fbpx

數據事件通知

紐約法律援助小組(“ NYLAG”)在員工電子郵件帳戶中發現異常活動。我們立即在第三方計算機司法調查員的協助下展開了調查,以確定所發生事件的全部性質和範圍。通過此調查,NYLAG確定在2019年11月19日至2020年2月7日之間,未知演員可以訪問某些NYLAG員工電子郵件帳戶。電子郵件憑據立即更改,並且電子郵件帳戶已得到保護。

我們關心的信息的機密性,隱私和安全性是我們的最高優先事項之一。 發現此事件後,我們迅速採取行動進行調查,並採取步驟進一步保護我們的系統。調查確定電子郵件帳戶中包含以下類型的信息:名稱,社會安全號碼,駕駛執照或其他政府發行的ID號,金融帳戶信息,護照號碼和支付卡信息。

您可以採取的行動:在多加註意的情況下,我們會通知可能受到影響的個人,並免費提供身份保護服務作為附加預防措施。 如果您對此事件有疑問,可以從東部時間上午8:00到下午5:30致電1-844-951-2886。可能受影響的個人也可以考慮以下概述的信息和資源。

他們得知此事後,NYLAG做了什麼? 得知事件後,我們立即對電子郵件帳戶的內容進行了廣泛的手動和程序檢查,以確定帳戶中包含哪些信息以及與誰相關的信息。完成後,我們便開始對文件進行徹底審查,以獲得可能受到影響的個人的地址信息。 NYLAG正在評估我們當前的安全協議,以防止將來發生類似事件。儘管我們不知道任何實際或企圖濫用任何信息,但出於謹慎考慮,我們正在通知可能受影響的個人。我們還將通知必要的監管機構。

監控您的帳戶

NYLAG鼓勵可能受到影響的個人通過查看其帳戶,福利說明和可疑活動的信用報告來保持警惕,以防備身份盜用和欺詐事件,並立即向關聯機構報告任何可疑活動。 

根據美國法律,擁有信用報告的個人每年有權從三個主要信用報告局中的每一個獲得一份免費的信用報告。要訂購免費的信用報告,請訪問www.annualcreditreport.com或致電免費電話1-877-322-8228。您也可以直接與三個主要徵信機構聯繫,以索取免費的信用報告副本。

我們鼓勵您對身份盜用和欺詐事件保持警惕,查看帳戶對帳單,並監控信用報告中是否有可疑活動。根據美國法律,您有權每年從三個主要信用報告局中的每個獲得一份免費信用報告。要訂購免費的信用報告,請訪問 www.annualcreditreport.com 或致電免費電話1-877-322-8228。您也可以直接與三個主要徵信機構聯繫,以索取免費的信用報告副本。

您有權對信用報告進行“凍結”,這將禁止消費者報告機構未經您的明確授權而發布信用報告中的信息。安全凍結旨在防止未經您的同意以您的名義批准信貸,貸款和服務。但是,您應該意識到,使用安全凍結來控制誰可以訪問您的信用報告中的個人和財務信息可能會延遲,干擾或禁止及時批准您對新帳戶提出的任何後續請求或申請貸款,信貸,抵押或任何其他涉及信貸延伸的帳戶。根據聯邦法律,您無需承擔信用報告凍結或凍結的費用。如果您希望凍結安全性,請聯繫下面列出的主要消費者報告機構:

益百利

郵政信箱9554

艾倫,TX 75013

1-888-397-3742

www.experian.com/freeze/center.html

 

創聯

郵政信箱160

賓夕法尼亞州伍德林19094

1-888-909-8872

www.transunion.com/credit-freeze

Equifax

郵政信箱105788

喬治亞州亞特蘭大30348-5788

1-800-685-1111

www.equifax.com/personal/credit-report-services

 

 

 

為了請求凍結安全性,您將需要提供以下信息:

  1. 您的全名(包括中間名的縮寫以及Jr.,Sr.,II,III等);
  2. 社會安全號碼;
  3. 出生日期;
  4. 如果您在過去五(5)年內已搬家,請提供您在過去五年中居住的地址;
  5. 當前地址的證明,例如當前的水電費或電話費;
  6. 政府簽發的身份證(國家駕駛執照或身份證,軍事身份證等)的清晰複印件;
  7. 如果您是身份盜用的受害者,請提供一份警察報告,調查報告的副本,或向執法機構投訴有關身份盜用的副本。

作為安全凍結的替代方法,您有權免費在文件上放置初始或擴展的“欺詐警報”。初始欺詐警報是放置在消費者信用文件中的1年警報。在消費者的信用文件上看到欺詐警報顯示後,企業需要在擴展新信用之前採取步驟來驗證消費者的身份。如果您是身份盜用的受害者,則您有權獲得延長的欺詐警報,該警報持續7年。如果您想發出欺詐警報,請聯繫以下任一機構:

益百利

郵政信箱9554

艾倫,TX 75013

1-888-397-3742

www.experian.com/fraud/center.html

創聯

郵政信箱2000

賓夕法尼亞切斯特,19016

1-800-680-7289

www.transunion.com/fraud-victim-resource/place-fraud-alert

Equifax

郵政信箱105069

喬治亞州亞特蘭大30348

1-888-766-0008

www.equifax.com/personal/credit-report-services

您可以通過與消費者報告機構,聯邦貿易委員會或州總檢察長聯繫,進一步了解身份盜用,欺詐警報,安全凍結以及可以採取的保護自己的步驟。

可以通過以下地址與美國聯邦貿易委員會聯繫:600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW,華盛頓特區20580, www.identitytheft.gov,1-877-ID-THEFT(1-877-438-4338); TTY:1-866-653-4261。聯邦貿易委員會還鼓勵那些發現自己的信息被濫用的人向他們投訴。您可以通過上面列出的聯繫信息獲取有關如何提出此類投訴的更多信息。如果您遇到身份盜用或欺詐,則有權提交警察報告。請注意,為了向執法部門舉報有關身份盜竊的報告,您可能需要提供一些證明自己是受害者的證據。已知或懷疑的身份盜用事件也應報告給執法部門和您所在州的總檢察長。可以通過以下方式與紐約州總檢察長聯繫:總檢察長辦公室,國會大廈,奧爾巴尼,紐約12224-0341; 1-800-771-7755; https://ag.ny.gov/。此通知並未被執法機構延遲。      

 

分享這個帖子

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 linkedin
分享在 pinterest
分享在 print
分享在 email

相關文章

繁體中文
English Español de México 简体中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 繁體中文
滾動到頂部

為了應對COVID-19危機,我們仍在努力工作,我們的進氣管已經開放,但是請注意,我們的物理辦公室已關閉。

在這空前的時期,我們啟動了免費的NY COVID-19法律資源熱線,並編制了最新的法律和財務諮詢更新。

fbpx

Notice of Data Event

The New York Legal Assistance Group (“NYLAG”) discovered unusual activity in an employee email account. We immediately launched an investigation with the assistance of a third-party computer forensic investigator to determine the full nature and scope of what occurred. Through this investigation, NYLAG determined that an unknown actor gained access to certain NYLAG employee email accounts between November 19, 2019 and February 7, 2020. The email credentials were immediately changed, and the email accounts were secured.

The confidentiality, privacy, and security of information in our care is one of our highest priorities. Upon discovering this incident, we moved quickly to investigate and took steps to further secure our systems. The investigation determined the following type of information was contained in the email accounts: name, Social Security number, driver’s license or other government issued ID number, financial account information, passport number and payment card information.

What you can do: In an abundance of caution, we are notifying potentially impacted individuals and are offering identity protection services at no cost as an added precaution. If you have questions about this incident you can call 1-844-951-2886 from 8:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Eastern Time. Potentially affected individuals may also consider the information and resources outlined below.

What did NYLAG do once they learned of the incident? Immediately after learning of the incident we undertook an extensive manual and programmatic review of the contents of the email accounts to determine what information was contained in the accounts and to whom the information related.   Once completed, we then began conducting a thorough review of our files to obtain address information for potentially impacted individuals. NYLAG is evaluating our current security protocols in order to prevent a similar incident from occurring in the future. Although we are unaware of any actual or attempted misuse of any information, we are notifying potentially affected individuals out of an abundance of caution. We will also notify necessary regulatory bodies.

Monitor Your Accounts

NYLAG encourages potentially impacted individuals to remain vigilant against incidents of identity theft and fraud by reviewing their accounts, explanations of benefits, and credit reports for suspicious activity, and to report any suspicious activity to the affiliated institutions immediately. 

Under U.S. law, individuals with credit reports are entitled to one free credit report annually from each of the three major credit reporting bureaus. To order your free credit report, visit www.annualcreditreport.com or call, toll-free, 1-877-322-8228. You may also contact the three major credit bureaus directly to request a free copy of your credit report.

We encourage you to remain vigilant against incidents of identity theft and fraud, to review your account statements, and to monitor your credit reports for suspicious activity.  Under U.S. law you are entitled to one free credit report annually from each of the three major credit reporting bureaus.  To order your free credit report, visit www.annualcreditreport.com or call, toll-free, 1-877-322-8228.  You may also contact the three major credit bureaus directly to request a free copy of your credit report.

You have the right to place a “security freeze” on your credit report, which will prohibit a consumer reporting agency from releasing information in your credit report without your express authorization.  The security freeze is designed to prevent credit, loans, and services from being approved in your name without your consent.  However, you should be aware that using a security freeze to take control over who gets access to the personal and financial information in your credit report may delay, interfere with, or prohibit the timely approval of any subsequent request or application you make regarding a new loan, credit, mortgage, or any other account involving the extension of credit.  Pursuant to federal law, you cannot be charged to place or lift a security freeze on your credit report.  Should you wish to place a security freeze, please contact the major consumer reporting agencies listed below:

Experian

P.O. Box 9554

Allen, TX 75013

1-888-397-3742

www.experian.com/freeze/center.html

 

TransUnion

P.O. Box 160

Woodlyn, PA 19094

1-888-909-8872

www.transunion.com/credit-freeze

Equifax

P.O. Box 105788

Atlanta, GA 30348-5788

1-800-685-1111

www.equifax.com/personal/credit-report-services

 

 

 

In order to request a security freeze, you will need to provide the following information:

  1. Your full name (including middle initial as well as Jr., Sr., II, III, etc.);
  2. Social Security number;
  3. Date of birth;
  4. If you have moved in the past five (5) years, provide the addresses where you have lived over the prior five years;
  5. Proof of current address, such as a current utility bill or telephone bill;
  6. A legible photocopy of a government-issued identification card (state driver’s license or ID card, military identification, etc.);
  7. If you are a victim of identity theft, include a copy of either the police report, investigative report, or complaint to a law enforcement agency concerning identity theft.

As an alternative to a security freeze, you have the right to place an initial or extended “fraud alert” on your file at no cost.  An initial fraud alert is a 1-year alert that is placed on a consumer’s credit file.  Upon seeing a fraud alert display on a consumer’s credit file, a business is required to take steps to verify the consumer’s identity before extending new credit.  If you are a victim of identity theft, you are entitled to an extended fraud alert, which is a fraud alert lasting seven years.  Should you wish to place a fraud alert, please contact any one of the agencies listed below:

Experian

P.O. Box 9554

Allen, TX 75013

1-888-397-3742

www.experian.com/fraud/center.html

TransUnion

P.O. Box 2000

Chester, PA 19016

1-800-680-7289

www.transunion.com/fraud-victim-resource/place-fraud-alert

Equifax

P.O. Box 105069

Atlanta, GA 30348

1-888-766-0008

www.equifax.com/personal/credit-report-services

You can further educate yourself regarding identity theft, fraud alerts, security freezes, and the steps you can take to protect yourself, by contacting the consumer reporting agencies, the Federal Trade Commission, or your state Attorney General.

The Federal Trade Commission can be reached at: 600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20580, www.identitytheft.gov, 1-877-ID-THEFT (1-877-438-4338); TTY: 1-866-653-4261. The Federal Trade Commission also encourages those who discover that their information has been misused to file a complaint with them. You can obtain further information on how to file such a complaint by way of the contact information listed above. You have the right to file a police report if you ever experience identity theft or fraud.  Please note that in order to file a report with law enforcement for identity theft, you will likely need to provide some proof that you have been a victim.  Instances of known or suspected identity theft should also be reported to law enforcement and your state Attorney General.  The New York Attorney General the Attorney General may be contacted at: Office of the Attorney General, The Capitol, Albany, NY 12224-0341; 1-800-771-7755; https://ag.ny.gov/.This notice has not been delayed by law enforcement.      

 

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, we are still working hard and our intake lines are open, but please note that our physical office is closed.

During these unprecedented times, we’ve launched a free NY COVID-19 Legal Resources Hotline and compiled the latest legal and financial counseling updates.