fbpx
Mia-Yim-in-front-of-blue-background

倖存的家庭暴力:WWE的Mia Yim令人難以置信且可信

米婭·伊姆(Mia Yim)在2016年以倖存者身分挺身而出時,為摔跤界帶來了家庭暴力的意識。自從講述了她的故事以來,她已經與WWE(世界摔角娛樂公司)簽約,並成為他們的“婦女革命”的新興人才。她還為其他倖存者發出了強有力的聲音。

在戒指上,她戴上了紫色的戒指和指甲(向家庭暴力運動的顏色致敬)。她被稱為“……從混凝土中長出的玫瑰”,這是一個克服了虐待成為自己領域明星的女性的合適名字。

在我們的營銷與營銷總監Brian Pacheco(也是Mia的朋友)的下方,與Mia談論了她的過去,她給倖存者的信息以及NYLAG的#IamCredible活動。

布萊恩:我為您所做的一切感到驕傲!你是一個靈感。讓我們跳進去。作為家庭暴力倖存者,您面臨哪些法律挑戰?

MIA: 虐待後我沒有立即舉報,因為我不敢讓法律制度參與其中,我也希望情況會好起來。但是虐待升級了,我知道我需要安全地走出去。這就是為什麼我提出保護令。 

他/她說的時候總是很掙扎。而且因為我是一名摔跤手,所以我覺得任何瘀傷都可以用這種方式來解釋。我覺得我是幸運的人之一,實際上並不需要解決執法方面的疑問。但是自從提出我的故事以來,我已經聽到了許多倖存者的聲音,對他們而言並非如此。法律體系需要接受有關倖存者敏感講話的培訓,因為當我們挺身而出時,我們是如此脆弱。任何不敏感的評論都會使我們閉嘴而不尋求幫助。

布萊恩:當你挺身而出時,人們相信你嗎?他們認為您可信嗎? 

MIA: 遭受虐待的朋友們自己相信我,因為他們看到了這些跡象。我正在孤立自己。我不開心我的家人也相信我,因為我沒有像過去那樣表現自己。但是,我前任的許多朋友都不相信我。他們以為我不知道我在說什麼或在誇大其詞。許多人認為,因為我肌肉發達,而且摔跤手認為這不可能發生在我身上。我不符合家庭暴力倖存者的刻板印象。 

(圖:Brian Wacheco,Mia Yim和共同的朋友Jordan Mendez在WWE NXT秀的後台)

布萊恩:你在WWE上格鬥。人們認為您身體強壯。當您透露自己是倖存者時,這是否影響了人們如何看待您的主張? 

MIA: 絕對。我收到很多“你為什麼不反擊?”實際上是我嘗試從社交媒體上的人們那裡獲得的。對於一個身體比我強壯的男人,我只能做很多事情。但是WWE對我來說真是太神奇了。兩年前,當我與他們進行第一次演出時,他們以我的家庭暴力故事為特色。粉絲們會來找我,說我很勇敢或透露自己受到虐待。這是我康復過程的重要組成部分。 

布萊恩:您對其他倖存者有何訊息?對於整個社會? 

MIA: 對於倖存者: 沉默是施虐者的最佳武器。如果您感到準備好並且安全,請考慮大膽嘗試,尋求幫助。當我開放時得到的支持讓我感到驚訝。老實說,我沒想到。即使感覺自己與世隔絕,愛你的朋友和家人也會一直在你身邊。可以打開並尋求幫助。如果您的親人不支持您,請撥打熱線電話,或訪問當地的家庭暴力組織。 

對於社會: 倖存者挺身而出需要很大的勇氣。如果有人向您透露信息,請不要質疑他們,只需驗證他們的故事並給予支持即可。 

布萊恩:您如何看待NYLAG和#IamCredible廣告活動?

MIA: 我很欣賞NYLAG的律師和律師助理接受過創傷方面的培訓。我還讚賞這些服務是免費的,因為許多施虐者控制著受害者的財務,有些倖存者因為無法獲得財務資源而無法離開。

我認為#IamCredible活動非常重要。因此,當倖存者透露自己時,我們常常不相信我們,或者讓我們感到自己是造成我們的。這場運動將倖存者的責任轉移到其他地方,並在許多阻止倖存者訴諸司法的系統上展開對話。

布萊恩:寫下這句話,“我是可靠的,因為……”

MIA: 我是可靠的,因為我是倖存者。我代表在公眾眼中或對自己所愛的人表現出強烈影響但在私下中遭受虐待威脅的人們。沒有刻板印象的受害者。無論性別,種族,性取向等如何,任何人都可能發生。#IamCredible可向所有倖存者發出聲音。分享你的故事!

了解更多 nylag.org/IamCredible

分享這個帖子

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 linkedin
分享在 pinterest
分享在 print
分享在 email

相關文章

繁體中文
English Español de México 简体中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 繁體中文
滾動到頂部

為了應對COVID-19危機,我們仍在努力工作,我們的進氣管已經開放,但是請注意,我們的物理辦公室已關閉。

在這空前的時期,我們啟動了免費的NY COVID-19法律資源熱線,並編制了最新的法律和財務諮詢更新。

Menu
Mia-Yim-in-front-of-blue-background

Surviving domestic violence: WWE’s Mia Yim is incredible and credible

Mia Yim brought awareness of domestic violence to the wrestling world in 2016 when she came forward as a survivor. Since telling her story, she has signed with the WWE (World Wrestling Entertainment) and has emerged as a rising talent of their “women’s revolution.”  She has also served as a powerful voice for other survivors.

In the ring, she has donned purple ring gear and fingernails (a nod to the color of the domestic violence movement). She is referred to as “…the Rose that grew from concrete,” a fitting moniker for a woman that overcame abuse to become a star in her field.

Below our Director of Communications & Marketing, Brian Pacheco (also Mia’s friend), talks with Mia about her past, her message for survivors, and NYLAG’s #IamCredible campaign.

BRIAN: I’m so proud of everything you’re doing! You’re an inspiration. Let’s jump into it. What are some the legal challenges you faced as a domestic violence survivor?

MIA: I didn’t report immediately after the abuse because I was scared to get the legal system involved, and I also hoped things would get better. But the abuse escalated, and I knew I needed to get out, and safely. That’s why I filed an order of protection. 

It’s always a struggle when it’s he said/she said. And because I’m a wrestler I felt like any bruising I had could be explained by that. I feel like I am one of the lucky ones that didn’t really have to deal with doubts from law enforcement. But since coming forward with my story, I’ve heard from so many survivors that this wasn’t the case for them. The legal system needs training on speaking sensitively to survivors because when we come forward, we’re so vulnerable. Any insensitive comment can make us close up and not seek help.

BRIAN: Did people believe you when you came forward? Did they think you were credible? 

MIA: Friends that had experienced abuse themselves believed me because they saw the signs. I was isolating myself. I wasn’t happy. My family believed me, too, because I wasn’t acting the way they were used to. However, many of my ex’s friends did not believe me. They assumed I didn’t know what I was talking about or was exaggerating. Many people thought because I was muscular and a wrestler that this couldn’t happen to me. I didn’t fit the stereotype of what a survivor of domestic violence looks like. 

(Pictured: Brian Pacheco, Mia Yim, and mutual friend Jordan Mendez backstage at a WWE NXT Show)

BRIAN: You wrestle in the WWE. People see you as physically strong. Did this impact how people viewed your claims when you disclosed you are a survivor? 

MIA: Absolutely. I received a lot of “Why didn’t you fight back?” from people on social media when in reality I tried. There’s only so much I could do against a man who was physically stronger than me. But WWE has been amazing to me. When I did my first show with them two years ago, they featured my domestic violence story. And fans would come up to me and say I was brave or disclosed their own abuse. It’s been a big part of my healing process. 

BRIAN: What’s your message for other survivors?  For society at-large? 

MIA: For survivors: Silence is the abuser’s best weapon. If you feel ready and safe, consider speaking up, try getting help. I was surprised at the amount of support I received when I opened up. I honestly didn’t expect it. Even if it feels like you have isolated yourself, the friends and family who love you will always be there for you. It’s OK to open up and ask for help. And if your loved ones don’t support you, call a hotline, or visit a local domestic violence organization. 

For society: It takes a lot of courage for a survivor to come forward. If someone discloses to you, don’t question them, just validate their story and give them support. 

BRIAN: What do you think about NYLAG and the #IamCredible campaign?

MIA: I admire that NYLAG’s lawyers and paralegals are trained in trauma. I also appreciate that services are free because many abusers control their victim’s finances and some survivors can’t leave because they don’t have access to financial resources.

I think the #IamCredible campaign is very important. So often when survivors disclose we’re not believed or are made to feel like we caused it. This campaign shifts the blame away from survivors and opens a conversation on the many systems that prevent survivors from accessing justice.

BRIAN: Finish this sentence, “I am credible because…”

MIA: I am credible because I am a survivor. I stand for the people who appear strong in the public eye, or to their loved ones, but who experience the horrors of abuse in private. There is no stereotypical victim. It can happen to anyone regardless of gender, race, sexual orientation etc. The #IamCredible gives voice to all survivors. Share your story!

Learn more at nylag.org/IamCredible

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

We stand with ALL survivors

NYLAG is fighting for survivors—of sexual harassment at work, of forced marriage in one’s country of origin, of sexual assault in the U.S. military, and many others.

Read More »
Scroll to Top