fbpx
Landlords fear 'whole universe of people' won't pay rent April 1

房东担心“整个人的世界”不会支付房租4月1日

布莱恩·帕斯库斯(Brian Pascus)
克雷恩的纽约业务

区域 房东 对拟议的暂停租金持坚定态度。业主争辩任何类型的 广泛的措施 可能导致 付款未付.

Brach Eichler的房地产律师,新泽西州和宾夕法尼亚州东部的80多栋建筑物的所有者和经营者Alan Hammer说:“我认为不应暂停所有付款。”为了使系统正常工作,您不能只用宽笔刷绘画。该系统需要金钱。”

但是那笔钱可能在星期三干dry,因为天租金已经到期。

纽约法律援助组织的乔纳森·福克斯说:“将有一大堆人,他们将在4月1日不支付房租。”

上周,美国劳工部宣布超过80,500人申请失业救济。正如克雷恩的 已报告,预计该经济各部门将近10%的工人(500,000人)将很快失业。估计 130,000名餐厅工人 已经失去了工作。

州长安德鲁·库莫(Andrew Cuomo)于3月19日为受Covid-19影响的人暂停了90天的抵押贷款付款。但是,该暂停不适用于针对房地产的商业房地产贷款。州长还暂停了90天的商业和住宅租户驱逐,以缓和一些人的恐惧,他们担心在大流行期间将租户和企业主赶到街上。

业主尤其认为,任何形式的暂停租金对整个经济都有可怕的影响。

哈默说,在公寓业中,房东并没有把全部租金收入囊中。抵押贷款占收入的20%至40%,公用事业成本占15%。然后是5月1日到期的季度税,以及各种可帮助市政当局支付教师和公共安全费用的房地产税。

他说:“很多租金都回到了系统中。” “这不像我们将其全部带回家。”

Rosenberg&Estis的房地产律师黛比·里格尔(Debbie Riegel)表示,将房客无力偿还房东的债务,将导致房东无法偿还贷款人或为城市和州缴税作出贡献。

里格尔说:“州基础房地产的许多地方都免收房租税。” “当税收不是来自商业或多户家庭财产时,这意味着其他类别的纳税人需要将其提取。这意味着将负担转移到其他纳税人和市政当局。”

行业专家的担忧并没有阻止州参议院的一位议员提倡暂停租金。本月,迈克·吉安娜瑞斯(Mike Gianaris)议员提出了一项法案,该法案将为因危机而失业的人们提供90天的租金宽恕。该法案还将适用于小型企业,其中包括将抵押宽恕扩大到陷入困境的房东。

Gianaris说:“我认为这是第一步,而不是最后一步。” “我试图从阶梯的底部开始,为最需要帮助的人提供一些保护,并希望减轻整个州的着陆。”

他说,任何更广泛的经济后果,无论是对贷方还是房东,房地产公司还是投资者,都应由联邦政府处理。

他说:“我认为,如果银行陷入困境,我们当然可以期望联邦政府像十年前一样介入。” “联邦政府不会倾向于把重点放在普通工人身上。”

其他人似乎在跟随Gianaris的领导。他说,他在州参议院已经有22个共同提案国,佛蒙特州的美国参议员伯尼·桑德斯(Bernie Sanders)在推特上发布了对该法案的支持。上周,市长比尔·德布拉西奥(Bill de Blasio)说,他将与该州“立即”合作,中止租金指南程序,此举将使他获得冻结租金的法律授权。

加纳尼斯(Gianaris)说,库莫(Cuomo)可以简单地通过行政命令发出租金暂停令,并说他将在明天参议院开会对预算进行投票时,将这项法案推给他的同事们。

尽管该措施对租户可能有意义,但财产所有者及其拥护者团结一致反对Gianaris的帐单和de Blasio的租金冻结。

布鲁克林的九座建筑物的所有者克里斯·阿西内诺斯(Chris Athineos)说:“当我们不知道这种病毒的程度时,州参议员现在就提出某种法案是不负责任的。” “我们不知道我们是否会在两个月或六个月内恢复工作。”

Hammer指出,租户现在一直在家里。他说,当他们需要固定管道时,房东必须支付管道工的费用。如果某人的暖气无法正常工作,则房东是必须修理的人。

他说:“这对每个可以花钱并付账单的人都是有帮助的。”

最初发表于 克雷恩的纽约业务 2020年3月30日。

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin
分享到pinterest
分享到print
分享到email

相关文章

简体中文
English Español de México 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 简体中文
滚动到顶部

为了应对COVID-19危机,我们仍在努力工作,我们的进气管已经开放,但是请注意,我们的物理办公室已关闭。

在这空前的时期,我们启动了免费的NY COVID-19法律资源热线,并编制了最新的法律和财务咨询更新。

fbpx
Landlords fear 'whole universe of people' won't pay rent April 1

Landlords Fear ‘Whole Universe of People’ Won’t Pay Rent April 1

By Brian Pascus
Crain’s New York Business

Area landlords are up in arms about a proposed rent moratorium. Property owners argue any type of broad measure could lead to a domino effect of missed payments.

“I don’t think there should be a moratorium on all payments,” said Alan Hammer, a real estate attorney at Brach Eichler, and owner and operator of more than 80 buildings in New Jersey and eastern Pennsylvania. “For the system to work, you can’t just paint with a broad brush. The system needs money in it.”

But that money might dry up Wednesday, the day rent is due.

“You’re going to have a whole universe of people who will not pay their rent on April 1,” said Jonathan Fox of the New York Legal Assistance Group.

Last week the state Department of Labor announced more than 80,500 people applied for unemployment benefits. As Crain’s has reported, nearly 10% of the city’s workers—500,000 people—across all sectors of the economy are expected to be unemployed soon. An estimated 130,000 restaurant workers already have lost their jobs.

Gov. Andrew Cuomo on March 19 suspended mortgage payments for 90 days for those affected by Covid-19. The suspension does not apply to commercial real estate loans against a property, however. The governor also put a moratorium on evictions for commercial and residential tenants for 90 days, calming the fears of some, who feared tenants and business owners would be put out on the street during the pandemic.

Property owners in particular view any form of a rent moratorium as having a dire impact on the broader economy.

Hammer said that in the apartment business, landlords don’t pocket all the rent. Mortgages take up 20% to 40% of the income, and utility costs take 15%. Then there’s quarterly tax due May 1, as well as various real estate taxes that help municipalities pay for teachers and public safety.

“A lot of that rent money goes back into the system,” he said. “It’s not like we take it all home.”

Debbie Riegel, a real estate lawyer at Rosenberg & Estis, says shifting a tenant’s inability to pay to landlords will create a situation of landlords unable to pay their lenders or contribute to the city and state tax rolls.

“Many places in the state base property tax off rent rolls,” Riegel said. “When the tax revenue isn’t coming from commercial or multiple-family properties, it means the other classes of taxpayers need to pick it up. It means shifting the burden to other taxpayers and municipalities.”

Industry experts’ concerns aren’t stopping one member of the state Senate from promoting a rent moratorium. This month Sen. Mike Gianaris put forward a bill that would offer 90 days of rent forgiveness to those who have lost work due to the crisis. The bill also would apply to small businesses and include the extension of mortgage forgiveness to landlords in distress.

“I view this as a first step, not a last step,” Gianaris said. “I’m trying to start at the bottom of the ladder and provide some protection for people who are most in need, and hopefully soften the landing for the entire state.”

He said any broader economic consequence, whether to lenders or landlords, real estate companies or investors, should be handled by the federal government.

“I think if banks are in distress, we can certainly expect the federal government to step in, as they did over 10 years ago,” he said. “The federal government doesn’t tend to focus on the average working person.”

Others seem to be following Gianaris’ lead. He said he already has 22 cosponsors in the state Senate, and U.S. Sen. Bernie Sanders of Vermont has tweeted out support of the bill. Last week Mayor Bill de Blasio said he would be working with the state “immediately” to suspend the rent guidelines process, a move that would give him the legal authorization to freeze rent payments.

Gianaris said a rent moratorium could be issued by Cuomo simply by executive order, and said he will push the bill to his colleagues tomorrow, when the Senate is in session to vote on the budget.

Although the measure might make sense to tenants, property owners and their advocates are united against Gianaris’ bill and de Blasio’s rent freeze.

“I think it’s irresponsible for a state senator to put out some kind of bill right now when we don’t know the extent of this virus,” said Chris Athineos, owner of nine buildings in Brooklyn. “We don’t know if we’ll be back to work in two months or six months.”

Hammer noted that tenants are now at home all the time. When they need a pipe fixed, he said, landlords must pay the plumber. If someone’s heat isn’t working, the landlord is the one who must pay to have it fixed.

“It would be helpful for everyone who can spend money and pay bills to do it,” he said.

Originally published in Crain’s New York Business on March 30, 2020.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

Eileen Connor (left) and Toby Merrill of the Harvard Law School's Project on Predatory Student Lending Photograph courtesy of the Project on Predatory Student Lending

“Attacking the Concept of Debt”

In this Harvard Magazine article, NYLAG’s Jessica Ranucci proclaims explicitly prospective litigation is needed to overcome the litigation challenges in the for-profit college industry.

Read More »
Image of a group of people with garbage bags outside a hotel.

Homeless New Yorkers Belong in Hotels Now

In this New York Daily News op-ed, NYLAG’s Deborah Berkman asserts the benefits of placing those experiencing homelessness in hotels and denounces residents of NY’s Upper West Side who deem this placement as a threat.

Read More »
English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, we are still working hard and our intake lines are open, but please note that our physical office is closed.

During these unprecedented times, we’ve launched a free NY COVID-19 Legal Resources Hotline and compiled the latest legal and financial counseling updates.