fbpx
Lawyer with client

不要只是“相信幸存者”。了解生存。

由埃维耶格尔

经历过痛苦的经历之后,前进的方式与人一样多。但是,几乎所有通往法律正义的途径都在很大程度上取决于幸存者的讲故事,甚至更多地取决于人们如何回应。作为一个社会,甚至在我们的司法系统中,我们都抱有极其不切实际的期望,即遭受创伤的人们仍然会像未遭受创伤的人那样思考和行动:我们将像以前一样回忆,做出决定并与他人互动。但是,创伤的基本特征是我们的大脑和身体开始以不同的方式运转。创伤后,我们的行为反映出对生存的新关注 因为 我们必须生存

了解更多关于创伤和康复的表象可以为幸存者赋权,这对于成功的拥护者而言是必不可少的实践。创伤教育的可及性对于这两个群体都是至关重要的。关于创伤的可用信息太多被埋在临床语言中,这在实践知识和需要知识的人们之间形成了障碍。受NYLAG的#IamCredible活动的启发,我为幸存者和拥护者共同编写了本指南。以下是一些概念的通俗易懂的分类,这些概念帮助我理解了自己作为创伤幸存者的经历,并帮助我与倡导者建立了联系。 

创伤是一种事件或环境,它会改变我们对安全和社会认同的理解方式,并对大脑,身体和行为产生持久影响。 创伤经历引起了本能的反应。我们不“决定”如何对创伤做出反应,就像我们不“决定”不小心碰到热锅时将手拉开一样。 

使经历成为创伤的,不仅仅是挑战性的或痛苦的,是因为我们的大脑和身体将其视为对生命的威胁。即使创伤本身不涉及人身危险,这也是正确的。例如,父母的监禁或疾病可能不会直接影响孩子获得食物,庇护所或照料的机会,但是这种经历可能仍然不稳定,以至于激活了生存本能。 

失调是当我们感觉到巨大的危险,而我们的生存本能接管时,神经系统就会发生变化。 遭受创伤后,我们的大脑和身体对危险迹象格外敏感。即使危险不是真的存在,来自创伤经历的感官提醒(视线,声音,气味)或熟悉的情绪也会使我们回到生存状态。例如,如果您有一个性虐待的伴侣在生气时大喊大叫,其他大声的声音(音乐,警报器,掌声)可能会引起您的身体反应(手颤抖或心脏跳动),好像有人在对您大吼大叫,即使您知道自己很安全(“这只是电视,为什么我会感到如此紧张?”)我们思想和身体反应之间的这种脱节可能会给自我怀疑和自责留下空间“我很安全现在,但我仍然不能集中精力工作或睡觉。我出毛病了。”即使这些回应都是正常的,也是我们无法控制的。 

接地是一种有助于我们的神经系统恢复正常功能而不是生存的活动。 当我们变得失调时,再次变得失调的最快方法是使用我们的五种感官向大脑发出信号,表明这里没有危险。专注于使我们感到舒适的声音,气味,视觉,味觉或触觉可以增强身体,情感和心理上的安全感。虽然看起来似乎很荒谬 闻起来很香 当我们感到如此极端的反应时,与某种形式的积极感官事物连接有助于关闭神经系统中的烟雾报警器。它告诉我们的大脑:“没关系,什么都没有着火,只是吐司。”重要的是要了解,我们选择的感官功能不会使我们突然感觉良好,但会根据所遇到的任何情况将拨盘调低。调节我们的神经系统意味着我们更有能力清晰地思考,做出明智的决定并感觉到当下。倡导者可以通过共同开展接地活动来为客户提供支持,但是一些幸存者可能更喜欢仅将接地作为个人实践。 

Hyperarousal是人体通过花费精力检测危险来保持安全的方式。 在高潮时期,我们一直在监视我们的环境和情绪。我们的大脑正在寻找熟悉我们过去创伤的危险信号。由于我们在感知到的危险与对这种危险采取行动的强烈渴望之间保持着不断的联系,因此我们的行为似乎反应过度,偏执,戏剧化,或者通常只是不必要的行为。但这实际上是我们的大脑用来重建我们的安全感和稳定性的自然过程。 

例如,一个幸存者可能正在努力与他们的拥护者一起审查证词,因为房间中的某物正在引起失调。如果服务对象不能集中精力,倡导者可以帮助其服务对象消除感官问题,或找出可以缓解困扰的方法。使用非判断性语言将帮助客户感到足够自在,以要求他们需要什么。取而代之的是,“您似乎真的分心了。我会在这里待一分钟,让您聚在一起,”尝试“这里有点热/拥挤/嘈杂,不是吗?我们应该搬到其他地方吗?”或“我知道这很多。我该怎么做才能使它变得容易些?” 

下丘脑是通过消耗能量来关闭我们对危险的反应并让身体休息的方式来保持身体安全的方法。 在性兴奋时,我们不会以自我保护的方式做出反应,因为我们的大脑阻止了危险与为避免这种危险而进行的冲动之间的联系。我们的行为可能表现为懒惰,鲁re,拒绝帮助自己或态度冷漠。但是,就像过度刺激一样,这是正常的创伤反应。随着时间的流逝,我们的身体会重新学习使我们感到安全或不安全的原因,并且我们可以远离这些极端。 

#IamCredible运动向倡导者们提出挑战,要求他们重新构造我们对创伤幸存者信誉的看法。这是至关重要的工作,因为肯定和支持的关系是创伤如何影响我们以及我们能够快速康复的关键因素。但是,我向您提出挑战,请您进一步采取行动-不要仅仅相信幸存者。更加努力地了解生存的真实面貌。 

Evy Yeager是Education的教育家,倡导者和创始人 创伤根.

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin
分享到pinterest
分享到print
分享到email

相关文章

简体中文
English Español de México 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 简体中文
滚动到顶部

为了应对COVID-19危机,我们仍在努力工作,我们的进气管已经开放,但是请注意,我们的物理办公室已关闭。

在这空前的时期,我们启动了免费的NY COVID-19法律资源热线,并编制了最新的法律和财务咨询更新。

Menu
Lawyer with client

Don’t Just “Believe Survivors.” Understand Survival.

By Evy Yeager

After enduring a traumatic experience, there are as many ways to move forward as there are people. But nearly every path to legal justice relies heavily on the survivor’s storytelling, and even more on how people respond to it. As a society and even in our justice system, we hold the wildly unrealistic expectation that people who have experienced trauma will still think and act like an untraumatized person: that we will recall memories, make decisions, and interact with others the same as before. But a fundamental feature of trauma is that our brains and bodies start operating differently. After trauma, our behavior reflects a new focus on survival because we had to survive something

Understanding more about what trauma and recovery look like can be empowering for survivors, and is an essential practice for successful advocates. Accessibility of trauma education is key for both groups. Too much of the available information on trauma is buried in clinical language that puts a barrier between practical knowledge and the people who need it. Inspired by NYLAG’s #IamCredible campaign, I put together this guide for survivors and advocates alike. Here’s a plain-language breakdown of a few concepts that helped me understand my own experience as a trauma survivor, and helped me connect with people as an advocate. 

Trauma is an event or environment that changes the way we understand our safety and social identity, and has lasting effects on our brains, bodies, and behavior. Traumatic experiences set off an instinctive response. We do not “decide” how to respond to trauma, in the same way we do not “decide” to pull our hands away when we accidentally touch a hot pan. 

What makes an experience traumatic, and not just challenging or painful, is that our brains and bodies process it as literally life-threatening. This holds true, even if the trauma itself did not involve physical danger. For example, a parent’s incarceration or illness might not directly influence a child’s access to food, shelter or caregiving, but the experience can still be so destabilizing that it activates survival instincts. 

Dysregulation is the shift in our nervous system that happens when we sense overwhelming danger, and our instinct to survive takes over. After experiencing trauma, our brains and bodies are extra sensitive to signs of danger. Sensory reminders (sights, sounds, smells) or familiar emotions from the traumatic experience can send us back into a survival state, even if the danger is not really there. For example, if you’ve had an abusive partner who yells when they’re angry, other loud noises (music, sirens, applause) might cause a reaction in your body (hands shaking or heart pounding) as if someone was yelling at you, even if you know that you are safe (“It’s just the TV, why do I feel so nervous?”) This disconnect between our thoughts and our physical reactions can leave room for self-doubt and self-blame “I’m safe now, but I still can’t focus at work or get any sleep. Something’s wrong with me.” even though these responses are both normal and out of our control. 

Grounding is an activity that helps our nervous system return to regular functioning, not survival. When we become dysregulated, the quickest way to become regulated again is to use our five senses to signal to the brain that there’s nothing dangerous here. Focusing on a sound, smell, sight, taste, or touch that’s comforting to us can reinforce a physical, emotional, and mental sense of safety. Though it might seem ridiculous to just smell something nice when we’re having a reaction that feels so extreme, connecting with some form of positive sensory thing helps to turn off the smoke alarm in our nervous system. It tells our brains, “Nevermind, nothing’s on fire, it’s just toast.” It’s important to understand that the sensory thing we choose will not make us feel suddenly fine, but it turns the dial down on whatever we’re experiencing. Regulating our nervous system means we are more able to think clearly, make informed decisions, and feel present in the moment. Advocates can offer to support their clients by doing a grounding activity together, but some survivors might prefer to use grounding only as a personal practice. 

Hyperarousal is the body’s way of staying safe by spending its energy on detecting danger. During hyperarousal, we are constantly monitoring our environment and emotions. Our brains are searching for familiar red flags of our past trauma. Because we are making constant connections between the danger we sense and an overwhelming urge to act on it, our behaviors may seem overreactive, paranoid, dramatic, or just generally unnecessary. But actually this is a natural process our brains use to reestablish our sense of safety and stability. 

For example, a survivor might be struggling to review testimony with their advocate, because something in the room is causing dysregulation. If the client is having trouble focusing, the advocate can help their client to eliminate sensory problems, or identify what would ease the struggle. Using nonjudgmental language will help the client feel comfortable enough to ask for what they need. Instead of, “You seem really distracted. I’ll leave you here for a minute to get yourself together,” try “It’s kind of hot/crowded/noisy in here, isn’t it? Should we move somewhere else?” or “I know this is a lot at once. What can I do to make it a little easier?” 

Hypoarousal is the body’s way of staying safe by spending its energy shutting off our responses to danger, and letting the body rest. During hypoarousal, we do not react in self-protective ways because our brains are blocking the connection between danger and the urge to do something to avoid it. Our behaviors may read like laziness, recklessness, refusal to help ourselves, or a callous attitude. But just like hyperarousal, this is a normal trauma response. Over time, our bodies relearn what makes us feel safe or not safe, and we can stay out of these extremes. 

The #IamCredible campaign challenges advocates to reframe how we think of trauma survivors’ credibility. This is critical work, because affirming and supportive relationships are a key factor in how trauma affects us, and how quickly we are able to recover. But I challenge you to take it a step further — don’t just believe survivors. Try a little harder to understand what survival really looks like. 

Evy Yeager is an educator, advocate, and the founder of TraumaRoot.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

Scroll to Top