fbpx
womanholdingcreditcard-1200

冠狀病毒規劃:減少支出和節省資金的技巧。

信息是截至2020年4月23日的最新信息。

NYLAG財務顧問總監Mario Gutierrez撰文。 

隨著該國繼續應對冠狀病毒(COVID19)大流行的影響,它再次顯示了那些依靠薪水支付薪水,賺取低工資或生活貧困的人的危險性。

顯然,情況可能不會很快恢復到“正常”狀態。由於消費者支出減少和社會疏遠導致經濟開始崩潰,更多的人將受到影響。

但是有選擇。 現在是時候採取行動,以確保您處於可能的最佳財務狀況。 NYLAG唯一的非法律計劃,財務諮詢,在針對危機的財務計劃方面擁有深厚的專業知識。實際上,我們始於2009年,當時發生了金融危機,幫助數千人恢復了經濟穩定。

危機財務計劃-現在要做什麼。

  1. 優先考慮賬單 –無論您的工作是否受到影響,請查看所有賬單並確定哪些賬單至關重要,而哪些賬單您可能不需要立即支付。請與服務提供商聯繫,因為有些服務提供商可能會提供幫助或選擇暫時不付款。例如,紐約州的主要電力和天然氣公用事業公司已同意不削減病毒大流行期間無法付款的客戶的電力或熱量。 https://www.governor.ny.gov/news/after-weeks-demanding-approval-governor-cuomo-announces-fda-gives-new-york-state-authority
  2. 減少支出 –如果情況惡化,您應該開始減少不必要的和可自由支配的支出。這些費用可以包括娛樂,某些食品和奢侈品。如果您在接下來的幾週或幾個月內失去收入,則應將這些儲蓄作為應急資金存入儲蓄帳戶。
  3. 接觸信用卡 –由於發生COVID-19大流行,許多金融機構已製定了付款延期計劃或同意免除部分費用。此外,這些機構還可以提供困難項目或其他債務管理選項。請與您的債權人聯繫以獲取詳細信息。查閱此實時頁面,了解援助銀行提供的信息: https://www.forbes.com/sites/advisor/2020/03/12/list-of-banks-offering-relief-to-customers-affected-by-coronavirus/#5ec2fc083ee3。對於那些沒有信用卡的人,您可能需要考慮開放一張以獲得更多的靈活性。請諮詢財務顧問,以確保這對您的財務狀況有意義。
  4. 更改您償還學生貸款的方式 –《撫養法》(下文中有更多信息)的條款自動將某些聯邦學生貸款的所有應付款暫停至2020年9月30日。在暫停付款期間不會產生利息,並且不會對您的信用產生負面影響。有關更多信息,您可以簽出 https://www.studentloanborrowerassistance.org/what-the-cares-act-means-for-repayment-of-federal-student-loans/. 《 CARES法》未涵蓋的私立學生貸款借款人和聯邦學生貸款借款人仍然有所減輕。 紐約金融服務部於4/7/20宣布與紐約最大的私人學生貸款服務機構達成協議,以為CARES法案未涵蓋的借款人提供救濟。細節仍在製定中,更多信息可以在這裡找到: https://www.dfs.ny.gov/press_releases/pr202004072. 對於CARES法案未涵蓋的聯邦學生貸款 或紐約州協議,您可以通過兩種方式暫時中止付款:延期和寬容。有了延期,您也許可以避免應計利息,而有了寬容,您就可以避免應計利息,這意味著您的債務將會增加。寬容期間的最佳做法是償還利息部分,以免債務增加。
  5. 刪除自動借記付款 –如果您認為現金短缺,則應考慮刪除賬單和其他公用事業的自動借記付款。這樣,您可以為自己確定開支的優先順序提供更大的靈活性。

請隨時注意與冠狀病毒有關的價格欺詐和欺詐。 企業通過出售“對消費者的健康,安全或福利至關重要”的商品或服務來利用消費者的不公平優勢是違法的。如果您發現有價格欺詐行為,則應通過以下途徑投訴 https://www1.nyc.gov/site/dca/consumers/file-complaint.page#onlinecomplaint。應避免提供能夠“治愈”病毒的產品的服務。您可以在以下位置找到更多信息 https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/features/coronavirus-scams-what-ftc-doing.

護理法

3月27日,《 CARES法案》生效。它提供幫助的三種主要方式是通過經濟影響付款,提高失業救濟金和小型企業援助。

經濟影響付款是向許多公民和居民的直接付款,這些公民和居民的收入低於其申請身份和合格子女的收入。 以下是不需要執行其他任何操作即可獲得付款的人的列表:

  • 使用直接存款信息提交2018年或2019年納稅申報表的人
  • 沒有16歲以下未成年子女的社會保障退休,殘疾和補充保障收入或遺屬撫卹金的接收者
  • 退伍軍人福利的獲得者

IRS.gov網站上有一個“非申報者:輸入付款信息”工具,許多NYLAG客戶可能需要使用該工具才能獲得付款。對於不需要納稅且不享受上述福利的個人,IRS需要有關您的更多信息才能進行付款。可以在這裡完成: https://www.irs.gov/coronavirus/non-filers-enter-payment-info-here。您還可以在以下位置獲得更多常規信息 https://www.irs.gov/coronavirus/get-my-payment-frequently-asked-questions.

重要的是要澄清 經濟影響付款是免稅的,僅可用於撫養子女的債務,而不能用於其他聯邦債務,例如學生貸款或過去的稅收債務。 同樣,這些付款將不算作經過經濟審查的聯邦福利計劃(例如Medicaid,SSI,SNAP或住房援助)的福利資源。

請注意,與贈款或經濟影響付款(通常稱為“刺激性付款”)有關的詐騙正在以電話,短信和電子郵件的方式增加。了解如何保護您的個人信息並避免與稅收有關的欺詐和身份盜用: https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/blog/2020/04/coronavirus-stimulus-payment-scams-what-you-need-know.

該法還通過兩種方式加強了失業救濟金。 增強的失業救濟金提供39週的救濟金(以前為26週),以及每週額外的$600,直到2020年7月31日。如果您是自由職業者或個體經營者,則可以根據大流行性失業援助條款獲得臨時失業津貼。可以在以下位置找到更多信息 https://labor.ny.gov/ui/cares-act.shtm.

CARES法確實為小型企業提供了幫助。但是,對於我們許多獨資經營者和獨立承包商的客戶而言,主要資源已不再可用。經濟傷害災難貸款(及預付款)已被提取出來。 國會正在努力進行第二輪援助 並且我們將確保我們的客戶了解這些發展。

額外資源

  1. SNAP和食品儲藏室 –對於那些面臨財務壓力的人,補充營養援助計劃(SNAP)可能會非常有幫助。它為食品提供現金利益,以幫助補充這些費用。更多信息可以在這裡找到 - https://www1.nyc.gov/site/hra/help/snap-benefits-food-program.page。此外,所有SNAP福利的重新認證都將無限期推遲。您還可以考慮檢查我們當地的食品儲藏室,可以在這裡找到: https://www.foodbanknyc.org/get-help/.
  2. HFLS –希伯來免費貸款協會向因爆發而面臨財務挑戰的合格個人提供冠狀病毒財務影響貸款。申請人需要有共同簽名人,並且有收入限制。這筆貸款沒有成本或利息,有關更多信息,請訪問: https://hfls.org/loan-programs/#corona.
  3. 自理 –瞬息萬變的局勢帶來了很多不確定性和壓力。作為財務顧問,我們知道財務壓力不僅會影響個人和家庭的長期財務狀況,還會影響他們的身心健康。 NYC Well可以使個人獲得免費的保密精神健康支持。他們可以通過電話,短信或聊天與輔導員交談;如果需要,請轉介給精神保健服務提供者。有關NYC Well的更多信息: https://nycwell.cityofnewyork.us/en/.
  4. 住房 –房利美(Fannie Mae)和房地美(Freddie Mac)正在暫停所有止贖房屋的出售和對借款人的驅逐,擴大其寬容計劃以及對與災難相關的貸款進行其他修改。他們還暫停了向信貸機構報告欠款的情況。此處的更多信息: https://www.washingtonpost.com/business/economy/fannie-mae-freddie-mac-to-suspend-foreclosures/2020/03/18/0f8ee80a-693d-11ea-b313-df458622c2cc_story.html。 NYLAG已經發布了有關房客的權利和保護的信息,可以在這裡找到: https://www.washingtonpost.com/business/economy/fannie-mae-freddie-mac-to-suspend-foreclosures/2020/03/18/0f8ee80a-693d-11ea-b313-df458622c2cc_story.html.
  5. 無證居民 –不幸的是,大部分救濟將無法提供給無證件居民。紐約州青年領袖理事會(NYSYLC)為無證居民和為該人群量身定制的資源啟動了一項應急基金,可以在以下位置找到: https://www.nysylc.org/undocufunds.

這些是可怕的時期,但您確實可以控制。上面的步驟和資源可以幫助使困難的情況好一點。

NYLAG的財務諮詢團隊隨時為您服務。要了解更多信息並取得聯繫,請單擊 這裡, 訪問我們的 冠狀病毒資源 頁,和/或致電我們的免費NY COVID-19法律資源熱線: (929) 356- 9582 或點擊 這裡.

分享這個帖子

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 linkedin
分享在 pinterest
分享在 print
分享在 email

相關文章

Eileen Connor (left) and Toby Merrill of the Harvard Law School's Project on Predatory Student Lending Photograph courtesy of the Project on Predatory Student Lending

“攻擊債務概念”

在《哈佛雜誌》的這篇文章中,紐約州立大學洛杉磯分校的傑西卡·拉努奇(Jessica Ranucci)宣稱,明確需要進行前瞻性訴訟,才能克服以營利為目的的大學行業中的訴訟挑戰。

閱讀更多 ”
繁體中文
English Español de México 简体中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 繁體中文
滾動到頂部

為了應對COVID-19危機,我們仍在努力工作,我們的進氣管已經開放,但是請注意,我們的物理辦公室已關閉。

在這空前的時期,我們啟動了免費的NY COVID-19法律資源熱線,並編制了最新的法律和財務諮詢更新。

fbpx
womanholdingcreditcard-1200

Coronavirus Planning: Tips to Reduce Spending and Save Money.

Information is current as of April 23, 2020.

By Mario Gutierrez, NYLAG’s Director of Financial Counseling. 

As the nation continues to deal with the fallout of the coronavirus (COVID19) pandemic, it has shown once again the precarious nature of those who live paycheck to paycheck, earn low-wages, or are experiencing poverty.

It’s clear that things will likely not go back to “normal” anytime soon. As the economy starts to sputter as a result of constricted consumer spending and social distancing, many more will be affected.

But there are options. Now is the time to take action to ensure you are in the best financial place you can possibly be. NYLAG’s only non-legal program, financial counseling, has deep expertise around financial planning for a crisis. In fact, we started in 2009 when the then financial crisis happened, helping thousands restore their economic stability.

CRISIS FINANCIAL PLANNING-WHAT TO DO RIGHT NOW.

  1. Prioritize bills – Whether your job has been affected or not, take a look at all of your bills and identify which ones are critical and those that you may not need to pay immediately. Do check in with service providers as some may be offering assistance or an option to temporarily skip payments. For example, NY State’s major electric and gas utilities have agreed to not cut power or heat from customers unable to pay their bills during the virus pandemic. https://www.governor.ny.gov/news/after-weeks-demanding-approval-governor-cuomo-announces-fda-gives-new-york-state-authority
  2. Reduce spending – You should start reducing nonessential and discretionary spending in the event things get worse. These expenses can include entertainment, certain food items, and luxuries. Those savings should be stuffed away in a savings account as an emergency fund in the event you lose income in the next few weeks or months.
  3. Reach out to credit cards – As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, many financial institutions have put in place payment deferral programs or have agreed to waive some of their fees. In addition, these institutions may also offer hardship programs or other debt management options. Contact your creditor for details. Check out this live page on assistance banks are providing: https://www.forbes.com/sites/advisor/2020/03/12/list-of-banks-offering-relief-to-customers-affected-by-coronavirus/#5ec2fc083ee3. For those who do not have a credit card, you may want to consider opening one up for additional flexibility. Please consult with a financial counselor to ensure this makes sense for your financial circumstances.
  4. Change how you pay student loans – The Cares Act (more info below) has a provision that automatically suspends all payments due on certain federal student loans until September 30, 2020. Interest will not accrue during the suspension of payment and there will be no negative effect on your credit. For more information you can check out https://www.studentloanborrowerassistance.org/what-the-cares-act-means-for-repayment-of-federal-student-loans/. Private student loan borrowers and federal student loans borrowers not covered by the CARES Act, still have some relief. On 4/7/20 the New York Department of Financial Services announced an agreement with the largest private student loan services in NY to provide relief for borrowers not covered by the CARES Act. Details are still being worked out and more information can be found here: https://www.dfs.ny.gov/press_releases/pr202004072. For federal student loans that are not covered under the CARES Act or the New York State agreement, there are two ways you can temporarily suspend your payments: deferment and forbearance. With deferment, you may be able to avoid interest accrual, while with forbearance you won’t, which means your debt will grow. A best practice during forbearance is to pay down the interest portion so that the debt will not grow.
  5. Remove auto-debit payments – If you think you will experience a cash crunch, you should consider removing auto-debit payments for your bills and other utilities. This way you can provide yourself with more flexibility to prioritize expenditures.

Please be on the lookout for price gouging and scams related to the Coronavirus. It is illegal for businesses to take unfair advantage of consumers by selling goods or services that are “vital to the health, safety, or welfare of consumers”. If you see any price gouging, you should file a complaint at https://www1.nyc.gov/site/dca/consumers/file-complaint.page#onlinecomplaint. Services that offer products that can “cure” the virus should be avoided. You can find more information at https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/features/coronavirus-scams-what-ftc-doing.

CARES ACT

On March 27 the CARES Act went into effect. The three key ways it helps is through Economic Impact Payments, enhancements to Unemployment Benefits, and Small Business Assistance.

The Economic Impact Payments are direct payouts to many citizens and residents who have income below an amount based on their filing status and qualifying children. Here is a list of people who do not need to do anything else in order to get the payment:

  • People who filed a tax return for 2018 or 2019 with direct deposit information
  • Recipients of Social Security retirement, disability, and Supplemental Security Income, or survivor benefits who do not have dependent children under 16
  • Recipients of Veteran’s benefits

There is a Non-Filers: Enter Payment Info tool on the IRS.gov website that many of NYLAG clients may need to use in order to get their payment. For individuals who are not required to file taxes and do not receive the benefits listed above, the IRS needs some more information about you in order to issue a payment. This can be done here: https://www.irs.gov/coronavirus/non-filers-enter-payment-info-here. You can also get more general information at https://www.irs.gov/coronavirus/get-my-payment-frequently-asked-questions.

It is important to clarify that the Economic Impact Payments are not taxable and can only be garnished for child support debt but not for other federal debt such as student loans or past tax debt. Also, these payments will not count as resources for benefits under means-tested federal benefits programs such as Medicaid, SSI, SNAP, or housing assistance.

Be aware that scams related to grants or Economic impact Payments (commonly known as “stimulus payments”) are on the rise in the way of calls, texts, and emails. Learn how to keep your personal information protected and avoid tax-related fraud and identity theft: https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/blog/2020/04/coronavirus-stimulus-payment-scams-what-you-need-know.

The Act has also strengthened unemployment benefits in two ways. The enhanced Unemployment Benefits provides 39 weeks of benefits (used to be 26 weeks) plus an additional $600/week until 7/31/2020. If you are a freelancer or self-employed worker, you are eligible for temporary unemployment benefits under the Pandemic Unemployment Assistance provision. More information can be found at https://labor.ny.gov/ui/cares-act.shtm.

The CARES Act did provide assistance for small businesses. However, the main recourse for many of our clients who are sole proprietors and independent contractors is no longer available. The Economic Injury Disaster Loan (and advance) has been tapped out. Congress is working on the second round of assistance and we will ensure our clients are aware of these developments.

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

  1. SNAP and food pantries – For those facing a financial strain, the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), could be extremely helpful. It provides a cash benefit for food to help supplement those expenses. More information can be found here – https://www1.nyc.gov/site/hra/help/snap-benefits-food-program.page. Also, all recertifications for SNAP benefits have been postponed indefinitely. You can also consider checking our local food pantries, which you can find here: https://www.foodbanknyc.org/get-help/.
  2. HFLS – The Hebrew Free Loan Society is offering the Coronavirus Financial Impact Loan to qualified individuals who have faced financial challenges due to the outbreak. Applicants need to have a co-signer and there are income limits. This loan has no costs or interest and more information can be found at https://hfls.org/loan-programs/#corona.
  3. Self-care – The ever-changing situation is causing a lot of uncertainty and stress. As financial counselors, we know that financial stress impacts not only individual’s and families’ long-term financial well-being, but also their physical and mental health. NYC Well can connect individuals to free, confidential mental health support. They can speak to a counselor via phone, text, or chat; and if needed get referrals to mental health care providers. For more info on NYC Well: https://nycwell.cityofnewyork.us/en/.
  4. Housing – Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac are suspending all foreclosure sales and evictions of borrowers, expanding of its forbearance program, and making additional disaster-related loan modifications. They are also suspending the reporting of delinquencies to credit bureaus. More information here: https://www.washingtonpost.com/business/economy/fannie-mae-freddie-mac-to-suspend-foreclosures/2020/03/18/0f8ee80a-693d-11ea-b313-df458622c2cc_story.html. NYLAG has already posted on rights and protections for renters, which can be found here: https://www.washingtonpost.com/business/economy/fannie-mae-freddie-mac-to-suspend-foreclosures/2020/03/18/0f8ee80a-693d-11ea-b313-df458622c2cc_story.html.
  5. Undocumented residents – Unfortunately, most of the relief will not reach undocumented residents. The New York State Young Leaders Council (NYSYLC) has launched an emergency fund for undocumented residents and accumulated resources tailored for this population, which can be found here: https://www.nysylc.org/undocufunds.

These are scary times, but you do have some control. The steps and resources above can help to make a hard situation just a little bit better.

NYLAG’s financial counseling team is here for you. To learn more and get in contact, click here, visit our coronavirus resources page, and/or call our free NY COVID-19 Legal Resource Hotline at (929) 356- 9582 or click here.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, we are still working hard and our intake lines are open, but please note that our physical office is closed.

During these unprecedented times, we’ve launched a free NY COVID-19 Legal Resources Hotline and compiled the latest legal and financial counseling updates.