fbpx
Frequently Asked Questions in Americans With Disabilities Act Cases Against Small Businesses

針對小型企業的《美國殘疾人法》案件中的常見問題

1990年《美國殘疾人法》(ADA) 通過該法案是為了消除對殘疾人的歧視,並增加他們進入商店,飯店和其他建築物的機會,法律將該建築物稱為“公共住宿場所”。

ADA規定了包括幾乎所有小型企業在內的公共住宿場所的訪問要求。法律規定:“不得拒絕讓殘疾人享有公眾能夠平等享受的全部商品或服務。”法律可能要求小型企業採取“易於實現”的步驟,為殘疾人提供更好的交通服務。這些步驟可以包括消除物理障礙。這些步驟可能就像重新安排座位一樣簡單,但是有時這些步驟需要進行大量的結構翻新。

NYLAG的Pro Se診所已為ADA和ADA訴訟的小型企業所有者編制了常見問題解答(FAQ)列表。

投訴說,我或我的小型企業未能違反《美國殘疾人法》(ADA)向殘疾人提供通行服務。我該怎麼辦?

呼叫 212-659-6190 與我們的法律診所舉行免費會議,以獲取有關您是否應該解決此案,解決該案或聘請律師的建議。診所可以幫助您確定處理案件的最佳方法。小型企業所有者即使已盡力遵守法律,也可能無意中違反了ADA,因此必須認真對待這些案件。 不要 無需先與律師交談即可忽略訴訟。

如果還沒有被起訴,但是我收到某人聲稱自己是殘疾人律師的信,那該怎麼辦?

對於第一個問題,您應該遵循相同的建議。您不應該等到被起訴後再行動。通常,解決ADA訴訟的最便宜方法是擺脫ADA訴訟,但您應該與法律專家交談,以確定處理特定案件的最佳方法。

我不歧視殘疾人,為什麼我被起訴?

ADA的要求對小型企業所有者而言並不總是顯而易見的,並且當殘疾人認為某家企業不符合ADA時,該個人可以起訴該企業。許多私人律師和非營利組織提起這些訴訟,以確保小型企業解決侵權問題並增加訪問權限。這些訴訟對於執行ADA並使殘疾人更容易訪問企業至關重要。

但是,並非所有ADA訴訟都旨在幫助殘疾人。一些私人律師已將法規變成一項賺錢計劃,而無需擔心減少歧視和增加獲取機會。這些律師知道,許多小型企業沒有錢聘請律師,他們會選擇解決。這些律師提起的案件稱為“ ADA開車”,“ ADA巨魔”或“ ADA勒索”案件。在某些情況下,一名律師起訴許多(有時數百家)小型企業違反了ADA。這些違規行為可能包括(其中包括)缺少入口坡道,過於陡峭的坡道,扶手,無法進入的浴室裝置或視力障礙者難以使用的網站。

與非營利組織和其他知名律師事務所的律師通常會確保案件解決後才進行翻新工作不同,“ ADA巨魔”很少跟進以確保解決了可訪問性問題。

ADA巨魔案件的辯護是什麼?

幾乎所有聯邦民事案件都得以解決。這包括ADA巨魔案件。通常,面對ADA訪問案例的小型企業應首先更正訴訟中提出的所有可訪問性問題,然後嘗試盡快解決。

在某些情況下,對於擁有足夠資金或保險政策的小型企業,可以聘請律師來打官司。但是,要解決這些問題,需要大量的工作並且要花費很多錢。一些辯護包括:原告的律師針對殘疾人而未與他們交談,針對不存在的人,針對非殘疾人的人或從未打算去企業或從未打算返回的人提起訴訟。對企業。另一個辯解是,該企業沒有違反ADA,並且始終為殘疾人提供所需的訪問權限。但是,小型企業很少會基於這些防禦而獲勝。

可能發生的最壞的事情是什麼?

有兩種最壞的情況。

首先,如果您和您的企業沒有遵循某些步驟來“出現在這種情況下,法官可以下令 對您的默認判決 賺很多錢第二,如果您打官司直到結局而敗訴,法官還可能判給原告一筆金額比該案以提早解決而結束的金額高得多的金額。這筆錢是您可能已支付給律師的抗辯費用的補充。

原告可能以多種不同方式(包括通過扣押,留置權,代收代理機構或其他方式)從您或您的業務中收集任何一種判決。這些收集方法可能會對您的業務造成破壞性後果。

我的企業現在或將來如何避免這些ADA訴訟?

為了幫助避免“過分提起訴訟”,小企業應該修復人行道或街道上所有明顯的障礙。在紐約市最容易引起訴訟的ADA違規行為包括缺乏可見的入口坡道,過於陡峭的坡道,沒有扶手,缺乏明顯的“門鈴”以通知企業內部員工外部人員需要幫助進入,或需要殘疾人打開的門。對於擁有網站的小型企業,經常導致訴訟的另一種違法行為是對視力障礙者來說不容易使用的網站。解決這些“明顯的”違規行為可以幫助小型企業主避免某些訴訟。

小型企業還可以通過支付專家評估費用和解決任何問題來保護自己,同時增加訪問權限和其客戶群。例如,有 政府資助的地區ADA中心 在美國各地提供定制幫助,以使業務ADA兼容。

不幸的是,小企業無法採取任何措施消除有關殘障人士訴訟的所有風險。即使一家公司完全遵守ADA的所有規則,總會有一些不誠實的律師提起無情的訴訟,因為他們知道小企業主無力支付律師費或冒敗訴的風險。這些律師知道,小型企業通常別無選擇,只能解決。因此,沒有為ADA索賠購買保險的小型企業可以選擇購買它。

這篇文章中包含的信息僅供參考,不是法律建議。它不能代替尋求法律建議。它不是廣告或招攬。紐約法律援助小組向ADA原告和被告提供有限範圍的法律援助,但在同一案件中絕不向他們提供法律援助。

上次更新時間:2020年4月8日

分享這個帖子

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 linkedin
分享在 pinterest
分享在 print
分享在 email

相關文章

Eileen Connor (left) and Toby Merrill of the Harvard Law School's Project on Predatory Student Lending Photograph courtesy of the Project on Predatory Student Lending

“攻擊債務概念”

在《哈佛雜誌》的這篇文章中,紐約州立大學洛杉磯分校的傑西卡·拉努奇(Jessica Ranucci)宣稱,明確需要進行前瞻性訴訟,才能克服以營利為目的的大學行業中的訴訟挑戰。

閱讀更多 ”
繁體中文
English Español de México 简体中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 繁體中文
滾動到頂部

為了應對COVID-19危機,我們仍在努力工作,我們的進氣管已經開放,但是請注意,我們的物理辦公室已關閉。

在這空前的時期,我們啟動了免費的NY COVID-19法律資源熱線,並編制了最新的法律和財務諮詢更新。

fbpx
Frequently Asked Questions in Americans With Disabilities Act Cases Against Small Businesses

Frequently Asked Questions in Americans With Disabilities Act Cases Against Small Businesses

The Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA) was passed to fight discrimination against people with disabilities and increase their access to stores, restaurants, and other buildings, which the law refers to as “places of public accommodation.”

The ADA sets out the access requirements for places of public accommodation, including almost all small businesses. The law says that “a disabled person may not be denied access to the full and equal enjoyment of goods or services to which the public has access.” The law may require a small business to take “readily achievable” steps to provide better access for disabled people. These steps may include removing physical barriers. The steps may be as simple as reorganizing seating, but sometimes the steps require extensive structural renovations.

NYLAG’s Pro Se Clinic has compiled a list of frequently asked questions (FAQs) for small business owners on the ADA and ADA lawsuits.

The complaint says that I or my small business failed to provide access to a disabled person in violation of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). What should I do?

Call 212-659-6190 to set up a free meeting with our legal clinic to get advice on whether you should settle the case, fight the case, or hire an attorney. The clinic can help you decide the best way to handle your case. Small business owners can unintentionally violate the ADA even if they have tried their best to follow the law, so these cases must be taken seriously. DO NOT ignore the lawsuit without speaking to an attorney first.

What if I haven’t been sued yet, but I got a letter from someone claiming to be an attorney for a person with disabilities?

You should follow the same advice for the first question. You should not wait until you have been sued to act. Settling an ADA lawsuit before it is filed in court is often the cheapest way to get rid of it, but you should speak with a legal professional to determine the best way to deal with your specific case.

I don’t discriminate against people with disabilities, why am I being sued?

The ADA’s requirements are not always obvious to small business owners, and when a person with a disability believes that a business is not complying with the ADA, that individual may sue the business. Many private attorneys and non-profits bring these lawsuits to make sure that small businesses fix violations and increase access. These lawsuits are important for enforcing the ADA and making businesses more accessible to people with disabilities.

However, not all ADA lawsuits are brought with the goal of helping people with disabilities. Some private attorneys have turned the statute into a money-making scheme without concern for decreasing discrimination and increasing access. These lawyers know that many small businesses won’t have the money to hire a lawyer and will choose to settle. Cases brought by these lawyers are called “ADA drive-by,” “ADA troll,” or “ADA extortion” cases. In some of these cases, a single lawyer sues many (sometimes several hundred) small businesses for violating the ADA. These violations may include, among others, the lack of an entrance ramp, a ramp that is too steep, lack of handrails, inaccessible bathroom fixtures, or websites that are hard to use by people who are sight-impaired.

Unlike lawyers at non-profits and other reputable law firms, who usually make sure that the renovations are actually made once the case has settled, “ADA trolls” rarely follow up to make sure that accessibility problems have been fixed.

What are defenses to ADA troll cases?

Almost all federal civil cases settle. This includes ADA troll cases. Generally, a small business facing an ADA access case should first correct any accessibility issues raised by the lawsuit and then try to settle as soon as possible for as little as possible.

In some cases, for small businesses with enough money or insurance policies, it may make sense to hire a lawyer to fight the lawsuit. But it takes a lot of work and costs a lot to fight these cases. Some defenses include: that the Plaintiff’s lawyer has filed lawsuits for people with disabilities without speaking to them, for people who don’t exist, for people who are not disabled, or for people who never intended to visit the business or never intended to return to the business. Another defense is that the business did not violate the ADA and always provided the required access to people with disabilities. But it is rare for small businesses to win based on these defenses.

What’s the worst thing that can happen?

There are two worst-case scenarios.

First, if you and your business fail to follow certain steps to “appear” in the case, a judge may order default judgment against you for a large amount of money. Second, if you fight the lawsuit until the end and lose, the judge may also award the plaintiff an amount of money that is much higher than if the case had ended with an early settlement. This money would be in addition to any money that you might have paid to an attorney to defend the case.

The plaintiff may collect either type of judgment from you or your business in many different ways, including through garnishment, liens, a collection agency, or other means. These methods of collection can have damaging consequences for your business.

How can my business avoid these ADA lawsuits now or in the future?

To help avoid “drive-by lawsuits,” a small business should fix any barriers that are obvious from the sidewalk or from the street. The ADA violations that most often lead to lawsuits in New York City include lack of a visible entrance ramp, a ramp that is too steep, lack of handrails, lack of a highly visible “doorbell” to notify employees inside the business that a person outside needs assistance entering, or doors that are difficult for persons with disabilities to open. For small businesses that have websites, another violation that often leads to lawsuits is a website that is not easy for people with sight impairments to use. Fixing these “obvious” violations can help a small business owner avoid some lawsuits.

A small business may also protect itself, and at the same time increase access and its customer base, by paying for an expert evaluation and fix any problems. For example, there are government-funded regional ADA centers throughout the United States that offer customized assistance to make a business ADA compliant.

Unfortunately, there is nothing that a small business can do to eliminate all risk of a disability access lawsuit. Even if a business fully complies with all ADA rules, there will always be dishonest lawyers who may file meritless lawsuits because they know that small business owners can’t afford to pay a lawyer or to risk losing the case. These lawyers know that small businesses often have no choice but to settle. Therefore, a small business that does not have insurance for ADA claims may choose to purchase it.

The information contained in this post is for information purposes only and is not legal advice. It is not a substitute for getting legal advice. It is not advertising or a solicitation. The New York Legal Assistance Group provides limited scope legal assistance to both ADA plaintiffs and defendants, but never to both in the same case.

Last updated: April 8, 2020

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top