fbpx
Yellow hazard sign with

预防和报告欺诈的八个选择

任何人都可能成为骗局的受害者,但是残疾人和老年人尤其容易受到伤害。骗子可以利用像COVID-19大流行这样的危机来瞄准潜在的受害者。

除了了解常见的骗局(阅读我们关于八种最常见资源的资源),重要的是要知道如何减轻和报告他们。虽然预防是理想的方法,但记录和报告诈骗对于防止将来发生并发症和进行中的尝试至关重要。 以下是八个防止和报告欺诈的选项。

1.认识受害和举报

骗子赖以否认和避免举报是骗子进一步犯罪的工具。 如果您成为骗局的受害者,那么您并不孤单,这也不是您的错! 各个年龄段和背景的人都以令人震惊的速度受害,认识到您已成为骗局的目标,这是迈向生活的第一步,包括最大程度地减少影响,可能追回被盗资产并帮助带来伸张正义。由于羞辱和尴尬,许多受害者选择掩饰自己的经历。老年人有抑郁和退缩的高风险,使他们与可以帮助的人和资源进一步隔离。因此,如果您认为自己是受害者,可以寻求帮助并告诉他人是可以的。见第3点。

2.从不提供个人信息

大多数诈骗都是成功的,因为受害者向诈骗者提供了敏感的个人信息。 切勿通过电话,短信或电子邮件提供您的私人信息 无需调查请求信息的个人或实体。如果您正在与律师或保险代理人等专业人士一起工作,请确保您提出问题(例如,为什么案件或服务需要特定信息。注意:如果没有特定的敏感信息,可能会继续前进。)对于敏感信息,请始终确保您拥有他们的联系信息/凭据。 如果您怀疑欺诈行为,请挂断电话!如果听起来有些不可思议,那就挂断电话!

3.将骗局报告给政府机构

Black woman on her cellphone.

如果您曾经是诈骗或欺诈嫌疑人的受害者,则可以向几家政府机构举报犯罪。受害者可以向当地警察局提交警察报告,以记录犯罪情况。或者,如果您不习惯与执法部门互动,则可以向政府机构询问程序要求。访问该机构的网站将使您对他们所调查的欺诈类型有所了解。您可以向其报告的代理商包括:

机构 

网站 

电话 

联邦贸易委员会 (FTC): 

www.ftc.gov 

 

(877) 382-4357 

联邦调查局(FBI) 互联网犯罪投诉中心(IC3) 

www.ic3.gov 

(212) 384-1000 

纽约州检察长办公室 

www.ag.ny.gov 

(800) 771-7755 

国税局(IRS) 

 

 

www.irs.govhttps://www.irs.gov/identity-theft-centralhttps://www.irs.gov/privacy-disclosure/report-phishing 

(800)-829-1040 

纽约州税务与财政部 

www.tax.ny.gov/help/contact/fraud-scams-idtheft.htm 

(518) 457-5181 

(518) 451-1566 

(518) 457-0578 

美国邮政检验局 

www.uspis.gov 

(877) 876-2455 

医疗保险/医疗补助服务中心 

www.medicare.gov 

www.cms.gov/About-CMS/Components/CPI/CPIReportingFraud  

(855) 613-7080 

(800) 633-4227 

纽约州检察院 

www.manhattanda.org/victim-resources/elder-abuse/#:~:text=If%20a%20senior%20citizen%20has,at%20212%2D335%2D9007 

212-335-9007 

 

 

 

4.信用冻结和欺诈警报

如果您是通过欺诈进行身份盗用的受害者,那么最好的方法之一就是在信用报告中放置欺诈警报。 FTC建议与全国各地的征信机构联系以实行信用冻结: Equifax (800) 685-1111, 益百利 (888) 397-3742创联 (888) 909-8872。信用冻结会阻止您访问信用报告,这使得犯罪分子在您选择的期间内很难以您的名义开设新帐户。您可以使用的另一种工具称为欺诈警报。公司将被告知在发放信用之前采取额外措施来验证您的身份,从而使诈骗者难以开设新帐户或更改现有帐户。

如果您确实是身份盗用的受害者,则建议采取以下步骤:

  1. 在您的信用报告上放置信用冻结和/或欺诈警报。
  2. 向您的银行或信用卡公司报告并关闭被盗帐户。
  3. 提交警察报告。
  4. 向FTC报告事件。
  5. 保留记录!

5.收款及判决书

如果您没有大多数债权人可以从您那里获得的任何收入或资产,则您就是收款证明(通常也称为“判决证明”)。这包括政府福利,一些退休帐户和某些收入。如果这适用于您,则债权人将无法根据法院判决收取费用。提供有关收款证明状态的信息可能有助于避免骚扰债权人和其他形式的收款行为,例如留置权,征费和扣押。您所需要做的就是起草一封信,声明您有收款证明(没有收入/资产或收入/资产免税),然后将其发送给债权人。见信草案 这里

债务追收也可能是骗局 对于未确认的债务,必须在30天内要求提供债务证明。可以找到示例债务证明请求 这里。您可以找到有关受保护的收入和资产的更多信息 这里

6.银行和信用卡警报

Cellphone with a warning sign.

从您的银行或信用卡接收警报可以快速标记您帐户中的可疑活动。这些警报易于在线设置或通过访问您的金融机构来设置。通常,您可以设置警报,当花费了指定的金额时,将通过电子邮件,短信和/或电话通知您,以便您知道在信用卡和借记卡上的购买情况。如果您的帐户上有未经授权的购买,则警报将允许您查看非法活动并尽快举报欺诈行为。

7.全国禁止通话清单

避免骚扰电话销售人员(可能是伪装成骗子)的有用工具是注册 国家不致电登记处.

8.预先计划

像授权书(POA)这样的预先计划文件可以帮助老年人管理他们的财务,并协助他们发现欺诈。根据POA行动的代理可以观察委托人的财务状况,并检测欺诈活动,例如诈骗和身份盗用。代理人可以直接与金融机构对话,以在涉嫌欺诈时冻结帐户,并向政府机构举报犯罪。 选择一个完全不受信任的代理商至关重要,因为POA也可用于进行财务剥削和欺诈。 确保与律师交流,例如 纽约州立大学 如果您在起草POA时在纽约市。

有许多资源可用于预防欺诈和解决金融剥削。以下组织提供虐待老年人的资源和帮助。

组织 

资源 

网站 

消费者金融保护局 

骗局信息与预防 

www.consumerfinance.gov/  

联邦贸易委员会(FTC)  

欺诈避免和报告;不通话清单 

www.consumer.ftc.gov/features/scam-alerts  

https://www.donotcall.gov/index.html  

纽约市金融授权中心 

财务,信用和ID 盗窃协助  

www1.nyc.gov/site/dca/consumers/get-free-financial-counseling.page  

犹太老年人服务协会(JASA) 

代理服务O纽约人 

www.jasa.org/  

新经济项目ct  

 

 

 

收款/判决证明书样本 

www.neweconomynyc.org/what-is-exempt-from-debt-collection-2/  

国家虐待老人中心(NCEA) 

信息, [R电子搜索,& Ť下雨 上 虐待老人 

ncea.acl.gov/ 

美国政府  

联邦 政府对冠状病毒的反应 

https://www.usa.gov/coronavirus  

纽约州 政府  

纽约政府对冠状病毒的反应 

coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home  

Equifax  

信贷公司 

www.equifax.com  

创联 

信贷公司 

www.transunion.com  

益百利  

信贷公司 

www.experian.com  

全国老年人欺诈热线 

老年人欺诈援助  

https://stopelderfraud.ovc.ojp.gov/  

社区生活管理局(ACL)的高级医疗保险巡逻(SMP)计划 

授权和协助医疗保险受益人预防,检测和报告医疗保健欺诈,错误和滥用。 

https://www.smpresource.org/Default.aspx  

要了解八种常见的在线金融欺诈,请单击 这里。如需针对特定案例的帮助,请访问 nylag.org/gethelp.

本资料仅作一般参考之用,不构成法律建议。对于出现的法律问题,读者应咨询法律顾问。

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin
分享到pinterest
分享到print
分享到email

相关文章

简体中文
English Español de México 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 简体中文
滚动到顶部

We can help you improve your finances, and remove barriers to economic security—all for free. Working with a NYLAG financial counselor and coach will help you pay off debt, manage your personal finances more efficiently, navigate through financial crises, and build long-term financial stability.

fbpx
Yellow hazard sign with

Eight Options to Prevent and Report Scams

Anyone can be a victim of a scam, but people with disabilities and older adults are especially vulnerable. Crises like the COVID-19 pandemic can be exploited by scammers to target potential victims.

In addition to being aware of common scams (Read our resource on the eight most common) it is important to know how to mitigate and report them. While prevention is ideal, documenting and reporting scams are crucial to preventing complications and ongoing attempts in the future. Below are eight options to prevent and report scams.

1. Recognizing Victimization and Reporting

Denial and avoidance of reporting due to shame are tools that scammers rely on to further their crimes. If you fall victim to a scam, you are not alone, and it is not your fault! People of all ages and backgrounds have been victimized at alarming rates and recognizing that you have been the target of a scam is the first step to moving forward with your life, including minimizing the impact, possibly recovering your stolen assets, and helping to bring the perpetrator to justice. Many victims choose to cover-up their experience, because of shame and embarrassment. Older adults are at high risk of depression and withdrawal—further isolating them from the people and resources that can help. So, if you believe that you have been a victim, it is OK and advisable to seek help and tell someone. See point 3.

2. Never Provide Personal Information

Most scams are successful because the victim provides sensitive, personal information to the scammer. Never give your private information over the phone, text, or email without investigating the individual or entity requesting the information. If you are working with a professional like a lawyer or insurance agent, make sure you ask questions (e.g., Why specific information is necessary for the case or service. Note: It is possible to move forward without specific sensitive information.) if they ask for sensitive information always ensure that you have their contact information/credentials. If you suspect fraud, hang up! If something sounds too good to be true, hang up!

3. Report the Scam to a Government Agency

Black woman on her cellphone.

If you have been a victim of a scam or suspect fraud, you can report the crime to several government agencies. Victims can file a police report at their local police precinct to document the crime. Alternatively, if you are not comfortable with engaging with law enforcement, you may ask the government agency for procedural requirements. Visiting the agency’s website will give you an idea of the types of fraud that they investigate. The agencies that you can report to, include:

AGENCY 

WEBSITE 

PHONE 

Federal Trade Commission (FTC): 

www.ftc.gov 

 

(877) 382-4357 

Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3) 

www.ic3.gov 

(212) 384-1000 

NY Office of the Attorney General 

www.ag.ny.gov 

(800) 771-7755 

Internal Revenue Service (IRS) 

 

 

www.irs.govhttps://www.irs.gov/identity-theft-centralhttps://www.irs.gov/privacy-disclosure/report-phishing 

(800)-829-1040 

NY Department of Taxation & Finance 

www.tax.ny.gov/help/contact/fraud-scams-idtheft.htm 

(518) 457-5181 

(518) 451-1566 

(518) 457-0578 

US Postal Inspection Service 

www.uspis.gov 

(877) 876-2455 

Centers for Medicare/ Medicaid Services 

www.medicare.gov 

www.cms.gov/About-CMS/Components/CPI/CPIReportingFraud  

(855) 613-7080 

(800) 633-4227 

NY District Attorney’s Office 

www.manhattanda.org/victim-resources/elder-abuse/#:~:text=If%20a%20senior%20citizen%20has,at%20212%2D335%2D9007 

212-335-9007 

 

 

 

4. Credit Freezes and Fraud Alerts

If you are the victim of identity theft through a scam, one of the best things to do is to place a fraud alert on your credit report. The FTC recommends contacting each of the nationwide credit bureaus to effectuate the credit freeze: Equifax (800) 685-1111, Experian (888) 397-3742, and TransUnion (888) 909-8872. A credit freeze blocks access to your credit report making it difficult for criminals to open new accounts in your name for the period of your choosing. Another tool that you can use is called a fraud alert. Companies will be informed to take extra measures to verify your identity before they issue a credit, making it difficult for scammers to open new accounts, or make changes to existing accounts.

Here are recommended steps to take if you do fall victim to identity theft:

  1. Place a credit freeze and/or a fraud alert on your credit report.
  2. Report to your bank or credit card company and close the compromised account.
  3. File a police report.
  4. Report the incident to the FTC.
  5. Keep records!

5. Collection and Judgement Proof Letters

You are collection proof (also commonly referred to as “judgment proof”) if you do not have any income or assets that most creditors can take from you. This includes government benefits, some retirement accounts, and certain earned income. If this applies to you, creditors will not be able to collect on a court judgment. Providing information on collection proof status may help avoid harassing creditors and other forms of collection actions like liens, levies, and garnishment. All you need to do is draft a letter declaring that you are collection proof—that you have no income/assets or your income/assets are exempt—and send it to your creditors. See the draft letter here

Debt collection can also be a scam and it is important to request Proof of Debt within 30 days for any unrecognized debt. A sample debt substantiation request can be found here. You can find more information about protected income and assets here

6. Bank and Credit Card Alerts

Cellphone with a warning sign.

Receiving alerts from your bank or credit card can quickly flag suspicious activity on your accounts. These alerts are easy to set-up either online or by visiting your financial institution. Generally, you can set alerts that will let you know by email, text message, and/or phone when a specified amount has been spent, so that you are aware of purchases on your credit card and debit card. If there has been an unauthorized purchase on your account, then an alert will allow you to see the illegal activity and report the fraud ASAP.

7. National Do Not Call List

A useful tool to keep harassing telemarketers (who may be scammers in disguise) at bay is to register for the National Do Not Call Registry.

8. Advance Planning

Advance planning documents like a power of attorney (POA) can help older adults manage their finances and assist them with detecting fraud. An agent acting under POA can observe the finances of the principal and detect fraudulent activity like scams and identity theft. The agent can speak directly with financial institutions to freeze accounts when fraud is suspected and report the crime to government agencies. It is critical to select an agent that you fully trust without reservation because POAs can also be used to commit financial exploitation and fraud. Make sure to speak with an attorney, like one at NYLAG if you are in New York City when drafting a POA.

There are many resources for scam prevention and addressing financial exploitation. The following organizations offer elder abuse resources and assistance.

ORGANIZATION 

RESOURCES 

WEBSITE 

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau 

Scam Information & Prevention 

www.consumerfinance.gov/  

Federal Trade Commission (FTC)  

Scam Avoidance & Reporting; Do Not Call List 

www.consumer.ftc.gov/features/scam-alerts  

https://www.donotcall.gov/index.html  

NYC Financial Empowerment Centers 

Financial, Credit, & ID Theft Assistance  

www1.nyc.gov/site/dca/consumers/get-free-financial-counseling.page  

Jewish Association for Services for the Aged (JASA) 

Agency Serving Older New Yorkers 

www.jasa.org/  

New Economy Project  

 

 

 

Collection/Judgement Proof Letter Samples 

www.neweconomynyc.org/what-is-exempt-from-debt-collection-2/  

National Center on Elder Abuse (NCEA) 

Information, Research, & Training on Elder Abuse 

ncea.acl.gov/ 

USA Government  

Federal Government Response to Coronavirus 

https://www.usa.gov/coronavirus  

NY State Government  

NY Government Response to Coronavirus 

coronavirus.health.ny.gov/home  

Equifax  

Credit Company 

www.equifax.com  

TransUnion 

Credit Company 

www.transunion.com  

Experian  

Credit Company 

www.experian.com  

National Elder Fraud hotline 

Elder Fraud Assistance  

https://stopelderfraud.ovc.ojp.gov/  

The Administration for Community Living (ACL)’s Senior Medicare Patrol (SMP) Program 

Empowers and Assists Medicare Beneficiaries to Prevent, Detect, and Report Healthcare Fraud, Errors, and Abuse. 

https://www.smpresource.org/Default.aspx  

To learn about the eight common online financial scams, click here. For assistance on case-specific issues, visit nylag.org/gethelp.

This material is intended for general information purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. For legal issues that arise, the reader should consult legal counsel.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, we are still working hard and our intake lines are open, but please note that our physical office is closed.

During these unprecedented times, we’ve launched a free NY COVID-19 Legal Resources Hotline and compiled the latest legal and financial counseling updates.