fbpx

追求法律平等– NYLAG的历史

最初的组织是草根组织,只有一名专职律师,如今已发展成为领先的非营利组织,提供全面,免费的法律服务,以及财务咨询,影响诉讼和政策倡导工作。向下滚动以重温NYLAG历史上最重要的时刻。

1990
纽约法律援助小组(NYLAG)表格
NYLAG于1990年成立。其目的是?一个反贫困组织,不仅为贫困者提供帮助,而且为收入超过联邦贫困线但仍无力负担律师费用的人提供帮助。 NYLAG成立时只有一小笔$50,000补助金和一名全职员工律师。
1990
1997
NYLAG开始一个移民项目
NYLAG开始了其移民项目,以帮助前苏联的犹太人。 (在2020年,移民是NYLAG最大的执业区域。在2019年,移民影响了来自170个原籍国的35,900名移民的生活,帮助了从庇护申请到驱逐出境辩护的一系列案件。)
1997
1998
NYLAG拥有开创性的临床中心来满足家庭暴力幸存者的法律需求
NYLAG创建了家庭暴力临床中心(DVCC),与当地的纽约市法学院合作,培训专门从事家庭法和家庭暴力的新一代律师,以提高能力和专业知识。该诊所一开始只是做保护令,现在已经增加了探视,子女抚养,无争议的离婚以及移民与家庭暴力的交集。数百名学生参加了诊所,并继续为公共利益和刑事司法工作。
1998
2000
NYLAG因非法限制获取医疗补助,食品券和公共援助而赢得针对纽约市的强制令
NYLAG及其法律服务共同律师在Reynolds诉Giuliani案中赢得了针对纽约市和纽约州的初步禁令,制止了Giuliani政府将收入支持中心误认为是所谓的“工作中心”,这非法限制了对医疗补助,食品券(SNAP)和公共援助。
2000
2000
十年更新:NYLAG员工和预算增长
NYLAG拥有近30名员工,预算为$240万,提供免费的民事法律服务,包括移民,家庭暴力和公共福利。
2000
2001
NYLAG是第一个回应9/11的法律服务机构
2001年9月12日,NYLAG成立了9月11日响应小组。该小组为2300多名世界贸易中心灾难受害者提供了援助,其中包括320名受害者的直系亲属。这为NYLAG的快速反应文化定下了基调。
2001
2001
NYLAG发起了如今被称为美国最大的医疗法律合作伙伴关系
NYLAG的LegalHealth部门成立,以医疗服务与贫困或低收入患者的法律护理相辅相成。 (今天,它是美国最大的医疗法律合作伙伴)。
2001
2001
NYLAG对合法居住在纽约的移民获得具有医疗补助意义的重大决定
由于有了NYLAG,纽约上诉法院在Aliessa诉Novello案中裁定,合法居住在纽约州(NYS)的移民有权获得医疗福利。一致的具有里程碑意义的决定认为,纽约州拒绝向移民提供医疗补助的行为违反了联邦和州宪法。
2001
2002
NYLAG确保无论年龄大小的残疾儿童都可以使用Access-a-Ride的纪念碑式定居
NYLAG与共同法律顾问达成了和解 奥布雷贡诉 MTA允许所有残疾儿童(不论年龄)使用乘车游览。该和解保证,陷入贫困和有残疾儿童的家庭将不再需要为昂贵的私人交通工具付费。
2002
2007
NYLAG启动纽约市第一个针对家庭暴力幸存者的上诉项目
NYLAG发起了纽约市首个此类上诉项目,以处理有关家庭犯罪案件以及涉及家庭暴力的婚姻,支持,监护和探视案件的上诉。
2007
2008
NYLAG建立了第一个国家癌症法律服务网络(NCLSN)
NCLSN促进癌症患者获得医疗保健并增加法律服务的可用性。
2008
2008
NYLAG吸收了来自其他组织的数千个移民案件
HIAS关闭法律服务部门后,NYLAG吸收了希伯来移民援助协会(HIAS)的所有本地移民服务。 NYLAG还准备结案时,代表纽约新美国人协会(NYANA)吸收了约3,300例新移民案件。
2008
2009
NYLAG通过建立消费者保护项目和财务咨询部门,立即应对经济衰退
在经济衰退之后,创建了纽约州立大学洛杉矶分校的消费者保护项目和金融咨询部门。财务咨询成为NYLAG的第一个也是唯一的非法律服务部门。
2009
2010
十年更新:NYLAG的服务和预算不断扩大
从2000年至2010年,NYLAG的员工人数增加到117人,预算为$900万,并扩大到包括有关残疾人权益倡导,雇佣法,大屠杀补偿,止赎,老龄法,LGBTQ问题和特殊教育的特殊部门和项目。
2010
2010
NYLAG创建了一个快速响应项目,以解决海地地震受害者的紧急移民需求
在2010年地震后,纽约州立法律援助署启动了海地临时保护身份项目。它是纽约市最大的,利用大型无偿诊所。
2010
2011
NYLAG推出纽约有史以来第一个带有轮子的民事法律服务办公室
NYLAG开设了纽约州有史以来第一个带有轮子的民事法律服务办公室(移动法律帮助中心),以将律师带入历来服务不足的地方社区。对于许多人口,例如地理上孤立的人和残疾人,获得高质量的免费法律服务可能是遥不可及的。 NYLAG改变了这一点。
2011
2012
在超级风暴桑迪之后,NYLAG引入了风暴响应单位
超级风暴桑迪过后,NYLAG随即引入了风暴响应小组。它成为纽约最大的风暴响应法律服务提供商。 (2017年,NYLAG在飓风玛丽亚,艾尔玛和哈维之后的几天和几周内,利用其专业知识在波多黎各,佛罗里达和德克萨斯州培训律师。)在2019年,该部门在实现目标后关闭。
2012
2012
NYLAG与NYCHA就电梯维护达成和解
感谢NYLAG,法院批准了 Brito诉NYCHA 要求纽约市房屋管理局更好地维护其电梯,以容纳行动不便的人。
2012
2014
NYLAG现在在每个纽约市公立医院中
截至2014年,纽约的每家公立医院都设有NYLAG LegalHealth诊所。 (如今,LegalHealth已在37家医院和医疗机构中使用,并且自2020年起与首家儿童医院Blythedale合作。)
2014
2014
NYLAG赢得跨性别移民的先例性更名案
纽约州上诉一审法院一审判决推翻了下级法院的裁决,并批准了无证变性人女性的更名请求。这是第一个上诉裁决,该裁决澄清了纽约居民的无证移民可以得到法院命令的更名。 NYLAG的LGBTQ项目代表原告。
2014
2016
NYLAG开设美国首家女性退伍军人法律诊所
NYLAG在美国开设并运营了第一家女性退伍军人法律诊所。截至2019年,该诊所为我们的退伍军人女性客户提供了超过$150万的资金,其中大多数人幸免于军事性创伤。
2016
2018
NYLAG率先获得#TimesUp资助
为应对#MeToo运动之后越来越多的工作场所性骚扰幸存者的要求,国家妇女法律与#39法律中心成立了#TimesUp法律辩护基金。 NYLAG是最早获得资金以帮助低薪工人争取正义的公司之一。
2018
2018
NYLAG共同撰写了无证父母的重要移民法
NYLAG与无偿合伙人Greenberg Traurig起草的新待机监护法已签署并实施。它使移民父母可以指定一个值得信赖的监护人来照料他们的孩子,因为他们因移民执法而被分开。
2018
2019
NYLAG加入了针对移民的新法律合作组织
为了应对急剧增加的移民执法,纽约市和纽约州创建了快速反应法律合作组织,其中包括NYLAG,以代表即将被遣返的被ICE拘留的移民。
2019
2019
NYLAG任命一名首席股权与参与官来解决种族股权问题
卡普里斯·詹森(Caprice Jenerson,右图)被任命为NYLAG的首位首席股权与包容官。这是我们战略计划的产物,其中包括对多样性,公平性和包容性的承诺。 NYLAG认为,如果不挑战结构性种族主义及其对我们日常工作的影响,我们就无法胜任解决客户的法律和金融危机
2019
2020
十年更新:NYLAG的预算和人员增加了两倍
NYLAG的预算为$33百万,影响了90,800名成人和儿童的生活。我们有191名律师,69名律师助理,13名财务顾问和2,215名无偿律师/志愿者。在过去的10年中,NYLAG推出了新计划,例如离婚调解,租户权利部门和退伍军人计划。
2020
2020
NYLAG应对COVID-19大流行
COVID-19改变了我们周围的世界,因此,我们必须适应新的工作方式。 NYLAG对COVID-19危机做出了快速反应,创建了两条COVID法律热线,一条热线用于纽约市居民,一条热线用于纽约医院的患者,对我们的家庭暴力工作进行了大修,以应对那些立即存在危险的最紧急情况,主张采取必要的政策变更例如新法律保护住户和为无家可归者提供更安全的条件,起草和倡导执行行政命令以保护前线工人的子女等等。
2020
帮助我们为需要律师的儿童和成人提供免费法律服务。
加入我们的邮件列表。获取动作警报,更新和特别邀请。
简体中文
English Español de México 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 简体中文
滚动到顶部

We can help you improve your finances, and remove barriers to economic security—all for free. Working with a NYLAG financial counselor and coach will help you pay off debt, manage your personal finances more efficiently, navigate through financial crises, and build long-term financial stability.

fbpx

In pursuit of equality under the law—NYLAG’s history

What started as a grassroots organization with one full-time attorney has today grown into a leading non-profit offering comprehensive, free legal services, as well as financial counseling, impact litigation, and policy advocacy efforts. Scroll down to relive NYLAG’s biggest moments in its history.

1990
New York Legal Assistance Group (NYLAG) forms
NYLAG was incorporated in 1990. Its purpose? An anti-poverty organization to assist not only those experiencing poverty but fill the gap for those whose income exceeded federal poverty guidelines but who were still unable to afford an attorney. NYLAG formed with just a small $50,000 grant and one full-time staff attorney.
1990
1997
NYLAG starts an Immigration Project
NYLAG began its Immigration Project helping Jews from the former Soviet Union. (In 2020, Immigration is NYLAG’s largest practice area. In 2019, it affected the lives of 35,900 immigrants from 170 countries of origin, helping with a range of cases from asylum claims to deportation defense.)
1997
1998
NYLAG fills legal need for domestic violence survivors with groundbreaking clinical center
NYLAG created the Domestic Violence Clinical Center (DVCC) to collaborate with local NYC law schools to train a new generation of attorneys that specialize in family law and domestic violence to increase capacity and expertise. The clinic started by doing only orders of protection and has grown cover visitation, child support, uncontested divorces, and the intersection of immigration and domestic violence. Hundreds of students have participated in the clinic and have gone on to work in public interest and criminal justice.
1998
2000
NYLAG wins injunction against NYC for illegally curtailing access to Medicaid, food stamps, and public assistance
NYLAG and its legal services co-counsel won a preliminary injunction against New York City and State in Reynolds v. Giuliani, stopping the Giuliani administration’s ill-conceived conversion of Income Support Centers to so-called “Job Centers,” which illegally curtailed access to Medicaid, food stamps (SNAP), and public assistance.
2000
2000
10-year update: NYLAG staff and budget grows
NYLAG grew to nearly 30 staff members and a $2.4 million budget, providing free civil legal services that included immigration, domestic violence, and public benefits.
2000
2001
NYLAG is first legal service org to respond to 9/11
On September 12, 2001, NYLAG established its September 11th Response Team. The team assisted over 2,300 victims of the World Trade Center Disaster, including 320 immediate family members of victims. This set the tone for NYLAG’s rapid response culture.
2001
2001
NYLAG launches what is known today as the United States’ largest medical-legal partnership
NYLAG’s LegalHealth Unit is launched, complementing medical care with legal care for patients experiencing poverty or with low-income. (Today it is the largest medical-legal partnership in the U.S.).
2001
2001
NYLAG gets landmark decision on medical benefits for immigrants who lawfully reside in NY
Thanks to NYLAG, the New York Court of Appeals ruled in Aliessa v. Novello that immigrants who lawfully reside in New York State (NYS) are entitled to receive Medical benefits. The unanimous landmark decision held that NYS’s denial of Medicaid to immigrants violated the federal and state constitutions.
2001
2002
NYLAG secures monumental settlement for children with disabilities, regardless of age, to use Access-a-Ride
NYLAG, with co-counsel, secured a settlement in Obregon v. MTA that allows all children with disabilities, regardless of age, to use Access-a-Ride. The settlement insured that families experiencing poverty and with disabled children will no longer have to pay for costly private transportation.
2002
2007
NYLAG opens NYC’s first Appellate Project for Domestic Violence Survivors
NYLAG launches The Appellate Project, the first of its kind in NYC, to handle appeals in family offense cases, as well as matrimonial, support, custody and visitation cases involving domestic violence.
2007
2008
NYLAG establishes first-ever National Cancer Legal Services Network (NCLSN)
NCLSN promotes access to healthcare and increasing the availability of legal services for people living with cancer.
2008
2008
NYLAG absorbs thousands of immigration cases from other organizations
NYLAG absorbed all of the Hebrew Immigrant Aid Society’s (HIAS) local immigration services after HIAS closed its legal services division; NYLAG also absorbed about 3,300 new immigration cases on behalf of New York Association for New Americans (NYANA), as they got ready to close.
2008
2009
NYLAG immediately responds to recession by creating Consumer Protection Project and Financial Counseling Division
NYLAG’s Consumer Protection Project and Financial Counseling Division were created in the wake of the recession. Financial counseling became NYLAG’s first and only non-legal services unit.
2009
2010
10-year update: NYLAG’s services and budget expands
From 2000-2010, NYLAG grew to 117 staff members and a $9 million budget, expanding to include special units and projects around disability advocacy, employment law, Holocaust compensation, foreclosure, elder law, LGBTQ issues, and special education.
2010
2010
NYLAG creates a rapid response project to address dire immigration needs of the earthquake victims in Haiti
NYLAG launched Haitian Temporary Protected Status project after the 2010 earthquake. It’s the largest in the City, utilizing large-scale pro bono clinics.
2010
2011
NYLAG launches New York’s first-ever civil legal services office on wheels
NYLAG launched New York State’s first-ever civil legal services office on wheels (Mobile Legal Help Center) to bring lawyers into local communities that have historically been underserved. For many populations, such as people who are geographically isolated and people with disabilities, access to high-quality free legal services can be out of reach. NYLAG changed that.
2011
2012
NYLAG introduces Storm Response Unit after Superstorm Sandy
Immediately after Superstorm Sandy, NYLAG introduced the Storm Response Unit. It became the largest provider of storm response legal services in New York. (In 2017, NYLAG used its expertise to train attorneys in Puerto Rico, Florida, and Texas in the days and weeks following Hurricanes Maria, Irma, and Harvey.) In 2019, the unit closes after achieving its goals.
2012
2012
NYLAG achieves settlement with NYCHA regarding elevator maintenance
Thanks to NYLAG, the Court approved a settlement in Brito v. NYCHA requiring New York City Housing Authority to better maintain its elevators in order to accommodate people with mobility impairments.
2012
2014
NYLAG is now in every NYC public hospital
As of 2014, every public hospital in New York has a NYLAG LegalHealth clinic. (Today, LegalHealth is in 37 hospitals and medical facilities, and as of 2020 partnered with its first Children Hospital, Blythedale.)
2014
2014
NYLAG wins precedential name-change case for trans immigrant
The New York State Appellate Term, First Department, overturned a lower court decision and granted an undocumented transgender woman’s name change request. This is the first appellate decision clarifying that undocumented immigrants who are residents of New York can get a court-ordered name change. The plaintiff was represented by NYLAG’s LGBTQ Project.
2014
2016
NYLAG opens the United States’ first women veterans’ legal clinic
NYLAG started and operated the first women veterans’ legal clinic in the U.S. As of 2019, the clinics have obtained over $1.5M for our women veteran clients, the majority of whom have survived military sexual trauma.
2016
2018
NYLAG among first to get #TimesUp funding
In response to the increasing number of workplace sexual harassment survivors coming forward in the wake of the #MeToo movement, National Women's Law Center created the #TimesUp Legal Defense Fund. NYLAG was one of the first to obtain funding to help low-wage workers fight for justice.
2018
2018
NYLAG co-authors important immigration law for undocumented parents
The new Standby Guardianship law—which NYLAG drafted with pro bono partner Greenberg Traurig—was signed into law and implemented. It allows immigrant parents to designate a trusted guardian to care for their children should they be separated due to immigration enforcement.
2018
2019
NYLAG joins new legal collaborative for immigrants in removal
In response to dramatically increased immigration enforcement, NYC and NYS created a Rapid Response Legal Collaborative, which includes NYLAG, to represent immigrants detained by ICE facing imminent removal.
2019
2019
NYLAG names a Chief Equity & Inclusion officer to tackle race equity issues
Caprice Jenerson (pictured right) is named NYLAG’s first ever Chief Equity & Inclusion Officer. This is an outgrowth of our strategic plan, which includes a commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion. NYLAG believes that we cannot competently address the legal and financial crises of our clients without challenging structural racism and its impact in our daily work
2019
2020
10-year update: NYLAG triples its budget and staff
NYLAG’s budget is $33 million impacting the lives of 90,800 adults and children. We have 191 attorneys, 69 paralegals, 13 financial counselors, and 2,215 pro bono attorneys/volunteers. In the last 10 years, NYLAG introduced new programs such as mediation for divorces, a tenants’ rights unit, and veterans’ project.
2020
2020
NYLAG responds to the COVID-19 pandemic
COVID-19 changed the world around us, and, by necessity, we had to adapt to new ways of working. NYLAG responded quickly to the COVID-19 crisis by creating two COVID legal hotlines, one for NYC residents and one for patients in NY hospitals, overhauling our domestic violence work to address the most urgent cases where danger was immediately present, advocating for necessary policy changes such as new laws to protect tenants and safer conditions for those experiencing homelessness, drafting and advocating for an Executive Order to protect children of frontline workers and much more.
2020
Help us provide free legal services to children and adults in need of a lawyer.
Join our mailing list. Get action alerts, updates, and special invites.
English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, we are still working hard and our intake lines are open, but please note that our physical office is closed.

During these unprecedented times, we’ve launched a free NY COVID-19 Legal Resources Hotline and compiled the latest legal and financial counseling updates.