fbpx
Woman with her hands over her eyes. She looks distressed.

“现在为退休而储蓄毫无意义”

夏洛特·考尔斯(Charlotte Cowles)
那个切口

我是一个50岁的单身妈妈(我的孩子正在读研究生),我全职工作。我仍在工作,但担心自己的工作安全。我有一个应急基金,但恐怕还不够。我有一张信用额度尚未降低的信用卡(至今),并且 一种 离婚给我很大的帮助。我为公司的401(k)计划做出了应有的贡献,但我仍然没有付出太多。我开始为退休存钱,直到三十多岁。我的问题是,我是否应该继续略微节省401(k)的积蓄,以便在应急基金和债务偿还方面取得更快的进展?现在为退休储蓄似乎毫无意义。

当您正确地执行所有操作时,这很累,而且还不够。当您的迫切需求迫在眉睫时,为退休储蓄也很可笑。但事实是,最好的选择是保持原样,并制定应急计划,以防万一。

为了集思广益,我给纽约法律援助小组的高级财务顾问凯瑟琳·克鲁珀特打电话。她确认您的情况没有灵丹妙药,但您的直觉是正确的。 “在您的债务和应急基金之间,鉴于经济形势和事实,我认为节省更多现金是重中之重。 您的信用额度可以随时降低,“ 她说。 “重要的是要准备三到六个月的费用,特别是如果您是父母的话。”

这听起来似乎无法实现,而且您的进度将不是线性的;耐心一点。同时,请记住:“如果您丢了工作,您将不必用紧急储蓄来补贴所有开支,您大概也将获得失业救济金,”克鲁珀特说。这些收益检查不足以靠自己生活,而几乎可以肯定的是 难以进入。但这可能会让您放心 计算您的失业救济金等于,然后制定预算,整合您的紧急储蓄,以计算出如果需要可以失业多久。我确实希望这仍然是假设,但制定特定的最坏情况方案可以使您对不确定的未来有一定的控制感。

为您的应急基金做数学运算还可以让您更好地了解需要逐步储蓄多少才能达到您满意的数字。不断地想着:“我还没有足够的储蓄”将保证您的焦虑,但是却想:“如果我每周多节省$40美元,到12月,我将节省两个月的开支。”为您提供了一个计划。模糊是这里的敌人。旨在采取现实,具体的步骤。

当然,您还需要考虑会议室中的其他两个财务大猩猩:您的退休储蓄和债务。 Krumpter建议您至少(绝对是准时)继续进行最低信用卡付款,以尽可能提高信用评分。同时,继续使用退休储蓄做您想做的事-您肯定想贡献出足够的钱来获得公司的相应福利(毕竟是免费的)。然后,一旦您有了紧急资金的更坚实基础,就将希望偿还债务,并尽一切可能增加退休储蓄。

克鲁珀特还提到了一些您可能正在考虑但应避免的替代性财务举动;它们比您现在所要做的都要冒险。首先,您不应该尝试用401(K)储蓄中的钱来偿还债务,这听起来似乎很诱人,但如果您被解雇,将使您处于非常不利的境地(您将全力以赴。您立即借入的金额,否则将被计为取款,并且会受到高额的罚款)。

暂时搁置的另一个想法-但值得在不那么动摇的情况下尝试-减轻债务 到余额转帐卡上 在一段时间(通常为12到18个月)内没有利率。这种策略有助于摆脱债务,但取决于您必须在有限的时间内还清余额,否则利率会复仇的事实。如果您担心自己的工作安全,那么现在不是遵守惩罚时间表的最佳时机。克鲁珀特说:“为了使这种选择有意义,您必须准备按时偿还所有债务。” “否则,您可能会回到今天的位置。”因此,请将其保存以备后用,并保持尽可能高的信用评分,以使其成为一种选择。

最后,您的退休储蓄-我同意您不应该ski漏。但是您也有很多竞争的优先事项,因此,如果您距离自己想要的目标还很远,请不要打败自己。晨星公司(Morningstar)个人理财总监克里斯汀·本茨(Christine Benz)曾经告诉我,“金融多任务”从未真正结束。她说:“我们一生都在努力实现多个财务目标,关键是要对此感到满意。”

我想象自己的钱流入(或者说是滴滴,让我们成为现实)多个锅,而且我一直在不断调整插头。它需要关注,时间,耐心,有时还需要专业帮助。您提到您开始为退休存钱了;我不确定您有多远,但是可能值得与仅收费的财务顾问会面以获得长期计划。 Krumpter推荐 使用这个数据库 寻找一个人,或与提供财务规划资源的当地非营利组织保持联系, 像她一样.

还有一点需要注意:谢谢您,离婚协议已经解决了。但是,如果您不得不再次支付律师费,请不要将其放在信用卡上。您的律师也许可以与您一起制定不涉及高利率的付款计划。

我知道,在财务上处于弱势是令人不安的。但是请记住,您现在还可以,并且您也正在采取所有正确的步骤来将来也可以。

最初发表于 那个切口 2020年10月1日。

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin
分享到pinterest
分享到print
分享到email

相关文章

简体中文
English Español de México 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 简体中文
滚动到顶部

为了应对COVID-19危机,我们仍在努力工作,我们的进气管已经开放,但是请注意,我们的物理办公室已关闭。

在这空前的时期,我们启动了免费的NY COVID-19法律资源热线,并编制了最新的法律和财务咨询更新。

fbpx
Woman with her hands over her eyes. She looks distressed.

‘It Feels Pointless to Save for Retirement Now’

By Charlotte Cowles
The Cut

I’m a 50-year-old single mom (my kid is in grad school) and I work full time. I’m still employed but scared about my job security. I have an emergency fund, but I’m afraid that it isn’t big enough. I have one credit card with a limit that hasn’t been lowered (yet) and a big balance from my divorce. I contribute just enough to my company’s 401(k) plan to get the match, but I’m still not putting very much away. I started saving for retirement late, not until my mid-30s. My question is, should I continue to skimp on my 401(k) savings in order to make faster progress on my emergency fund and debt repayment? It just seems pointless to save for retirement right now.

It’s exhausting when you’re doing everything right and it’s still not enough. It also feels ridiculous to save for retirement when your immediate needs are so much more pressing. But the truth is, your best option is to stay the course you’re on and make a contingency plan in case things go sideways.

To brainstorm your options, I called Kathleen Krumpter, a senior financial counselor for the New York Legal Assistance Group. She confirmed that there’s no silver bullet for your situation, but your instincts are on point. “Between your debt and your emergency fund, I think saving up more cash is a bigger priority given the economic climate and the fact that your credit limit could be lowered at any time,” she said. “It’s important to have three to six months’ worth of expenses on hand, especially if you’re a parent.”

That may sound like an unachievable amount, and your progress won’t be linear; be patient. In the meantime, remember: “If you lose your job, you won’t have to subsidize all of your expenses with your emergency savings — you will presumably receive unemployment benefits, too,” said Krumpter. Those benefit checks won’t be enough to live off on their own, and they will almost certainly be difficult to access. But it may ease your mind if you calculate what your unemployment benefits would amount to, and then work out a budget, integrating your emergency savings, to figure out how long you could go without a job if you had to. I truly hope this remains hypothetical, but having a specific worst-case-scenario plan can give you a sense of control over an uncertain future.

Doing the math for your emergency fund will also give you a better picture of how much more you need to save, gradually, in order to hit a number you’re comfortable with. Constantly thinking, “I haven’t saved enough” will guarantee anxiety, but thinking, “If I save $40 extra dollars a week, I’ll have two months’ worth of expenses saved by December” gives you a plan. Vagueness is the enemy here. Aim for realistic, concrete steps.

Of course, you also need to consider the two other financial gorillas in the room: your retirement savings and your debt. Krumpter recommends that you continue making your minimum credit-card payments at the very least (and definitely on time) to prop up your credit score as much as possible. And meanwhile, keep doing what you’re doing with your retirement savings — you definitely want to contribute enough to get your company’s matching benefits (it’s free money, after all). Then, once you’re on more solid footing with your emergency fund, you’ll want to pay down your debt and boost your retirement savings with all that you can spare.

Krumpter also mentioned some alternative financial moves that you may be considering but should avoid; they are all much riskier than what you’re doing now. To start, you should not try to borrow money against your 401(K) savings to pay your debt, which might sound tempting but puts you in a very bad position if you get laid off (you’ll be on the hook for the full amount you borrowed, immediately, or it’ll count as a withdrawal and you’ll get hit with a big tax penalty).

Another idea to put off for now — but one that’s worth trying down the road in less shaky circumstances — is rolling your debt onto a balance transfer card with no interest rate for a period of time, usually 12 to 18 months. This tactic can be helpful for getting rid of debt, but it hinges on the fact that you must pay off the balance within the limited period, or else the interest rate comes back with a vengeance. If you’re worried about your job security, now isn’t the best moment to commit to a punishing timeline. “You have to be ready to pay down all of that debt, on time, for that option to make sense,” said Krumpter. “Otherwise you could just be back in the same position that you’re in today.” So, save this for later, and keep your credit score as high as possible so that it remains an option.

And finally, your retirement savings — I agree that you shouldn’t skimp. But you also have a lot of competing priorities, so don’t beat yourself up if you aren’t as far along as you want to be. Christine Benz, the director of personal finance at Morningstar, once told me that “financial multitasking” never really ends. “We’re all juggling multiple financial goals throughout our lives, and the key is to get comfortable with that,” she said.

I picture my own money flowing (or sometimes trickling, let’s be real) into multiple pots, and I’m constantly adjusting the spigots. It takes attention, time, patience, and sometimes professional help. You mentioned that you started saving for retirement late; I’m not sure how far behind you are, but it might be worth meeting with a fee-only financial adviser to get a long-term plan. Krumpter recommended using this database to find one, or getting in touch with a local nonprofit group that offers financial planning resources, like hers.

One more note: It sounds like your divorce settlement is done, thank goodness. But if you ever have to pay legal fees again, try not to put them on your credit card, Krumpter advised. Your lawyer may be able to work out a payment plan with you that won’t involve sky-high interest rates.

It’s nerve-racking to be financially vulnerable, I know. But remember, You are okay right now, and you’re taking all the right steps to be okay in the future, too.

Originally published in The Cut on October 1, 2020.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, we are still working hard and our intake lines are open, but please note that our physical office is closed.

During these unprecedented times, we’ve launched a free NY COVID-19 Legal Resources Hotline and compiled the latest legal and financial counseling updates.