fbpx
iStock-1079961158-min

医疗补助削减将伤害创伤幸存者,癌症幸存者,祖父母和儿童(遇见他们)

州长Cuomo的Medicaid重新设计小组的建议 削减医疗补助金将使成千上万的老年人,残疾人甚至儿童面临危险。削减将剥夺他们的生命和医疗上必要的长期护理。

上个月,谁能忘记这位患有老年痴呆症的老妇人独自在纽约市外走走,然后冻死的故事呢?这个故事背后的可悲真相?她需要更多的护理,而她的MLTC(长期护理管理)计划拒绝了该护理。 现在,在冠状病毒大流行期间,风险最高的人(老人和其他健康状况不佳的人)将被当作俄罗斯轮盘赌来玩。

好消息是采取行动还为时不晚,您可以在此处了解如何. 但是我们必须立即采取行动。

与以下人员见面,他们将受到这些削减的严重伤害:

消除重度残疾儿童的“配偶拒绝”或“父母拒绝”会伤害真正的人,例如:

 

癌症幸存者。 曼哈顿下东区66岁的克里斯蒂娜·H(Cristina H)在1990年代进行了五轮子宫颈癌手术后,无法回到她的特殊教育老师的工作。她的社会保险费是每月$1735,她的丈夫是老兵,每月可以获得$2400 /。他一半以上的收入用于支付前妻的配偶support养费,而这笔补助金无法通过Medicaid扣除。他们每月$1440的租金和生活费用耗尽了他们的其余收入。拒绝配偶后,凯茜有资格参加Medicare储蓄计划,该计划支付她的B部分保费,每月节省$144.60,并且有资格获得额外帮助,这将她的处方费用从$1,531 /年减少到o $150 /每年。在她65岁之前(当时她不符合NYS EPIC处方补助计划的资格),这一点甚至更为重要。

虔诚的丈夫和他的爱妻。 多萝西和安东尼–拿骚县希克斯维尔–现在95岁的多萝西2年前需要家庭护理,因为她的丈夫安东尼现年94岁,无法再照顾她的24/7。她卧床不起,患有晚期痴呆,大小便失禁和吞咽困难,他们的合并资产$45,000处于配偶贫困资源限额$75,000之内,但首次申请医疗补助时,仅允许$23,100的资产用于一对。安东尼还拒绝了配偶的收入。他们的综合社会保障金为$1941 /月,此外,他还从年金中提取了$15,000,以支付$6,277的物业税和其他账单,这使他的收入在当年申请医疗补助时显得较高。如果没有配偶拒绝收入和资产,即使桃乐茜参加了MLTC,安东尼的收入和资产都在配偶贫困的范围之内,但桃乐丝将被拒绝医疗补助。

患有复杂疾病的儿童也是如此。 Serena,9岁,位于皇后区东艾姆赫斯特。
当她的父亲获得更好的工作后,当他们唯一的孩子的SSI终止时,纽约大学Rusk研究所就提到了这个拉丁美洲家庭。 Serena因为患有Guillain Barre而处于四肢瘫痪状态,在呼吸机上并且气管切开术需要抽吸。她通过主流Medicaid管理的护理计划获得CDPAP护理。父亲的年收入约为$54,000(约250% FPL),对于孩子来说太高了,无法通过《平价医疗法案》获得MAGI Medicaid的资格,但对于家庭来说,支付孩子所需的看护费用还远远不够。如果父亲使用“父母拒绝”,她可以保留医疗补助。这仅是暂时需要的,因为她很可能有资格申请“儿童豁免”,这不会计入父母的收入。但这可能要花费数月甚至更长的时间,与此同时,家长拒绝可以确保关键医疗和家庭护理的连续性。而且,CDPAP服务可以节省州政府的钱,因为它们只是私人值班护士成本的一小部分,否则,这是必需的,因为

如果对基于家庭和社区的护理进行5年的回溯,那么真实人将被拒绝获得医疗补助,例如:

 

一个女人奋力抗击帕金森氏病。 梅格于1999年被诊断出患有帕金森氏症,当时她只有43岁。多年来,她的症状恶化了,最终,如果没有家庭护理,她将无法继续独立生活。她每年将自己的积蓄$40,000花费在私人家庭护理上。到2017年10月,她用尽了除$50,000之外的所有股票,并将其连同布鲁克林的合作公寓转移到了信托中。然后,她申请了Medicaid,并加入了MLTC。她的病情持续恶化,而且帕金森氏病的症状逐渐消失,症状再次出现或变幻莫测,因此,她需要增加24小时分班家庭护理。在计划增加她的工作时间的几个月中,她使用转移的资金为她的MLTC工作时间增加了私人护理。如果有过罚,她将被拒绝获得医疗补助,并被迫花掉多余的资产,使得这些资产在她紧急需要时无法补充她的需求。那可能会使她进入医院或疗养院。

一位患有痴呆症的母亲。 艾米(Amy)的女儿因癌症去世并离开她的$200,000,享年93岁。女儿过世后不久,艾米在家里摔倒了,住院了,然后在亚急性康复中,她的公寓被水淹没了。由于无法返回她失事的公寓,艾米的幸存孩子将她搬到了布朗克斯的辅助生活设施中,每月收费$5000,这通常是家庭中没人负担的。艾米将已故女儿的$200,000转移给了她的儿子,儿子在过去三年中用这笔资金来支付该设施的费用。随着痴呆症的发展,艾米申请医疗补助家庭护理来满足她的广泛需求,而辅助生活设施无法提供这种帮助。如果艾米(Amy)申请医疗补助计划时会有回望之情,那么她将不得不离开辅助生活并去疗养院。她现在已经接近96岁,在家庭护理的辅助生活中仍然得到了很好的照顾。

如果符合资格要求“有限的需求”来进行两项以上的日常生活活动(ADL)的援助,那么真正的人们将被拒绝家庭护理,其中包括:

 

创伤幸存者。 KB,45岁-伊利县-KB因游泳事故而导致癫痫发作,额叶和执行功能不足,这是由于游泳事故造成的,当时船没看见她,她被钉在岩石上。她每周有20个小时的消费者指导个人协助,而母亲是主要的个人助理。虽然缓慢的步态基本稳定,但由于脑脊液漏出经常引起头晕,她需要监督,这种漏液会通过耳朵和鼻子排出。其他症状会导致健忘和持续的头痛,导致她在做饭后就离开炉子,忘记吃药,跌入淋浴间等等。她的需求主要是监督,监督和指导所有家务,准备饭菜和购物,管理药物,洗澡,穿衣和个人卫生,上厕所以及接送医疗服务。她容易疲劳,在活动中必须经常休息。未经CDPAP批准进行监督和暗示,KB将有遭受严重伤害的风险。

祖母打架性痴呆和精神分裂症。 妮塔·阿(Nita A)是居住在布朗克斯区的一位69岁的拉丁裔女性,患有痴呆症,精神分裂症,糖尿病和失禁。她白天要去高级中心,而MLTC则在晚上和晚上批准了一名助手来协助她进行日常生活活动(ADL)。在高级中心落下住院后,她的家人意识到在没有助手的帮助下她在高级中心并不安全,并要求MLTC计划将其工作时间增加到24小时。该计划拒绝了该请求,称她仅需要“安全监控”,而无需使用ADL。由于她的认知障碍,必须提醒Nita上厕所后使用助步车并保持适当的卫生,并且在走路时需要“接触防护”帮助-有人在附近徘徊以根据需要提供支持。妮塔最终回到医院,现在正在疗养院。她的NYLAG拥护者刚刚赢得公正的听证会,她指挥MLTC计划增加工作时间,以便她可以出院回家。如果修改法律以将资格限制为需要身体帮助的人,Nita将被迫留在疗养院。 ADL的“提示和提示”援助与防止伤害的身体援助一样重要。

不需要有资格获得家庭护理的“真正的人”来证明其在社区中生活的权利,而不是被迫进入疗养院,尤其是:

 

与痴呆症隔离的高级。 艾琳(Eileen),现年83岁,纽约州鲍德温(Baldwin NY)-艾琳(Eileen)独居,患有严重的痴呆症,过去几年曾多次住院治疗-2016年骨盆骨折,2017年因冻伤离开家后变得迷路在严寒的天气里呆了几个小时。 2018年8月,她终于准备好在冻伤受伤后从康复设施回家。出院后,她的MLTC计划仅授权每天7个小时的家庭护理,而她的家人则自愿为家庭提供额外的护理,以支付他们的经济困难。一个月后,上诉成功,要求MLTC将家庭护理增加到24/7。需要提醒她在意想不到的时间冲动起来走路时要使用助行器,这是该疾病的特征。她需要提示和提示以提醒她如何使用厕纸(而不是将其塞入衣服中),以及如厕后要洗手。如果在评估消费者是否有两个ADL需求时仅计算了“有限”而非“监督”协助的需求,那么她将被拒绝家庭护理,并被迫留在疗养院。如果使用“增强的使用情况审查”,评估人员可能会决定她不能“安全地”住在家里,并迫使她进入疗养院,即使她通过这种服务成功地生活在社区中。

一个管理多种慢性疾病的女性。 由于走动问题和多种慢性病,黛安大部分时间都被限制在她的家中。这是她想住的地方。她既有Medicare,也有Medicaid,并且参加了长期管理护理。她被批准每天12小时供家庭保健人员使用:他们购物,洗衣服,打扫她的公寓,帮助洗澡和做饭。如果她不再有资格获得医疗补助家庭服务,那么她唯一的选择就是养老院。她是一名经过认证的长期护理申诉专员,她说疗养院的情况令人震惊。她不会去,说她宁愿死在家里做疏于照顾,也不愿去养老院。

要求使用两个ADL进行家庭护理的提议所伤害的任何同一个人都可以在“使用情况审查”中找到,无法“安全地”在家中生活。

查看更多将在纽约州遭受伤害的真实人的例子 这里.

准备采取行动来帮助阻止将伤及上述真正人民的医疗补助削减吗? 请访问nylag.org/MedicaidCuts以了解操作方法。

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin
分享到pinterest
分享到print
分享到email

相关文章

简体中文
English Español de México 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 简体中文
滚动到顶部

为了应对COVID-19危机,我们仍在努力工作,我们的进气管已经开放,但是请注意,我们的物理办公室已关闭。

在这空前的时期,我们启动了免费的NY COVID-19法律资源热线,并编制了最新的法律和财务咨询更新。

fbpx
iStock-1079961158-min

Medicaid Cuts Will Harm Trauma Survivors, Cancer Survivors, Grandparents, & Kids (Meet Them)

Governor Cuomo’s Medicaid Redesign Team’s proposed Medicaid cuts will put thousands of seniors, people with disabilities, and even children at risk. The cuts will deprive them of life-saving and medically necessary long-term care.

Last month, who could forget the story of the elderly woman with dementia walking outside on her own in New York City, only to freeze to death? The sad truth behind this story? She needed more care that was denied by her MLTC (managed long-term care) plan. Now, during the coronavirus pandemic, those most at risk (seniors and others with compromised health) will have their health played as a game of Russian roulette.

The good news is that it’s not too late to take action, you can learn how here. But we have to act NOW.

Meet the people below who would be significantly harmed by these cuts:

Eliminating “spousal refusal” or “parental refusal” for children with severe disabilities harms REAL PEOPLE, like:

 

A CANCER SURVIVOR. Cristina H, age 66, Lower East Side, Manhattan, could not return to her work as a special education teacher after five rounds of surgery for cervical cancer in the 1990’s. Her Social Security is $1735 per /month and her husband, a veteran, receives $2400/ per month. More than half of his income pays spousal support to his ex-wife, which is not deductible by Medicaid. Their rent of $1440/month and living expenses eat up the rest of their income. With spousal refusal, Cathy qualifies for the Medicare Savings Program, which pays her Part B premium, saving $144.60 per month, and qualifies her for Extra Help, which reduces her prescription costs from $1,531/year to o $150/ per year. This was even more vital before she turned 65, when she was not eligible for the NYS EPIC prescription subsidy program.

A DEVOTED HUSBAND AND HIS AILING WIFE. Dorothy and Anthony – Hicksville, Nassau County – Dorothy, now 95, needed home care 2 years ago because her husband Anthony, now 94, could no longer care for her 24/7. She is bed-bound, with advanced dementia, incontinent and difficulty swallowing.Their combined assets of $45,000 were within the spousal impoverishment resource limit of $75,000 but when first applying for Medicaid, only $23,100 in assets are allowed for a couple. Anthony also used spousal refusal for his income. Their combined Social Security was $1941/month, plus he had drawn $15,000 from his annuity to pay property taxes of $6,277 and other bills, which skewed his income to appear higher that year for the Medicaid application. Without spousal refusal for both income and assets, Dorothy would have been denied Medicaid, even though once enrolled in an MLTC, Anthony’s income and assets were within the spousal impoverishment limits.

CHILDREN WITH COMPLICATED ILLNESSES, TOO. Serena, age 9, East Elmhurst, Queens.
The NYU Rusk Institute referred this Latino family when their only child’s SSI was discontinued when her father obtained a better job. Serena is quadriplegic since having Guillain Barre, is on a ventilator and has a tracheostomy that requires suctioning. She has CDPAP care through a mainstream Medicaid managed care plan. The father’s income of around $54,000/year (around 250% FPL) is too high for the child to qualify for MAGI Medicaid through the Affordable Care Act, but is far from enough for the family to pay the cost of care the child needs. She can keep Medicaid if her father uses “parental refusal.” This will be necessary only temporarily – as she is likely eligible to apply for the Children’s Waiver, which will not count the parents’ income. But that could take months or longer, and in the meantime Parental Refusal ensures continuity of critical medical care and home care. Also, CDPAP services save the State money, as they are a fraction of the cost of a Private Duty Nurse that would otherwise be necessary because

REAL PEOPLE would be denied Medicaid if a 5-year lookback is imposed on Home and Community Based Care, people like:

 

A WOMAN COURAGEOUSLY BATTLING PARKINSON’S DISEASE. Meg was diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease in 1999, when she was just 43. Over the years her symptoms worsened, and eventually she could not continue to live independently without home care. She spent down her savings $40,000 per year for private home care. By October 2017 she had exhausted all but $50,000 in stocks, which she transferred along with her co-op apartment in Brooklyn into a trust. She then applied for Medicaid and enrolled in MLTC. Her condition continued to progress, and as is typical, the Parkinson’s meds wear off and symptoms re-emerge or worsen unpredictably, so she needed an increase to 24-hour split shift home care. During the months it took for the plan to increase her hours, she used the transferred funds to supplement her MLTC hours with private care. Had there been a transfer penalty, she would have been denied Medicaid and forced to spend down her excess assets, making them unavailable to supplement her needs later when she urgently needed them. That would likely have landed her in the hospital or a nursing home.

A MOTHER WITH DEMENTIA. Amy was 93 with dementia when her daughter died of cancer and left her $200,000. Shortly after her daughter’s passing, Amy fell at home, was hospitalized and then, while in sub-acute rehab, her apartment flooded. Unable to return to her wrecked apartment, Amy’s surviving children moved her into an Assisted Living Facility in the Bronx which charged $5000 per month, which ordinarily no one in the family could afford. Amy had transferred her deceased daughter’s $200,000 to her son, who has used the funds to pay for the facility for the last 3 years. Amy applied for Medicaid home care to meet her extensive needs as her dementia has progressed, assistance which the assisted living facility does not provide. Had there been a lookback when Amy applied for Medicaid, she would have had to leave the assisted living and go to a nursing home. She is now nearly age 96 and still well cared for in the assisted living with home care.

REAL PEOPLE would be denied Home Care if Eligibility requires a “Limited Need” for assistance with more than two Activities of Daily Living (ADLs), including:

 

A TRAUMA SURVIVOR. KB, age 45 – Erie County – KB has a seizure disorder and frontal lobe and executive function deficit, caused by a swimming accident, when a boat did not see her and she was pinned to rocks. She has 20 hours/week of Consumer Directed Personal Assistance, for which her mother is the main personal assistant. While her slow gait is mostly steady, she needs supervision because of frequent dizziness from a cerebral spinal fluid leak that drains through her ears and nose. Other symptoms lead to forgetfulness and constant headaches, which have led her to leave her stove on after cooking, forget her medications, fall in the shower, and more. Her needs are primarily for supervision, oversight and cuing for all household tasks, meal preparation and shopping, managing medication, bathing, dressing and personal hygiene, toileting, and taking transportation to medical appointments. She is easily fatigued and has to take frequent rest periods during activities. Without the approval of CDPAP for supervision and cuing, KB would be at severe risk of harm.

A GRANDMOTHER BATTLING DEMENTIA AND SCHIZOPHRENIA. Nita A, a 69 year-old Latinx woman living in the Bronx – has dementia, schizophrenia, diabetes, and incontinence. She was going to her Senior Center during the day and MLTC approved an Aide for the evening and nights to assist her with her Activities of Daily Living (ADLs). After being hospitalized after falling at the Senior Center, her family realized she was not safe at the senior center without an aide’s assistance, and asked the MLTC plan to increase her hours to 24 hour care. The plan denied the request, claiming she needed only “safety monitoring” not assistance with ADLs. Due to her cognitive impairment, Nita must be reminded to use her walker and to perform proper hygiene after toileting, and needs “contact guarding” assistance when she walks –someone hovering close by to give support as needed. Nita ended up back in the hospital and is now in a Nursing Home. Her NYLAG advocate just won her fair hearing directing the MLTC plan to increase her hours so that she can be discharged home. If the law is changed to restrict eligibility to those needing physical assistance, Nita would be forced to remain in the nursing home. “Cueing and prompting” assistance with ADLs is just as crucial as physical assistance to prevent injury.

Don’t Require REAL PEOPLE, who qualify for home care, to justify their right to live in the community rather than be forced into nursing homes, especially:

 

ISOLATED SENIOR WITH DEMENTIA. Eileen, age 83, – Baldwin NY – Eileen, who lives alone and has severe dementia, has been hospitalized multiple times in the past few years — in 2016 for a broken pelvis, and in 2017 due to frostbite after leaving her home, becoming lost for hours in frigid weather. In August 2018, she was finally ready for discharge home from a rehabilitation facility after the frostbite injury. Upon discharge, her MLTC plan authorized only 7 hours/day of home care, which her family voluntarily supplemented by paying for additional care, at financial hardship to them. A month later, an appeal was successful requiring the MLTC to increase home care to 24/7. She needs to be reminded to use her walker when she impulsively gets up to walk at unexpected times, as is characteristic of the disease. She requires prompting and cueing to remind her how to use toilet paper (instead of stuffing it into her clothing), and to wash her hands after toileting. If only the need for “limited” and not “supervisory” assistance counted when assessing if the consumer has two ADL needs, she would be denied home care and forced to remain in a nursing home. If “enhanced utilization review” is used, an assessor might decide she cannot “safely” live at home, and force her into a nursing home, even though with such services she is living successfully in the community.

A WOMAN MANAGING MULTIPLE CHRONIC ILLNESSES. Diane is confined to her home most of the time due to ambulatory issues and multiple chronic illnesses. This is where she wants to live. She has both Medicare and Medicaid and is enrolled in Managed Long-Term Care. She is approved for a home health care worker 12hours/day: they shop, do laundry, clean her apartment, help with bathing, and make meals. If she no longer could qualify for Medicaid home services, her only option would be a nursing home. She was a certified long-term care ombudsman and she says the conditions in nursing homes are horrific. She will not go and says she would rather die in her home do to neglect than go to a nursing home.

Any of the same people hurt by the proposal to require two ADLs for home care could be found on “utilization review” to be unable to “safely” live at home.

See more examples of real people who will be hurt around New York State here.

Ready to take action to help stop Medicaid cuts that will hurt the REAL PEOPLE above? Visit nylag.org/MedicaidCuts to learn how.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top
Picture of a Council Member

Council Member

Francisco Moya

Picture of a NYLAG attorney

NYLAG’s Supervising Attorney

Abby Biberman

Public Benefits & Homeless Shelter Access Amid COVID-19

Missed the Live Q&A? Watch the Pre-Recorded Video on Facebook now.

Today at 12 PM, EST

Receive answers on:

  • public assistance,
  • pandemic EBT,
  • SNAP (food stamps),
  • shelter access,
  • and more!