fbpx
Evictions Moratorium

更新:纽约的逐出和冠状病毒:您应该知道的

*此帖子的最新更新时间为2020年11月12日

住房是医疗保健。 由于我们所有人都承受着冠状病毒(COVID-19)的公共卫生危机,因此至关重要的是,没有人被赶出家门。 

下面,我们汇总了最准确的信息和资源,以帮助您和您所爱的人在当前压力大的时候解决驱逐问题。如需针对特定案例的帮助,请致电我们的免费NY COVID-19法律资源热线: 929-356-9582 或访问 nylag.org/hotline.

房屋(房东/租户)

资源和信息

房屋法庭

  • 尽管许多租户直到2021年1月1日之后才应面临搬迁,但不再暂停对房屋法院案件的搬迁。 对于房东在2020年3月17日之前已经有权获得驱逐令的情况,房东必须向租户提供法律文件(“动议通知”),然后房屋法院将在Microsoft Teams平台上举行虚拟会议。在虚拟会议上,租户将有机会与自由律师见面并提出任何辩护。
  • 自2020年11月4日起,新提交的住房法院案件不再中止。 但是,许多租户可能有权获得免费律师协助他们处理案件。州长最新的行政命令允许租客有60天时间回答不付款申请。
  • 如果您从房东,他们的律师或房屋法院收到任何法律文件,请不要忽略它。 请通过以下方式联系NYLAG的NY COVID-19法律资源热线(929) 356-9582 要么 线上,或位于(718) 557-1379[email protected],或访问他们的 网站.
  • 房屋法庭开放给住户提起诉讼 例如房东的非法停工,公寓维修以及处理严重维修命令的申请。您可以找到有关如何提交此类案件的更多信息。 这里.
  • 目前,您仍然有义务支付租金。但是,由于新 如果您在2020年6月30日前通过,如果您在2020年3月7日之后遇到财务困难,您将无法被驱逐到2020年3月7日之后到期的任何租金。得到金钱的判断除非法院批准房东的要求继续进行驱逐,否则房东将无法驱逐您2020年3月7日之前的租金。
  • 如果您在暂停执行之前在法庭上达成了一项协议,要求您在特定日期之前支付租金,并且您无法再付款,则房东在2021年1月1日之前,只有在举行虚拟会议之后,才能致电元帅/警长/执法机构驱逐您。
  • 房东可以在这段时间内向您发送信函和租金要求,以索偿您欠您的任何租金。
  • 非法停工如果您是纽约市的房客,则可以在急诊室提起诉讼,然后放回您的单位。法院和纽约市将所有驱逐后和非法停工案件移交给法律顾问法律服务组织,无论您身在何处或您的收入如何。
  • 当公寓有危险或非法时,仍会发布空缺命令,只有城市机构才能发出。业主没有法律授权直接发出空置命令。在这次危机期间,我们希望撤消订单的情况很少,这是对真正危险情况的响应或火灾的结果。发出空置命令后,租户有权使用市政府机构提供的搬迁服务。在危机期间,搬迁服务保持开放。

2020年9月29日,州长将纽约州驱逐令延期至2021年1月1日。该州的延期令涵盖:“在COVID-19州紧急状态下遭受经济困难的任何居民。”

除了纽约州的驱逐令外,还有一项由CDC颁布的联邦法规实施的联邦令。此驱逐令可以防止房东在2020年12月31日之后采取任何行动将其驱逐,以保护处于未付款案件或处于未付款案风险中的任何人。CDC驱逐暂停令通常不适用于延期搁置案件。为了利用暂停措施,租约上的每个人都必须向房东发送一份声明,声明以下所有各项都是真实正确的,但会受到伪证处罚。

  • 我已尽最大的努力获得了所有可用的政府租金或住房补助。
  • 我或者预计2020日历年的年收入不超过$99,000(如果提交联合纳税申报表,则不超过$198,000),不需要在2019年向美国国税局报告任何收入,或根据《 CARES法》第2201条获得经济影响付款(刺激支票);
  • 由于家庭收入的大量损失,可补偿的工作时间或工资的损失,裁员或特殊的自付费用,我无法支付我的全额房租或全额房款;
  • 考虑到其他非酌定费用,我会尽最大的努力及时进行分期付款,该分期付款应在个人情况允许的范围内接近全额付款;
  • 如果被驱逐,我很可能会变得无家可归,需要搬入无家可归的住所,或者需要搬入由居住在近距离的其他人共享的新住所中,因为我没有其他可用的住房选择。
  • 我了解我仍然必须支付租金或支付房租,并遵守我在租赁,租赁协议或类似合同中可能承担的其他义务。我进一步了解,我的租赁,租赁协议或类似合同规定的未按时支付租金或支付房屋费用的费用,罚款或利息可能仍会收取或收取。
  • 我进一步了解,在2020年12月31日临时驱逐暂停后,我的住房提供者可能要求全额支付临时暂停之前和期间未支付的所有款项,如果未能支付,可能会导致我被驱逐遵守州和地方法律。

请记住,除非并将声明发送给房东,否则暂停令对您不会生效。通常,仅在处理未付款案件且上述所有声明对您都是真实正确的情况下,才应将此声明发送给房东。您可以找到申报表 这里.

NYCHA和第8节居民

  • 所有住宅迁离都将暂停,但是受到迁离的个人可能会收到NYCHA的新通知。
  • NYCHA的公正听证办公室目前仍处于关闭状态,但受到解雇行动的个人可能会收到NYCHA的新通知。
  • 面临收入损失的NYCHA租户可以通过访问NYCHA自助服务门户请求“持续两个月以上的任何收入减少的临时重新认证”这里.
  • 您建筑物中的管理办公室将保持开放状态,员工可以通过电话,电子邮件或预定的约会方式帮助居民从接待处后面与员工交谈,以确保员工和居民的安全。
  • 非紧急维修和计划内的停机已被暂时暂停,包括检查和计划的维护访问。
  • 紧急维修将继续。致电客户联系中心以安排维修时间718-707-7771
  • 所有NYCHA居民都可以访问NYCHA的网站以获取更多信息。
  • HPD参与者因收入减少而遇到租金困难,可以通过以下方式与HPD联系:[email protected]或通过传真212-863-5299。

如果您是NYLAG客户,并且对案件有特定疑问,请联系您的NYLAG律师。

入学问题–一般

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin
分享到pinterest
分享到print
分享到email

相关文章

简体中文
English Español de México 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 简体中文
滚动到顶部

为了应对COVID-19危机,我们仍在努力工作,我们的进气管已经开放,但是请注意,我们的物理办公室已关闭。

在这空前的时期,我们启动了免费的NY COVID-19法律资源热线,并编制了最新的法律和财务咨询更新。

fbpx
Evictions Moratorium

UPDATED: Evictions and Coronavirus in NY: What You Should Know

*This post was last updated on September 29, 2020

Housing is healthcare. As we all endure the coronavirus ( COVID-19) public health crisis, it is critical that no one is kicked out of their home. 

Below, we put together the most accurate information and resources to aid you and your loved ones in navigating eviction questions during these stressful times. For assistance on case-specific issues, call our free NY COVID-19 Legal Resource Hotline at 929-356-9582 or visit nylag.org/hotline.

HOUSING (LANDLORD / TENANT)

RESOURCES AND INFORMATION

Housing Court 

  • Evictions in Housing Court cases are suspended until January 1, 2021. Before any eviction can occur, landlords must serve tenants with legal papers and the Housing Court will then conduct a virtual conference. At the virtual conference, tenants will have the opportunity to meet with a free lawyer and present any defenses. There is no longer a Federal moratorium on evictions.
  • Landlords can file new cases, but those cases are not moving forward at this time. Many tenants may have the right to a free lawyer to assist them with their case.
  • If you receive any legal papers from your landlord, their lawyer, or the Housing Court, DO NOT IGNORE IT. Contact NYLAG’s NY COVID-19 Legal Resource Hotline at (929) 356-9582 or online, or the New York City Office of Civil Justice at (718) 557-1379, [email protected], or visit their website.
  • Housing Court is open for tenants to file cases such as landlord illegal lockouts, apartment repairs, and applications addressing serious repair orders. You can find more information about how to file those types of cases here.
  • All pending Housing Court matters are still postponed. Do not appear. New appearance dates will be sent to you directly. 
  • Right now, you are still obligated to pay rent. However, as a result of a very recently passed law, you cannot be evicted for any rent that became due after March 7, 2020, if you experienced financial hardship after March 7, 2020. But your landlord will still be able to sue you in Housing Court for unpaid rent and get a money judgment. Landlords won’t be able to evict you for post-March 7, 2020 rent until all parts of the state of emergency are lifted, which will likely not be for several months and possibly longer.
  • If you entered into an agreement in court prior to the moratorium that required you to pay rent by a certain date and you can no longer make that payment, your landlord cannot call the marshal/sheriff/law enforcement agency to evict you until January 1, 2021, and a virtual conference is held.
  • Please know that the order does not apply to rent demands.  Landlords can still send you letters and rent demands for any rent they claim you owe during this time.   
  • Illegal Lockouts If you are an NYC tenant, you can file a case at an emergency courtroom to be let back into your unit. The courts and the City are referring all post-eviction and illegal lockout cases to the Right to Counsel legal services organizations, regardless of where you live or your income.  
  • Vacate orders are still issued when an apartment is dangerous or illegal, and only city agencies can issue them. Landlords are not legally empowered to directly issue vacate orders. During this crisis, we would expect to vacate orders to be rare — in response to truly dangerous situations or as the result of a fire. Once a vacate order is issued, tenants have the right to access relocation services provided by City agencies. Relocation services remain open during the crisis.  

Separate from the New York state eviction moratorium that exists, there is a federal moratorium that comes from a federal regulation promulgated by the CDC. This eviction moratorium protects anyone in a non-payment case or at risk of a non-payment case by preventing the landlord from taking any action to remove them until December 31, 2020. The CDC eviction moratorium generally does not apply to holdover cases. To take advantage of the moratorium, every person on the lease must send their landlord a declaration under penalty of perjury that all of the following are true and correct.

  • I have used best efforts to obtain all available government assistance for rent or housing;
  • I either expect to earn no more than $99,000 in annual income for Calendar Year 2020 (or no more than $198,000 if filing a joint tax return), was not required to report any income in 2019 to the U.S. Internal Revenue Service, or received an Economic Impact Payment (stimulus check) pursuant to Section 2201 of the CARES Act;
  • I am unable to pay my full rent or make a full housing payment due to substantial loss of household income, loss of compensable hours of work or wages, lay-offs, or extraordinary2 out-of-pocket medical expenses;
  • I am using best efforts to make timely partial payments that are as close to the full payment as the individual’s circumstances may permit, taking into account other nondiscretionary expenses;
  • If evicted I would likely become homeless, need to move into a homeless shelter, or need to move into a new residence shared by other people who live in close quarters because I have no other available housing options.
  • I understand that I must still pay rent or make a housing payment, and comply with other obligations that I may have under my tenancy, lease agreement, or similar contract. I further understand that fees, penalties, or interest for not paying rent or making a housing payment on time as required by my tenancy, lease agreement, or similar contract may still be charged or collected.
  • I further understand that at the end of this temporary halt on evictions on December 31, 2020, my housing provider may require payment in full for all payments not made prior to and during the temporary halt and failure to pay may make me subject to eviction pursuant to state and local laws.

Remember the moratorium will not go into effect for you unless and until you send the declaration to your landlord. Generally, you should only send this declaration to your landlord if you’re dealing with a non-payment case and all of the above statements are true and correct for you. You can find a form for the declaration here.

 

NYCHA and Section 8 Residents 

  • All residential evictions are suspended, but individuals subject to evictions may receive new notices from NYCHA.
  • NYCHA’s Office of Impartial Hearings currently remains closed, but individuals subject to termination actions may receive new notices from NYCHA.
  • NYCHA tenants who face a loss of income can request an “Interim Recertification for any decrease in income that will last more than two months” by accessing the NYCHA Self-Service Portal at https://selfserve.nycha.info.
  • Management offices in your building will remain open and staff can assist residents via phone, email, or scheduled appointments to speak with staff from behind reception, for the safety of staff and residents. 
  • Non-emergency repairs and planned outages have been temporarily suspended, including inspections and scheduled maintenance visits. 
  • Emergency repairs will continue. Call the Customer Contact Center to schedule a repair at 718-707-7771. 
  • All NYCHA residents can go to NYCHA’s website for more information. 
  • HPD participants experiencing a rent hardship due to a decrease in income may contact HPD via [email protected] or by fax at 212-863-5299. 

If you’re an NYLAG client and have specific questions about your case, contact your NYLAG attorney.

INTAKE QUESTIONS – GENERAL

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

Image of a group of people with garbage bags outside a hotel.

Homeless New Yorkers Belong in Hotels Now

In this New York Daily News op-ed, NYLAG’s Deborah Berkman asserts the benefits of placing those experiencing homelessness in hotels and denounces residents of NY’s Upper West Side who deem this placement as a threat.

Read More »
English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, we are still working hard and our intake lines are open, but please note that our physical office is closed.

During these unprecedented times, we’ve launched a free NY COVID-19 Legal Resources Hotline and compiled the latest legal and financial counseling updates.