請,或者採用非接觸方式供申請人提交申請。

此外,紐約市必須解決因COVID-19導致的中心關閉,並確保受影響的社區在解決這一公共衛生危機後儘快重新開放所有目前關閉的SNAP,Job和Medicaid中心。

關於NYLAG

紐約法律援助組織(NYLAG)成立於1990年,是一家領先的非營利性民間法律服務組織,倡導陷入貧困或低收入的成年人,兒童和家庭。我們解決了威脅客戶經濟穩定,福祉和安全的法律挑戰和系統性障礙。我們致力於實現多樣性,公平性和包容性,並不斷改進我們對影響客戶追求正義的種族主義系統性問題的反應方式。我們通過全面,免費的民事法律服務,直接代理,影響訴訟,政策倡導,財務諮詢,醫療法律合作夥伴關係以及社區教育和合作夥伴關係來滿足新出現的緊急需求。去年,我們影響了90,800人的生活。了解更多 nylag.org。 

###

分享這個帖子

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 linkedin
分享在 pinterest
分享在 print
分享在 email

相關文章

繁體中文
English Español de México 简体中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 繁體中文
滾動到頂部

為了應對COVID-19危機,我們仍在努力工作,我們的進氣管已經開放,但是請注意,我們的物理辦公室已關閉。

在這空前的時期,我們啟動了免費的NY COVID-19法律資源熱線,並編制了最新的法律和財務諮詢更新。

fbpx
image of a grocery store window with a sign stating it accepts SNAP benefits.

New Yorkers Not Able to Access Food, Health, and Cash Benefits During COVID-19

For Immediate Release  
Contact: [email protected] | c: 917.771.9845

Thousands of low-income New Yorkers are currently unable to access vital public benefits due to lack of technology, HRA system and app failures, overburdened phone lines, and lack of alternative application methods

New York, NY – Today, legal service groups including Legal Services NYC, The Legal Aid Society, New York Legal Assistance Group (NYLAG), and the Safety Net Project at the Urban Justice Center, issued the following joint statement in response to mounting reports of Human Resources Administration (HRA) system failures, such as lack of access to technology and alternative application methods. This has effectively denied thousands of low-income New Yorkers access to critical public benefits, like SNAP, that they need to survive during the COVID-19 crisis:

“Access to food stamps, cash assistance, and health care is literally a matter of life or death for thousands of New Yorkers whose lives have been turned upside down by the COVID-19 crisis. Our clients and all families making low-income who are eligible and need these vital benefits must be able to obtain those benefits without technological barriers in the application process that only reinforce racial and economic disparities.

“There are too many New Yorkers’ lives on the line for HRA to refuse to provide alternative application methods and case management. We urge Mayor de Blasio and HRA to prioritize impacted communities and we look forward to partnering with HRA and the city as we continue to help our clients try to navigate the application process.”

BACKGROUND:

Thousands of low-income New Yorkers are eligible for and access vital public benefits through HRA’s online portal, Access HRA. However, many eligible individuals live without smartphones, computers, or access to consistent wifi, or are unable to use such devices, and they are all currently confined to their homes due to public health guidelines during the COVID-19 pandemic.

It is often impossible for those who are elderly, extremely low-income, street homeless, disabled, or limited English speakers to apply for benefits online. Even those who are able to use Access HRA encounter error messages, frequent system outages, and other technological barriers, preventing them from completing the application process or submitting documents required to complete their applications. Meanwhile, HRA’s central phone line (the HRA InfoLine) is overwhelmed with calls, and individuals trying to complete required interviews or get vital information about their applications or benefits are having their calls dropped before ever connecting with a worker.

The inability to submit these documents or complete these interviews can result in benefits being denied and an individual needing to complete the 30-45 day application process all over again. With the majority of HRA’s centers closed as a result of the public health crisis, our clients are having difficulties even obtaining and submitting paper applications.

While HRA officials and New York City have attempted to address these problems by reassigning existing staff and adding more resources, these steps are simply not enough to ensure that all New Yorkers, regardless of ability, access to technology, and primary language, are able to apply for and access public assistance benefits. HRA must move beyond the online system to reach more people in need and to set up better systems to receive applications and documentation and address constituent questions and concerns.

Advocates have suggested common-sense solutions such as:

  • HRA creating an email address to receive applications and client documentation, especially since HRA’s fax machines repeatedly fail to receive documents;
  • increase InfoLine staffing;
  • increase staffing dedicated to processing applications;
  • establishing contact persons located in Job Centers or elsewhere in the boroughs to answer questions and provide support for applications outside of the InfoLine; and
  • making paper applications available at every DHS and HRA shelter and other client-facing service sites (such as the DOE’s food distribution locations) with a postage-paid return envelope, or implementing a contactless way for applicants to submit applications.

Additionally, the City must address the center closures resulting from COVID-19, and assure impacted communities that all of the currently shuttered SNAP, Job, and Medicaid centers will be reopened as soon as this public health crisis has been resolved.

About NYLAG

Founded in 1990, the New York Legal Assistance Group (NYLAG) is a leading not-for-profit civil legal services organization advocating for adults, children, and families that are experiencing poverty or have low income. We tackle the legal challenges and systematic barriers that threaten our clients’ economic stability, well-being, and safety. We are committed to diversity, equity, and inclusion and constantly improving how we respond to systemic issues of racism that affect our clients in their pursuit of justice. We address emerging and urgent needs with comprehensive, free civil legal services, direct representation, impact litigation, policy advocacy, financial counseling, medical-legal partnerships, and community education and partnerships. Last year, we affected the lives of 90,800 people. Learn more at nylag.org. 

###

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

Image of a group of people with garbage bags outside a hotel.

Homeless New Yorkers Belong in Hotels Now

In this New York Daily News op-ed, NYLAG’s Deborah Berkman asserts the benefits of placing those experiencing homelessness in hotels and denounces residents of NY’s Upper West Side who deem this placement as a threat.

Read More »
English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, we are still working hard and our intake lines are open, but please note that our physical office is closed.

During these unprecedented times, we’ve launched a free NY COVID-19 Legal Resources Hotline and compiled the latest legal and financial counseling updates.