fbpx
Covid-19 FAQ

COVID-19常見問題解答:勞工權利,失業,獨立承包商等

冠狀病毒(COVID-19)大流行造成了經濟危機:數百萬人失去工作,其他人是必不可少的工人,暴露於該病毒的風險增加。如果您是您或您認識的某個人,則您擁有權利,並且有可以幫助您的資源。下面,我們匯總了我們聽到的最常見的問題(FAQ)。

如果您需要幫助,請致電我們 紐約州COVID-19法律資源熱線。

如果您的孩子正在遠程學習,您在工作場所的權利

一種。是的,如果您孩子的學校正在使用遠程學習模型,並且學校的物理位置是封閉的,那麼您 有資格獲得長達12週的帶薪休假。您的資格取決於您在照看孩子時無法遠程工作。

一種。不可以,通常只有一名父母(照顧孩子的父母)有資格獲得與兒童保育有關的家庭假期。為了獲得家庭假期,您必須證明自己是在給定時間唯一能夠監護孩子的監護人。

一種。每個雇主都可能需要其他材料,但所有僱員都必須至少提供:他們要求的日期,一份說明其請假原因的聲明以及有關其子女的學校/托兒所的信息以核實該要求。

一種。如果您孩子的學校按混合時間表/交替日時間表運行,則您 有資格請假,但僅在您孩子在家的那一天。資格要求在要求休假時沒有其他監護人能夠照顧您的孩子。

一種。如果您的孩子所在的學校允許家庭選擇讓孩子上學或將他們留在家中進行遠程學習,而您選擇將孩子留在家中,則您無資格休家庭假。資格取決於體育學校校園是否關閉,在這種情況下,情況並非如此。

一種。如果由於COVID-19而導致您的孩子處於隔離令下,或者已由醫療保健提供者建議您對其進行自我隔離或自我隔離,則您可能有資格請帶薪假照料他或她。這包括《家庭首次冠狀病毒應對法》規定的2週帶薪休假以及FMLA規定的12周無薪休假。此外,《紐約州帶薪休假法》(PFL)授予受僱至少26周至10週帶薪休假的工人。 

一種。如果您孩子的學校正在使用遠程學習模型,但仍在繼續評估,並可能在學年晚些時候重新開放面對面課程,則您 只要您的孩子所在的體育學校校園保持關閉狀態,就有資格享受福利。

失業保險/ CARES法

一種。 可能是的。 除非您獲得帶薪休假或能夠遠程工作,否則您可能有資格獲得失業保險金,無論是根據紐約州的常規UIB計劃還是根據CARES法案,新的聯邦法律將福利擴展至通常不屬於常規UIB的工人系統。

b。許多通常沒有資格獲得失業保險金的人可能有資格根據《 CARES法》的大流行性失業援助(PUA)計劃獲得津貼;例如,獨立承包商,工作經驗少的工人,兼職工人或由於與COVID大流行直接相關的原因而辭職的員工。

一世。因COVID大流行而辭職的工人應盡最大努力在因COVID相關原因而辭職之前保持工作。例如,如果您因為擔心暴露的風險而辭職,則應考慮首先請您的雇主為您請假(如果您有基本的健康狀況,最好有醫生的照會),或獲得許可進行遠程辦公(如果可能),或在工作中配備個人防護設備和其他防護措施。

C。 欲獲得更多信息:

一世。 DOL CARES法案您需要了解的內容: https://labor.ny.gov/ui/pdfs/cares-act-need-to-know.pdf

ii。針對您可能有資格獲得大流行性失業援助的方案的DOL清單: https://labor.ny.gov/ui/pdfs/pandemic-unemployment-assistance.pdf

iii。 DOL流程圖顯示了申請UI /關懷法案福利的過程:https://labor.ny.gov/ui/cares-act.shtm

iv。自僱人士的DOL指南: https://labor.ny.gov/ui/pdfs/self-employed-ui-guide.pdf

一種。 可能是的。 除非您獲得帶薪休假或能夠進行遠程辦公,否則您可能有資格根據通過CARES法建立的大流行性失業援助(PUA)計劃獲得失業保險金。

一種。由於要申請的人數眾多,現在很難提交UIB索賠。您應該按照DOL網站上的說明進行在線申請。

b。要繼續嘗試通過電話申請,請致電以下地址的電話投訴中心 1-888-209-8124。電話備案時間為星期一至星期五,上午8:00至晚上7:30。

一個。這取決於。如果DOL認為您有充分理由拒絕這份工作,那麼您仍然有資格獲得福利。 DOL明確表示,由於“普遍擔心COVID-19”,因此拒絕工作並非“正當理由”。有關此問題,請參閱DOL的情況說明書。 這裡。

  • 紐約州指南指出,每周向失業保險金(UIB)支付的$600大流行性失業補償(PUC)增加,連同現金補助和SNAP,都算作現金援助和SNAP的非勞動收入。
  • 發出的任何追溯UIB / PUC在收到當月即被視為SNAP的資源,但是由於基於廣泛的分類資格,大多數SNAP住戶無需接受資源測試。
  • 追溯性UIB / PUC也被認為是現金補助的一次性付款,這可能會使家庭在一段時間內沒有資格。
  • 對於要求按法院命令支付的子女撫養費的非監護父母而言,這一擴展尤其重要。

工人健康/安全;宿舍

一種。您可能有權請假。例如,如果您已超過60歲,或患有基本的健康狀況(例如糖尿病或哮喘),則不妨告知您的雇主您的狀況,增加的風險,並要求請假作為住宿條件以避免暴露。最好請求特定時間的休假,因為可能不需要雇主允許您無限期休假。此外,備有醫生證明以備份您的請求將非常有幫助。

b。如果可以的話,您也可以要求住宿在家中進行工作。

C。您的雇主對您要求此類住宿的行為進行報復是違法的,但這不能保證他們會向您提供住宿。

d。如果您的雇主無法提供住宿,並且您確定需要辭職,則由於對工作中感染冠狀病毒的擔憂而辭職,可能會獲得失業保險(請參閱問題#1)。

一種。 ,不幸的是,即使您有生病的恐懼,您的工作也沒有得到保護。如果您沒有其他選擇上班,則如果您患有基礎疾病並擔心暴露,則不妨要求提供合理的住宿時間以便下班。如果您沒有潛在的健康狀況,則應決定是否要承擔繼續上下班或留在家裡的風險。如果您因這些風險而辭職,則可以申請UI福利;如果您能證明自己在辭職之前已經努力保留自己的工作,則申請會更強大,但並不能保證覆蓋範圍(請參閱問題# 1) , 以上)。

一世。注意:絕對不要為了獲得失業救濟而辭職。

一種。,不幸的是,如果您由於對感染的普遍恐懼而沒有去上班,並且您沒有基礎要求住宿(請參閱問題#5),您的工作將不受法律保護。但是,如果您的雇主沒有提供安全的工作場所,您可能希望請您的雇主採取措施減少或消除危險情況。例如,您可能要求您的雇主允許您進行通勤或錯開員工的工作時間表。

b。如果您認為由於COVID-19感染的威脅而需要個人防護設備(PPE),您也有權要求其提供個人防護設備(PPE)。最好是作為一個整體來要求它,因為法律對集體行動的工人比單獨行動的工人更具保護作用。

C。如果您認為您的雇主違反了職業健康與安全法規,則不妨向OSHA投訴。雇主解僱您是非法的,因為您對可能的健康和安全違規行為提出了投訴。

一世。 更多信息在這裡: https://www.osha.gov/workers/

d。如果儘管進行了這些嘗試,但您仍未收到個人防護裝備,或者您的雇主仍未採取措施減少危險狀況,則應決定是否要冒工作風險或留在家裡。如果您待在家裡,不能保證您的工作將得到保護。如果由於這些風險而辭職,可以申請失業救濟;但是,不能保證覆蓋範圍(請參見上面的問題#1)。

一世。注意:絕對不要為了獲得失業救濟而辭職。

一種。由於您目前不照顧家人,因此您無權休帶薪或無薪假。是否要冒著工作風險或待在家裡取決於您自己。

b。根據與殘障人士的關係,雇主歧視您是非法的。這意味著您的雇主不能因為您與殘障人士有關係而讓您更糟。但是,不能保證您待在家裡會保護您的工作。

C。如果由於家庭成員的風險而辭職,您可以申請失業救濟金;如果您能證明自己在辭職之前已經努力保留工作,則申請的理由會更強。但是,不能保證覆蓋範圍(請參見上面的問題#1)。

一世。例如,您可以請治療您的家庭成員的醫生提供一封醫療信,以說明他們的醫療狀況以及將他們暴露於病毒的風險,並說明家庭需要在適當的地方庇護以最大程度地降低風險。

d。注意:絕對不要為了獲得失業救濟而辭職。

一種。你的老闆違反了法律。如果您不是必需的工人,則不應去上班。您可能希望向NYS DOL投訴,請點擊此處: https://www.labor.ny.gov/workerprotection/laborstandards/coronavirus-complaints.shtm

帶薪休假/家事假

一種。 可能是的。 您可能有權根據 紐約市贏得疾病和安全 時間法。 該法律規定,如果您的雇主少於五名僱員,則僱員最多可享受40個小時的無薪病假;如果您的雇主有五名僱員以上,則可為僱員提供40個小時的有薪病假。此處的更多信息: https://www1.nyc.gov/site/dca/about/paid-sick-leave-what-employees-need-to-know.page

b。根據該規定,您還可以享受兩週帶薪病假 家庭首次冠狀病毒應對法(FFCRA)。根據FFCRA,如果您的雇主少於500名員工,並且由於醫療保健提供者建議您進行隔離和/或因為您遇到COVID-19症狀而無法工作,則您有權享受兩週帶薪病假並正在尋求醫學診斷。 (請注意,如果某些小型企業的員工人數少於50名,則該企業認為合規將是一項不必要的困難,則可以免除該法律。)

C。您可能也有資格 臨時傷殘保險(TDI) 用來彌補您不工作時損失的部分收入。這些福利應支付給失業保險的工人。您可能不會同時獲得失業保險金和TDI。 TDI利益最多可使用26週。請訪問NYS Workers'Comp Board網站以獲取更多信息: http://www.wcb.ny.gov/content/main/DisabilityBenefits/Employer/introToLaw.jsp

d。如果您認為自己在工作中被感染,則可能有資格 工傷補償金,但是除非您是衛生保健工作者,否則可能很難證明您在工作中受到感染。您必須在30天內通知雇主您的工作場所受傷/疾病;此規則非常嚴格,最好以書面形式通知您的雇主。有關更多信息,請訪問NYS Workers'Comp Board網站: http://www.wcb.ny.gov/

一種。 可能是的。 在下面 家庭首次冠狀病毒應對法(FFCRA),如果您的雇主少於500名員工,則您有權按常規工資的2/3享有兩週的帶薪病假,以採取包括自我隔離在內的預防性醫療措施。 (請注意,如果某些小型企業的員工人數少於50名,則該企業確定合規性是一項不必要的困難,則可以免稅。)

b。此外, 紐約州緊急COVID-19帶薪病假法 在公共衛生官員建議自我隔離的情況下授予僱員帶保護性休假:如果您的雇主每年賺取超過$1百萬或擁有11-99名僱員,則您可能有資格獲得最多5天的帶薪假;如果您的雇主有100名或更多員工,則您可能有資格獲得最多14天的帶薪假。

一種。 可能是的。 在下面 家庭首次冠狀病毒應對法(FFCRA), 如果您的雇主少於500名員工,則您有權按常規工資的2/3享受兩週的帶薪病假,以照料生病的家庭成員。 (請注意,如果某些小型企業的員工人數少於50名,則該企業認為合規將是一項不必要的困難,則可以免除該法律。)

b。在下面 家庭病假法,如果您在75英里半徑範圍內為擁有至少50名員工的雇主工作,您已經在該地區工作了至少一年,並且在您請假之前一年中至少工作了1250小時,那麼您的雇主必須提供您最多可以享受12週的無薪休假時間。當您休假回國時,您的雇主必須允許您在相同或基本相似的職位上工作。

C。的 紐約州帶薪休假法(PFL) 補助已被雇用至少26周至10週帶薪家事假的工人。工人的平均週薪為60%,最高為$840.70。

d。的 紐約市《病假和安全時間法》 如果您的雇主少於五名僱員,則可為僱員提供40個小時的無薪病假;如果您的雇主有五名或以上僱員,則可為僱員提供40個小時的有薪病假,可用於照顧患病的家庭成員。

e。您的雇主對您進行報復是非法的,因為您已請求或使用了病假或家事假。

一種。 可能是的。 在下面 家庭首次冠狀病毒應對法(FFCRA),如果您的雇主少於500名員工,則如果您留在家中照顧18歲以下的孩子,則您可能會以正常工資的2/3休假12週,每天最多$200。 (請注意,少於50名僱員的雇主可根據法律要求豁免此項義務。)

b。如果您沒有資格請假或已經用完所有請假,並且別無選擇,只能與孩子待在一起,則可以根據《 CARES法》申請失業保險金(請參閱問題#1)。

移民身份和福利資格

一個。無證件工人無資格領取失業保險金,這要求索賠人具有在美國工作的合法許可,但某些具有工作許可的移民可能有資格領取失業金。請注意,您在工作期間(正在計算工作歷史)以及在申請時必須具有工作授權。其中應包括LPR,難民,被收容者和一些申請人,DACA接收者,TPS接收者和申請人以及取消遣返的申請人。您應該與移民律師交談,以確保您在申請福利之前了解自己的具體身份和工作授權。

b。但是,無證件工人可以根據其他法律獲得福利,包括 紐約州帶薪休假,紐約市《病假與安全時間法》,臨時傷殘保險和工人賠償金。

C。 此外,沒有關於新移民資格的移民身份相關限制 FFCRA帶薪病假或帶薪家庭假 規定;僱員無論其移民身份如何都有權享有此假期。由於帶薪休假應由雇主以與支付工資相同的方式直接支付給僱員,因此除非僱員提出指控違反法律的索賠,否則不應與政府機構打交道。通常,這些機構在接到投訴時不會詢問工人的移民身份。 

如需針對具體案例的幫助,請訪問我們的 “得到幫助” 頁。 

分享這個帖子

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 linkedin
分享在 pinterest
分享在 print
分享在 email

相關文章

繁體中文
English Español de México 简体中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 繁體中文
滾動到頂部

為了應對COVID-19危機,我們仍在努力工作,我們的進氣管已經開放,但是請注意,我們的物理辦公室已關閉。

在這空前的時期,我們啟動了免費的NY COVID-19法律資源熱線,並編制了最新的法律和財務諮詢更新。

fbpx
Covid-19 FAQ

COVID-19 FAQs: Workers’ rights, unemployment, independent contractors & more

The coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic has created an economic crisis: millions have loss jobs, others are essential workers at increased risk for being exposed to the virus. If this is you or someone you know, you have rights and there are resources that can help you. Below, we compiled the most frequently asked questions (FAQs) that we have been hearing.

If you are in need to assistance, please call our NY COVID-19 Legal Resource Hotline.

Your Rights in the Workplace if Your Child is Remote Learning

a. Yes, if your child’s school is using a remote learning model and the physical location of the school is closed, then you are eligible to receive up to 12 weeks paid time off. Your eligibility depends upon your inability to work remotely while caring for your child.

a. No, generally only one parent (the one who is caring for the child) is eligible for child-care related family leave. In order to gain family leave, you have to prove that you are the only guardian capable of watching your child at the given time.

a. Each employer may require additional materials, but all employees must provide, at a minimum: their requested dates, a statement explaining their reason for needing the leave, and information regarding their children’s school/daycare to verify the claim.

a. If your child’s school is operating on a hybrid schedule/alternate day schedule, you are eligible to take leave, but only on the days in which your child is at home. Eligibility requires that no other guardian is able to take care of your child at the time leave is requested.

a. If your child’s school gives households the option to send children to school or to keep them home for remote learning and you choose to keep your child home, you are not eligible for family leave. Eligibility depends upon the physical school campus being closed, and in this case, it is not.

a. If, because of COVID-19, your child is under a quarantine order or has been advised by a health care provider to self-isolate or self-quarantine, you may be eligible to take paid leave to care for him or her. This includes 2 weeks of paid leave under the Families First Coronavirus Response Act as well as 12 weeks of unpaid leave under the FMLA. Furthermore, New York State Paid Family Leave Law (PFL) grants workers who have been employed for at least 26 weeks up to 10 weeks of paid family leave. 

a. If your child’s school is using a remote learning model but is continuing to evaluate and may reopen for in-person classes later in the school year, you are eligible for benefits so long as your child’s physical school campus stays closed.

Unemployment Insurance/CARES Act

a. Likely, yes. Unless you are receiving paid leave or are able to telework, you are likely eligible for unemployment insurance benefits, either under New York State’s regular UIB program or under the CARES Act, the new federal law extending benefits to workers typically left out of the regular UIB system.

b. Many people who would not usually qualify for unemployment insurance benefits may be eligible for benefits under the CARES Act’s Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) program; for example, independent contractors, workers with little work history, part-time workers, or employees who quit their jobs for reasons directly related to the COVID pandemic.

i. Workers who quit their job due to the COVID pandemic should make their best efforts to keep their jobs before quitting for COVID-related reasons. For example, if you quit because you are afraid of the risks of exposure, you should consider first asking your employer for an accommodation for a leave of absence (if you have an underlying health conditions, ideally with a doctor’s note), or for permission to telecommute (if possible), or to be provided with personal protective equipment and other protective measures on the job.

c. For more information:

i. DOL CARES Act What You Need to Know: https://labor.ny.gov/ui/pdfs/cares-act-need-to-know.pdf

ii. DOL checklist for scenarios where you may be eligible for Pandemic Unemployment Assistance: https://labor.ny.gov/ui/pdfs/pandemic-unemployment-assistance.pdf

iii. DOL flow chart showing process for applying for UI/Cares Act benefits: https://labor.ny.gov/ui/cares-act.shtm

iv. DOL Guidance for self-employed individuals: https://labor.ny.gov/ui/pdfs/self-employed-ui-guide.pdf

a. Likely, yes. Unless you are receiving paid leave or are able to telework, you are likely eligible for unemployment insurance benefits under the Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) program, created through the CARES Act.

a. It is very difficult to file a UIB claim right now because of the volume of people trying to apply. You should follow the instructions on the DOL website and apply online.

b. To continue to try to apply by phone, call the Telephone Claim Center, at 1-888-209-8124. Telephone filing hours are Monday through Friday, from 8:00 am to 7:30 pm.

a. It depends. You may still be eligible to receive benefits if the DOL finds that you had good cause to turn down the job offer. The DOL has made clear that it is not “good cause” to turn down a job because of a “general fear of COVID-19.” See the DOL’s Fact Sheet on this issue here.

  • New York State guidance states that the $600/week Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (PUC) increase to Unemployment Insurance Benefits (UIB) payments is counted as unearned income for both Cash Assistance and SNAP, in combination with regular UIB payments.
  • Any retroactive UIB/PUC issued is considered a resource for SNAP in the month it is received, but due to Broad-Based Categorical Eligibility, most SNAP households are not subject to a resource test.
  • Retroactive UIB/PUC is also considered a lump-sum payment for Cash Assistance which may make a household ineligible for a period of time.
  • This expansion is especially important for noncustodial parents who are required to make court-ordered child support payments.

Worker Health/Safety; Accommodations

a. You may be entitled to take a leave of absence from your job. For example, if you are over 60 years old, or have an underlying health condition such as diabetes or asthma, you may wish to inform your employer of your condition, your increased risks, and request a leave of absence as an accommodation to avoid exposure. It is best to ask for leave for a specific duration of time, because an employer may not be required to permit you to remain on leave indefinitely. In addition, it would be very helpful to have a doctor’s note to back up your request.

b. You can also ask for an accommodation to perform work from home, if such work is available.

c. It is illegal for your employer to retaliate against you for asking for this type of accommodation, but that does not guarantee that they will grant it to you.

d. If your employer is unable to provide an accommodation, and you determine that you need to quit your job, you may be able to obtain unemployment insurance if you are leaving your job due to concerns over contracting coronavirus at work (see question #1).

a. Yes, unfortunately your job is not protected even though you have a reasonable fear of getting sick. If you have no other option for getting to work, you may wish to request a reasonable accommodation to take time from work if you have an underlying medical condition and are worried about exposure. If you do not have an underlying medical condition, you should decide whether you wish to take on the risk of continuing to commute to work, or to stay home. You may apply for UI benefits if you quit your job because of these risks, and your application will be stronger if you can show that you made an effort to keep your job before quitting your job however you are not guaranteed coverage (see question # 1, above).

i. Note: you should never quit your job just to get unemployment benefits.

a. Yes, unfortunately your job is not legally protected if you do not come to work because of your general fear of infection, and if you do not have a basis to ask for an accommodation (see question #5). However, if your employer is not providing a safe workplace, you may wish to ask your employer to take steps to reduce or eliminate dangerous conditions. For example, you may ask for your employer to allow you to telecommute, or to stagger employees’ work schedules.

b. You also have the right to ask for personal protective equipment (PPE) if you believe you need it because of a threat of COVID-19 infection. It is best if you ask for it as a group, because the law is more protective of workers who act collectively than alone.

c. If you believe your employer is violating occupational health and safety regulations, you may wish to file a complaint with OSHA. It is illegal for your employer to fire you because you filed a complaint about possible health and safety violations.

i. More information here: https://www.osha.gov/workers/

d. If you do not receive PPE or your employer does not take steps to reduce dangerous conditions despite these attempts, you should decide whether you wish to take on the risk of working or stay home. There is no guarantee your job will be protected if you stay home. You may apply for unemployment benefits if you quit your job because of these risks; however you are not guaranteed coverage (see question #1, above).

i. Note: you should never quit your job just to get unemployment benefits.

a. Because you are not currently caring for your family member, you do not have the right to paid or unpaid leave to stay home. It is up to you whether you wish to take on the risk of working or to stay home.

b. It is illegal for your employer to discriminate against you based on your association with someone who is disabled. That means that your employer cannot treat you worse because you are associated with a disabled person. However, there is no guarantee your job will be protected if you stay home.

c. You may apply for unemployment benefits if you quit your job because of the risk to your family member, and your application will be stronger if you can show that you made an effort to keep your job before quitting your job; however you are not guaranteed coverage (see question #1, above).

i. For example, you can ask a doctor who treats your family member to provide a medical letter explaining their medical condition and the risks of exposing them to the virus, and explaining that the family needs to shelter in place to minimize the risks.

d. Note: you should never quit your job just to get unemployment benefits.

a. Your boss is violating the law. You should not go to work if you are not an essential worker. You may wish to file a complaint with the NYS DOL, here: https://www.labor.ny.gov/workerprotection/laborstandards/coronavirus-complaints.shtm

Paid Leave/Family Leave

a. Likely, yes. You may be entitled to paid sick leave under the NYC Earned Sick and Safe Time Act. This law provides employees up to 40 hours of unpaid sick leave if your employer has fewer than five employees, or 40 hours of paid sick leave if your employer has more than five employees. More information here: https://www1.nyc.gov/site/dca/about/paid-sick-leave-what-employees-need-to-know.page

b. You may also be entitled to two weeks of paid sick leave under the Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA). Under the FFCRA, if your employer has fewer than 500 employees, you are entitled to two weeks of paid sick leave if you are unable to work because a health care provider advised you to quarantine, and/or because you are experiencing COVID-19 symptoms and are seeking medical diagnosis. (Note that some small businesses with under 50 employees may be exempt from this law should the business determine that compliance would be an undue hardship.)

c. You may also be eligible for Temporary Disability Insurance (TDI) to replace some of the income you lose while you are not working. These benefits are payable to workers who were insured off the job. You may not receive unemployment insurance benefits and TDI at the same time. TDI benefits are available for a maximum of 26 weeks. Visit the NYS Workers’ Comp Board website for more information: http://www.wcb.ny.gov/content/main/DisabilityBenefits/Employer/introToLaw.jsp

d. If you believe you were infected at work, you may qualify for Workers’ Compensation Benefits, though it may be difficult to prove you were infected on the job, unless you are a health care worker. You must notify your employer of your workplace injury/illness within 30 days; this rule is very strict, and it is best to inform your employer in writing. For more information, visit the NYS Workers’ Comp Board website: http://www.wcb.ny.gov/

a. Likely, yes. Under the Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA), if your employer has fewer than 500 employees, you are entitled to two weeks of paid sick leave, at 2/3 of your regular rate of pay, to take preventative medical measures including self-isolation. (Note that some small businesses with under 50 employees may be exempt should the business determine that compliance is an undue hardship.)

b. In addition, NY State’s Emergency COVID-19 Paid Sick Leave Law grants employees protected leave where a public health official recommends self-isolation: if your employer makes more than $1 million per year or has between 11-99 employees, you may be eligible for up to 5 days of paid leave; if your employer has 100 or more employees, you may be eligible for up to 14 days of paid leave.

a. Likely, yes. Under the Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA), if your employer has fewer than 500 employees, you are entitled to two weeks of paid sick leave, at 2/3 of your regular rate of pay, to care for a sick family member. (Note that some small businesses with under 50 employees may be exempt from this law should the business determine that compliance would be an undue hardship.)

b. Under the Family Medical Leave Act, if you work for an employer with at least 50 employees in a 75-mile radius, you have worked there for at least a year, and you worked at least 1250 hours in the year before you take time off, then your employer must provide you with up to 12 weeks of unpaid time off. When you return from leave, your employer must allow you to work in the same or a substantially similar position.

c. The New York State Paid Family Leave Law (PFL) grants workers who have been employed at least 26 weeks up to 10 weeks of paid family leave. Workers receive 60% of their average weekly wage, up to a cap of $840.70.

d. The NYC Earned Sick and Safe Time Act provides employees up to 40 hours of unpaid sick leave if your employer has fewer than five employees, or 40 hours of paid sick leave if your employer has five or more employees, which can be used to care for a sick family member.

e. It is illegal for your employer to retaliate against you because you have asked for or used sick or family leave.

a. Likely, yes. Under the Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA), if your employer has fewer than 500 employees, you may receive 12 weeks of leave at 2/3 of your regular rate of pay, up to $200 per day, if you are staying home to care for a child under the age of 18. (Note that employers with fewer than 50 employees may seek an exemption to this obligation under the law.)

b. If you are ineligible for leave or have exhausted all leave and have no choice but to stay home with your child, you may apply for Unemployment Insurance Benefits under the CARES Act (see question #1).

Immigration Status and Benefit Eligibility

a. Undocumented workers cannot qualify for Unemployment Insurance Benefits, which requires that claimants have legal authorization to work in the U.S. But certain immigrants with work authorization may be eligible for benefits. Note that you must have had work authorization during the time they worked (for which the work history is being counted), and at the time they are applying. This should include LPRs, refugees, asylees and some applicants, DACA recipients, TPS recipients and applicants, and applicants for cancellation of removal. You should speak with an immigration attorney to make sure you understand your specific status and work authorization before applying for benefits.

b. However, undocumented workers can receive benefits under other laws, including NYS Paid Family Leave, NYC Earned Sick and Safe Time Act, Temporary Disability Insurance and Workers’ Compensation Benefits.

c. In addition, there are no immigration status–related restrictions on eligibility for the new FFCRA paid sick leave or paid family leave provisions; employees are entitled to this leave regardless of their immigration status. Because paid leave should be paid directly to employees by their employers in the same way wages are paid, there should be no involvement with government agencies unless an employee files a claim alleging violations of the law. Generally, those agencies do not inquire into workers’ immigration status when they receive a complaint. 

For assistance on case-specific questions, visit our “Get Help” page. 

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English