fbpx
Cellphone with unknown caller

如何识别八种最常见的金融骗局

骗局呈上升趋势。在COVID-19期间尤其如此,因为诈骗者利用大流行病并承诺提供帮助(或假装成为政府官员)来捕食有需要的个人。老年人特别容易受到伤害-转向在线互动,再加上大流行病造成的隔离和健康问题,使骗子更容易捕捉毫无戒心的老年人和老年人。

如果您正在使用Internet来获取福利,请在COVID-19期间或一般情况下获得帮助,请务必注意潜在的骗子。尽管互联网可以成为与亲人联系或访问资源的绝佳工具,但您也必须保护自己。好消息是,有一些方法可以保护自己和亲人免遭财务欺诈。 预防的最关键工具是学习识别欺诈。下面,我们编译了最常见的八个。

1.与COVID-19相关的诈骗

  • 接触示踪剂:诈骗者正在打电话,发短信和通过电子邮件发送自称是官方联系追踪者的潜在受害者,并要求提供敏感信息。请知道 真实的联系追踪器决不 索取您的社会保险号,信用卡和银行帐号以及移民身份。
  • 与COVID-19相关的慈善机构: 欺诈性慈善团体一直在要求捐款,以支付与大流行有关的救济。看到 这里 与世界卫生组织有关的骗局,请参阅 这里 关于明智的捐赠。
  • COVID-19预防和治疗骗局: 虚假或科学上不受支持的医疗用品,COVID-19检测试剂盒和疫苗的报价。
  • 网络钓鱼,虚假电子邮件以及与健康信息有关的文本:诈骗者和黑客一直在使用看似正式的电子邮件来共享健康警报,目的是获得对敏感信息的访问权限。
  • 医疗保险或处方药诈骗:老年人特别容易受到此骗局的影响。呼叫者寻求获得声称是医疗或保险提供者的Medicare号码和其他敏感信息,然后提交欺诈性索赔(有关COVID-19保健欺诈的更多信息).

2.政府机构冒名顶替者的骗局

声称来自社会保障局,IRS或其他政府机构的呼叫者,自动消息,电子邮件或信件称您是身份盗用的受害者,您应享受刺激利益或政府补助金,或欠您所得税。令人困惑的是,呼叫者可能会参考合法的社会保险或IRS外地办事处地址,而呼叫者ID可能会被操纵以显示官方的社会保险,IRS或其他机构电话号码。查看样品 这里这里。如果不确定,最好挂断电话并致电实际的社会保障管理局(1-800-772-1213)或IRS(1-800-829-1040).

3.身份盗窃

联邦刺激支付和在线交易的增加导致身份盗用激增。您的个人信息被盗:社会安全号码,银行帐户等。除非您监视个人和财务在线帐户中的可疑活动,否则您可能不知道自己的身份已被盗。保护自己免受身份盗用的最佳方法是使用信用和银行警报。有关更多信息,请访问我们在“防止和报告欺诈的八个选项。

4.互联网和短信网络钓鱼诈骗

基于数字的一般骗局正在上升。黑客发送电子邮件,携带病毒的短信或间谍软件,目的是窃取您的敏感信息。某些尝试相当明显,但其他消息似乎来自受信任的来源,甚至可能包含虚假的Zoom邀请。大多数骗局都依赖您单击链接来下载文件或要求登录信息,例如更改“过期密码”。 有关识别和避免网络钓鱼尝试的有用提示,请参见此处。

5.彩票,电话推销员或抽奖诈骗

致电者,电子邮件或邮寄的营销材料声称提供赚取收入的机会,或者您赢得了抽奖或彩票。承诺的资金只能通过提供付款或转移一些资金来使用。该设置可以包括许多其他令人惊讶的狡猾方法。有关避免陷入陷阱的提示,请阅读我们在“防止和报告欺诈的八个选项。

6.浪漫骗局

Red heart with thorns

在线约会在老年人和各个年龄段的成年人中越来越流行,尤其是在大流行期间。不幸的是,诈骗者已经使用约会应用程序,在线约会网站和社交网络平台来实现他们的下一个目标。诈骗者可能会创建虚假的个人资料,并花时间与受害者建立信任。过了一段时间,他们要钱。通常是通过电汇,礼品卡或购买礼品来进行的操作-这是一个危险信号,通常是您可能会被骗的标志。

7.家庭紧急诈骗/绑架诈骗

呼叫者声称自己是亲爱的孙子或小孩,并由于紧急情况要求付款。有些人甚至声称他们绑架了一个亲人。骗子可能已经使用了您所爱的人的名字,或者您可能在混乱的通话中无意中提供了名字和其他信息。但是,您可以与实际存在问题的公司/组织或亲人一起致电和验证此信息。有关避免这种勒索方案的更多步骤,请单击 这里.

8.家庭或受信任的个人的金融剥削

由于经济绝望而增加的最不幸的骗局之一是家庭成员或受信任的人进行的金融剥削。老年人和残疾人特别容易受到此骗局的攻击。一个孩子,孙子,看守人,邻居,朋友或专业人员使用他们的信任地位将受害者从现金和资产中骗走。他们可以纠缠受害者多年,并制止其他家庭成员或政府机构进行干预的任何企图。少报了对老年人的金融剥削,而当前大流行造成的隔离使施虐者更容易继续从受害者那里吸取金钱。

作为骗局或欺诈的受害者可能会很痛苦。它会使您充满焦虑,悲伤和愤怒的感觉。骗子非常复杂。尽管上述信息可以帮助您更加安全,但是如果您成为受害者,请知道这不是您的错。 如果您认为自己是骗局的受害者,我们已经准备了另一种举报资源。读 这里。如果需要帮助,请访问 nylag.org/gethelp.

本资料仅作一般参考之用,不构成法律建议。对于出现的法律问题,读者应咨询法律顾问。

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin
分享到pinterest
分享到print
分享到email

相关文章

简体中文
English Español de México 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 简体中文
滚动到顶部

We can help you improve your finances, and remove barriers to economic security—all for free. Working with a NYLAG financial counselor and coach will help you pay off debt, manage your personal finances more efficiently, navigate through financial crises, and build long-term financial stability.

fbpx
Cellphone with unknown caller

How to Identify the Eight Most Common Financial Scams

Scams are on the rise. This is especially true during COVID-19 as scammers use the pandemic and promises of help—or pretending to be government officials—to prey on individuals in need. Older adults are especially vulnerable—the shift to online interaction, coupled with the isolation and health concerns created by the pandemic, has made it easier for scammers to prey on unsuspecting seniors and older adults.

If you are using the internet to access benefits, get help during COVID-19, or generally, it is important that you are aware of potential scammers. While the internet can be a great tool to connect with loved ones or access resources, you must also protect yourself. The good news is that there are ways to protect yourself and your loved ones from financial scams. The most critical tool for prevention is learning to recognize scams. Below, we have compiled eight of the most common.

1. COVID-19-Related Scams

  • Contact-tracers: Scammers are calling, texting, and emailing potential victims claiming to be official contact-tracers and asking for sensitive information. Please know that real Contact Tracers will never request your social security numbers, credit card and bank account numbers, and immigration status.
  • COVID-19 related charity: Fraudulent charities have been asking for donations for pandemic-related relief. See here for World Health Organization-related scams and see here about donating wisely.
  • COVID-19 prevention and cure scams: Fraudulent or scientifically unsupported offers for medical supplies, COVID-19 testing kits, and vaccination.
  • Phishing, fake emails, and texts related to health information: Scammers and hackers have been using official-looking emails to purportedly share health alerts, with the goal of obtaining access to sensitive information.
  • Medicare or prescription drug scams: Older adults are particularly vulnerable to this scam. Callers seek to obtain Medicare numbers and other sensitive information, claiming to be medical or insurance providers, to then submit fraudulent claims (more information on COVID-19 health care scams).

2. Government Agency Imposter Scam

A caller, automated message, email, or letter claiming to be from Social Security, IRS, or other government agency states that you have been a victim of identity theft, that you are due a stimulus benefit or government grant award, or that you owe income taxes. What can be confusing is that the caller may refer to a legitimate Social Security or IRS field office address and the caller ID may be manipulated to show an official Social Security, IRS, or other agency phone number. See samples here and here. If you are unsure, it is best to hang-up and call the actual Social Security Administration (1-800-772-1213) or IRS (1-800-829-1040).

3. ID Theft

The federal stimulus payment and an increase in online transactions have led to a spike in identity theft. Your personal information is stolen: Social Security number, bank account, etc. You may not be aware that your identity has been stolen unless you monitor suspicious activity on your personal and financial online accounts. The best way to protect yourself against identity theft is to use credit and banking alerts. For more information, visit our blog on “Eight Options to Prevent and Report Scams.

4. Internet and Text Message Phishing Scams

General digital-based scams are on the rise. Hackers send an email, or text message loaded with a virus, or spyware with the purpose of stealing your sensitive information. Some attempts are fairly obvious, but other messages appear to be coming from a trusted source and can even include a fake Zoom invitation. Most scams rely on you to click on a link to download a file or ask for log-in information, such as to change an “expired password.” See here for helpful tips on recognizing and avoiding phishing attempts.

5. Lottery, Telemarketer, or Sweepstakes Scam

A caller, email, or mailed marketing materials claim to provide an income-earning opportunity, or that you have won a sweepstake or lottery. The promised money can only be accessed by providing payment or transferring some funds. The set-up can include many other surprisingly cunning approaches. For tips to avoid falling into this trap, read our blog on “Eight Options to Prevent and Report Scams.

6. Romance Scam

Red heart with thorns

Online dating has become increasingly popular among older adults and adults of all ages, especially during the pandemic. Unfortunately, scammers have used dating apps, online dating sites, and social networking platforms to meet their next target. The scammer may create a fake profile and spend time building trust with their victim. After some time, they ask for money; usually through wire transfer, gift cards, or gift purchases—this is a red flag and generally a sign you may be getting scammed.

7. Family Emergency Scam/ Kidnapping Scam

A caller claims to be a beloved grandchild or child and asks for money due to an emergency. Some go as far as to claim they have kidnapped a loved one. Scammers already may have the name of your loved one or you may unintentionally provide names and other information during the confusing call. However, you can call and verify this information with the actual company/organization or loved ones that are assumed to be in “trouble.” For more steps to avoid this extortion scheme, click here.

8. Financial Exploitation by Family or Trusted Individuals

One of the most unfortunate scams that have been increasing due to economic desperation is financial exploitation perpetrated by a family member or a trusted person. Older adults and people with disabilities are especially vulnerable to this scam. A child, grandchild, caretaker, neighbor, friend, or professional use their position of trust to swindle the victim out of cash and assets. They can entangle their victim for years and thwart any attempt by other family members or government agencies to intervene. Elder financial exploitation is underreported, and the isolation created by the present pandemic has made it easier for abusers to continue siphoning money from victims.

Being a victim of a scam or fraud can be distressful. It can leave you with feelings of anxiety, sadness, and anger. Scammers are highly sophisticated. While the above information can help keep you safer, if you become a victim please know it is not your fault. If you believe you have been a victim of a scam, we have prepared another resource on reporting. Read here. If you need assistance, visit nylag.org/gethelp.

This material is intended for general information purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. For legal issues that arise, the reader should consult legal counsel.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, we are still working hard and our intake lines are open, but please note that our physical office is closed.

During these unprecedented times, we’ve launched a free NY COVID-19 Legal Resources Hotline and compiled the latest legal and financial counseling updates.