fbpx
Silhouettes of people

見識:需要種族平等,訴諸司法的公益性跨文化培訓

Caprice R.Jenerson著
彭博稅收

通過種族平等和跨文化框架構建的公益計劃可以幫助顛覆壓迫制度,從而使有色人種,即黑人,能夠有意義地訴諸司法。紐約州立大學洛杉磯分校的第一任首席股權和包容性官員Caprice R. Jenerson說,跨文化培訓可以使基本上是白人的無償律師了解遭受苦難的人和貧困人口所面臨的創傷,壓迫,系統性不平等和根本原因。顏色。

在廣大社區對正義,公平和種族平等的呼聲日益高漲之際,律師事務所正在尋求法律服務提供商的幫助。

大多數人問他們如何支持因公民抗命而被捕的示威者,因為這是最明顯的可行步驟。儘管這項工作意義重大,但其影響並未達到我們法律體系中根深蒂固的系統種族主義。

真正的行動號召是法律服務提供者和律師事務所以發掘和顛覆壓迫制度的方式進行合作,以使有色人種,即黑人,能夠有意義地訴諸司法。切實地講,公益計劃必須使用種族平等和跨文化框架來構建。

在紐約法律援助小組(我是首席股權和包容性官員兼無償和志願服務部主任),我們為主要是貧困人群和有色人種的客戶提供免費的民事法律服務。我們現有的基礎架構使我們能夠聘請無償律師,並提供培訓,資源和監督,以協助他們代表面臨民事法律危機的客戶。

但是,由於目睹執法人員不斷殺害黑人而導致種族緊張局勢加劇,而這場大流行已經奪去了不計其數的黑人和棕色人的生命,我們有機會審查我們現有的程序對我們所處的時代做出回應

具體來說,黑人生活的非人性化與圍繞貧困,訴諸司法和在法律制度中的代表性的民事法律正義主題相交。

無償律師大多是白人;跨文化培訓是絕對必要的

那麼,如果我們將現有的公益性基礎設施與跨文化框架結合起來,公益性法律代表會發生什麼?

從歷史上看,無償律師大多是白人,培訓主要集中在實體法律和程序上。了解客戶的生活經驗與無償律師之間的差異,跨文化培訓是絕對必要的。它使無償律師能夠接近遭受貧困和有色人種所面臨的創傷,壓迫,系統性不平等和根本原因。

跨文化培訓為無償律師提供知識,工具,資源和語言,以在他們的影響範圍內採取行動。無償律師負責管理客戶的互動和關係,收集事實和證據,進行有效的動議實踐,簡短的寫作,口頭辯論和立法辯護。他們必須以歷史和整體的眼光來看待此案,這一點至關重要。

考慮一個家庭法院的例子。一個黑人的單親母親有五個孩子,他們在不同的學校上學,他們被控忽視教育,因為一個孩子反复上學遲到。在訴訟過程中,異議律師在查閱法院記錄時要求對母親進行藥物測試,其中包括對母親及其子女的外表(即,子女穿的位置和辮子髮型)的描述,說話方式,對NYCHA住房的提及以及對母親的斷言。該地區的危險和毒品活動。

對我來說,作為一個在貧窮中成長的黑人婦女,種族主義是顯而易見的。但是,對於來自不同背景的律師還是沒有經歷過類似的成見,假設和微攻擊的律師,這會很明顯嗎?

接受過跨文化培訓的無償律師,包括創傷知情律師的組成部分,內隱偏見和去偏見策略以及文化謙卑和能力,將更有可能挑戰反對律師提出的藥物測試要求所表現出的潛在種族主義。

在準備法律程序時,無償律師將通過跨文化的視角與客戶進行互動,以充分了解所有問題,訪問客戶的家,與證人會面,收集有關出席會議的事實。客戶的子女及其所在學校,並探索其他必要證據。他們將盡可能多地從整體上了解客戶,這可能對代理很有幫助。

這種倡導無疑將增強律師與客戶之間的關係,建立融洽的關係和信任,為客戶提供更好的結果和經驗,並向客戶保證,他們的律師不僅會看到自己的人格,而且還會在他們看到的時間和地點訴諸不公。它。

我們的客戶在生活中會受到嚴格審查的影響,因此他們需要強有力的倡導者來挑戰現狀。當律師通過這種方式來進行辯護時,我們會做更多的事情來建立客戶對已經被世代侵蝕的法律制度的信任。

律師事務所是我們公益計劃的重要成員,以法律服務提供者無法獨自實現的方式幫助他們擴大能力並縮小司法差距。

我們的律師事務所合作夥伴捐贈的時間,資源和財務支持的巨大影響不可誇大。通過確保通過種族平等和跨文化框架構建的公益計劃,我們可以挑戰我們賴以生存的製度和策略。

飽受系統性嚴重不平等困擾的有色人種社區,取決於我們現在採取行動。讓我們抓住這個機會。

最初發表於 彭博稅收 2020年6月12日。

 

分享這個帖子

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 linkedin
分享在 pinterest
分享在 print
分享在 email

相關文章

繁體中文
English Español de México 简体中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 繁體中文
滾動到頂部

為了應對COVID-19危機,我們仍在努力工作,我們的進氣管已經開放,但是請注意,我們的物理辦公室已關閉。

在這空前的時期,我們啟動了免費的NY COVID-19法律資源熱線,並編制了最新的法律和財務諮詢更新。

fbpx
Silhouettes of people

INSIGHT: Pro Bono Cross-Cultural Training Needed for Race Equity, Access to Justice

By Caprice R. Jenerson
Bloomberg Tax

Pro bono programs structured through a race equity and cross-cultural framework can help upend systems of oppression so that people of color, namely black people, have meaningful access to justice. Caprice R. Jenerson, NYLAG’s first chief equity and inclusion officer, says cross-cultural training can allow pro bono attorneys, who are largely white, to understand the traumatization, oppression, systemic inequities, and root causes faced by people experiencing poverty and people of color.

Amid rising calls for justice, fairness, and race equity in the broader community, law firms are reaching out to legal services providers to offer help.

Most ask how they can support protestors who have been arrested for civil disobedience because it is the most visible actionable step. While this work is meaningful, the impact doesn’t reach the deeply embedded systemic racism in our legal system.

The real call to action is for legal services providers and law firms to partner in ways that unearth and upend systems of oppression so that people of color, namely black people, have meaningful access to justice. Tangibly speaking, pro bono programs must be structured using a race equity and cross-cultural framework.

At New York Legal Assistance Group— where I am Chief Equity and Inclusion Officer and the Director of the Pro Bono and Volunteer Unit—we provide free civil legal services to clients who are, primarily, people experiencing poverty and people of color. Our existing infrastructure allows us to engage pro bono attorneys and provide training, resources, and supervision to assist them in representing clients facing a civil legal crisis.

Yet, as we are witnessing racial tensions heightened by the continuing murders of black people at the hands of law enforcement while in the midst of a pandemic that has claimed a disproportionate number of black and brown lives, we have an opportunity to examine our existing processes to be responsive to the times in which we are living.

Specifically, the dehumanization of black lives squarely intersects with themes in civil legal justice around poverty, access to justice, and representation in the legal system.

Pro Bono Attorneys Are Largely White; Cross-Cultural Training is Absolute Necessity

So, what happens in pro bono legal representation if we marry the existing pro bono infrastructure with a cross-cultural framework?

Historically, pro bono attorneys are largely white, and training has focused on substantive law and procedure. Understanding the difference between our clients’ lived experiences and that of our pro bono attorneys, cross-cultural training is an absolute necessity. It allows pro bono attorneys to get proximate to the traumatization, oppression, systemic inequities, and root causes faced by people experiencing poverty and people of color.

Cross-cultural training arms pro bono attorneys with the knowledge, tools, resources, and language to take action within their sphere of influence. Pro bono attorneys are charged with managing client interaction and relationships, gathering facts and evidence, engaging effective motions practice, brief writing, oral argument, and legislative advocacy. It is vital that they view the case in a historical and holistic manner.

Consider a family court example. A Black single mother of five children who attend different schools is charged with education neglect because one child is repeatedly late to school. During the proceedings, opposing counsel requests a drug test of the mother while referencing the court record which includes descriptions of her and her children’s appearance (i.e. the children wear locs and braided hairstyles) and manner of speaking, references to NYCHA housing, and assertions of dangerousness and drug activity in the area.

For me, as a Black woman who grew up in poverty, the racism is obvious. But would it be obvious to an attorney from a different background or one who has not been exposed to similar stereotypes, assumptions, and microaggressions?

A pro bono attorney who has received cross-cultural training, including components of trauma informed lawyering, implicit bias and debiasing strategies, as well cultural humility and competence, will more likely challenge the underlying racism presented by opposing counsel’s request for drug testing.

In preparation for the legal proceedings, the pro bono attorney, through a cross-cultural lens, would have interactions with the client to fully understand all of the issues at play, visit the client’s home, interview witnesses, gather facts regarding the attendance of the client’s children as well as the location of their schools, and explore other necessary evidence. They would learn as much as they can about the client as a whole person that could be useful in the representation.

This type of advocacy will undoubtedly strengthen the attorney client relationship, build rapport and trust, provide better outcomes and experiences for the client, and assure the client that their lawyer will not only see their humanity, but will call out injustice when and where they see it.

Our clients feel the effect of the heightened scrutiny in their lives, and they need a strong advocate that will challenge the status quo. When attorneys approach advocacy through this lens, we do more to build a client’s trust in the legal system that has been eroded for generations.

Law firms are valued members of our pro bono programs, helping to expand capacity and shrink the justice gap in ways legal services providers simply cannot achieve alone.

The tremendous impact of the time, resources, and financial support donated by our law firm partners cannot be overstated. By ensuring pro bono programs structured through a race equity and cross-cultural framework, we can challenge systems and strategies upon which we have come to rely.

Communities of color, plagued by deep systemic inequities, are depending on us to act now. Let’s seize this opportunity.

Originally published in Bloomberg Tax on June 12, 2020.

 

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

Eileen Connor (left) and Toby Merrill of the Harvard Law School's Project on Predatory Student Lending Photograph courtesy of the Project on Predatory Student Lending

“Attacking the Concept of Debt”

In this Harvard Magazine article, NYLAG’s Jessica Ranucci proclaims explicitly prospective litigation is needed to overcome the litigation challenges in the for-profit college industry.

Read More »
Image of a group of people with garbage bags outside a hotel.

Homeless New Yorkers Belong in Hotels Now

In this New York Daily News op-ed, NYLAG’s Deborah Berkman asserts the benefits of placing those experiencing homelessness in hotels and denounces residents of NY’s Upper West Side who deem this placement as a threat.

Read More »
English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, we are still working hard and our intake lines are open, but please note that our physical office is closed.

During these unprecedented times, we’ve launched a free NY COVID-19 Legal Resources Hotline and compiled the latest legal and financial counseling updates.