fbpx
People standing outside a building with a large sign stating,

洞察力:移民法院需要独立于司法部

劳伦·里夫(Lauren Reiff)
彭博法律

司法部的Covid-19危机和移民法院管理不善,说明了为什么法院需要独立。纽约法律援助小组移民保护部门的监督律师劳伦·里夫(Lauren Reiff)表示,工作人员,法官,检察官,辩护律师和移民的医疗保健和安全目前面临风险。

1月底,在Covid-19大流行袭击美国之前, 国会举行听证会 关于移民法院系统的司法独立性。司法部对Covid-19大流行的回应表明,总检察长不应被信任经营一个负责对移民是否应驱逐出境或获准留在美国进行中立裁决的机构。

随着Covid-19公共卫生危机席卷全国,政府官员和公共卫生专家敦促所有人留在家里,司法部长顽固地拒绝了在移民法院采取措施以保护其工作人员,法官,检察官,辩护律师和移民。

纽约移民法院关闭……然后重新开放

首先,一些背景。纽约宣布进入紧急状态近一周后,敦促全国各地的人们避免公共交通和大型集会,并考虑停工令,移民法庭(通常每天有数百人被迫入内)继续需求各方出席听证会。不出现可能会导致驱逐出境。

只有在受到国防律师,法官,辅助人员和检察官关闭法院的前所未有的联合压力之后,纽约移民法院才最终取消了对未拘留移民的审判,并向公众敞开了大门。

莫名其妙的是,3月24日,在纽约州被禁闭和营业时间之后,律师开始收到消息,一个移民法院已宣布第二天通过Twitter重新开放,并指示所有在关闭期间应提交的文件均应天。该推文最终被删除,并被一条推文所取代,这给各方提供了一周的时间来提交关闭期间应有的一切。

几天后,另一家纽约市移民法院宣布,通过更改网站上的几句话,该网站也将重新开放,并将在几天内提交申请。没有将任何这些更改直接通知各方。

变更指示的鞭打

我是纽约法律援助组织(NYLAG)的移民律师,去年,在从公民身份到驱逐出境辩护的案件中,我们为35,900名移民提供了帮助,我几乎无法跟上这些快速变化的步伐。没有律师的移民怎么可能这样做?

目前,移民律师经历了规则突然改变的鞭策。从业人员现在每天在法庭上收到几次更新,首先是开放,然后是关闭,然后是再次开放。提交文件的程序已从亲自更改为邮寄或电子邮件。

律师被告知,我们不应期望收到我们提交的任何文件的确认。有人告诉我们,截止日期是强制性的,除非法官(否则目前没有人在法庭上发表任何意见)另有规定。只能假定没有律师的移民没有收到任何此类信息。

同时,NYLAG律师对邮件进行的邮件跟踪更新显示,由于没有人接受包裹,因此包裹无法交付给法院。

收集证据以提交给移民法院以提交截止日期,要求移民及其律师,包括我在NYLAG的同事,执行违反纽约州暂缓措施的任务。截止日期要求与客户和口译人员会面,并从学校,城市机构和医院收集表格。我们经常请医护人员确认过去的创伤事件,否则驱逐出境会影响客户或其家人的健康。目前尚无这些。

健康与安全风险

但是,比起移民法院的要求,最糟糕的是,我们被要求冒着健康风险和客户的健康风险,更不用说公共健康,以期几乎可以肯定地(正确地)举行听证会推迟了。与被拘留案件的处理方式相比,未拘留客户面临的面色苍白,审理正在进行,分配给什至没有档案的不同州的法官,被拘留移民被单独监禁以阻止新移民感染。

但是,尽管我们的移民客户在目前支撑着我们社会的工作中占了绝大部分,但移民法院的顽固态度却显得尤为恶意。食品和服务行业的低薪工作往往由移民填补。正是这些移民冒着生命危险运送我们的食物,消毒我们的公共场所以及存放我们的食品杂货架。法院无情地要求他们争取自己在这个国家的权利,同时保护我们所有人。

强制执行提交截止日期的唯一可能目标是以公平为代价,最大限度地减少驱逐出境。如果移民法院独立于司法部,法官将不会受到总检察长的异想天开的束缚,包括法律解释的任意变更,案件完成配额以及对案卷管理的限制。独立将提高效率和准确性。

当这场危机结束并且我们恢复正常生活时,国会必须重新考虑移民法院的立场,通过使其独立而赋予他们真正的中立性。

最初发表于 彭博法律 2020年5月15日。

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin
分享到pinterest
分享到print
分享到email

相关文章

简体中文
English Español de México 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 简体中文
滚动到顶部

We can help you improve your finances, and remove barriers to economic security—all for free. Working with a NYLAG financial counselor and coach will help you pay off debt, manage your personal finances more efficiently, navigate through financial crises, and build long-term financial stability.

fbpx
People standing outside a building with a large sign stating,

INSIGHT: Immigration Courts Need Independence From the Justice Department

By Lauren Reiff
Bloomberg Law

The Covid-19 crisis and mismanagement of immigration courts by the Justice Department demonstrates why the courts need to be independent. Lauren Reiff, supervising attorney in the New York Legal Assistance Group’s Immigrant Protection Unit, says the health care and safety of the staff, judges, prosecutors, defense attorneys, and immigrants is now at risk.

At the end of January, before the Covid-19 pandemic struck the U.S., Congress held hearings on judicial independence in the immigration court system. The Department of Justice’s response to the Covid-19 pandemic shows that the attorney general should not be trusted to run an agency charged with the neutral adjudication of whether immigrants should be deported or permitted to stay in the U.S.

As the Covid-19 public health crisis sweeps the nation and government officials and public health experts urge everyone to stay home, the attorney general has stubbornly resisted calls to enact measures in immigration courts that would protect the safety of their staff, judges, prosecutors, defense attorneys and immigrants.

New York Immigration Court Closings … Then Reopenings

First, some background. For almost a week after a state of emergency was declared in New York and people around the country were urged to avoid public transit and large gatherings and consider shutdown orders, immigration courts—generally filled with hundreds of people on any given day—continued to demand that parties appear for hearings. Failure to appear could result in deportation.

Only after unprecedented joint pressure to close the courts by defense attorneys, judges, support staff and prosecutors did New York immigration courts finally cancel trials for non-detained immigrants and close their doors to the public.

Inexplicably, on March 24, amidst the New York state lockdown and after business hours, attorneys started to receive information that one immigration court had announced its reopening the following day via Twitter, with a directive that all filings due during the closure would be due that day. This tweet was ultimately deleted and replaced with a tweet giving parties a week to file anything that had been due during closure.

Days later, a different New York City immigration court announced, by changing a few words on a website, that it too would be reopening and filings would be due within days. No notice was provided directly to parties of any of these changes.

Whiplash of Changing Instructions

I am an immigration lawyer at the New York Legal Assistance Group (NYLAG) where we helped 35,900 immigrants last year in cases ranging from citizenship to deportation defense, and I can barely keep up with these rapid changes. How could immigrants without lawyers possibly do so?

Currently, immigration attorneys experience whiplash with sudden rules changes. Practitioners now receive several updates a day on courts first opening, then closing, then opening again. Procedures for filing documents are changed from in person, to mail, to email.

Attorneys are told that we shouldn’t expect confirmation that anything we file was received. We are told that deadlines are mandatory unless the judge, none of whom are currently in court to say anything, says otherwise. It can only be presumed that immigrants without attorneys are not receiving any of this information.

Meanwhile, mail tracking updates for filings made by NYLAG attorneys show that packages could not be delivered to courts because no one was there to accept them.

Collecting evidence to submit to the immigration courts for filing deadlines requires immigrants and their attorneys, including my colleagues at NYLAG, to perform tasks that would violate the New York state PAUSE. Meeting deadlines requires meetings with clients and interpreters, and collection of forms from schools, city agencies, and hospitals. We often enlist health-care professionals to confirm past traumatic events or that deportation would impact the health of our clients or their families. None of this is currently possible.

Risks to Health and Safety

Worse than the immigration court mandate that we perform the impossible, though, is that we are being asked to risk our health and the health of our clients, not to mention public health, to meet deadlines for hearings that will almost certainly be (correctly) postponed. And what non-detained clients are facing pales in comparison to the way detained cases are being handled, with hearings going forward, assigned to judges in different states who don’t even have files, and detained immigrants being kept in solitary confinement to stop new infections.

The immigration courts’ intransigence feels especially malicious, though, while our immigrant clients do the lion’s share of the work that is currently propping up our society. Low wage jobs in the food and service industry tend to be filled by immigrants. It is immigrants who are already risking their lives delivering our food, sanitizing our public spaces, and stocking our grocery shelves. The courts are callously asking them to fight for their right to be in this country, protecting us all, at the same time.

The only possible goal in enforcing filing deadlines is to maximize deportations at the expense of fairness. If immigration courts were independent of the DOJ, judges would not be constrained by the attorney general’s whims, including arbitrary changes in legal interpretation, case completion quotas, and constraints on docket management. Independence would improve efficiency and accuracy.

When this crisis is over and we go back to our lives as normal, it is imperative that Congress reconsider the position of the immigration courts, granting them true neutrality by making them independent.

Originally published in Bloomberg Law on May 15, 2020.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, we are still working hard and our intake lines are open, but please note that our physical office is closed.

During these unprecedented times, we’ve launched a free NY COVID-19 Legal Resources Hotline and compiled the latest legal and financial counseling updates.