fbpx
Eileen Connor (left) and Toby Merrill of the Harvard Law School's Project on Predatory Student Lending Photograph courtesy of the Project on Predatory Student Lending

“攻击债务概念”

由Matteo Wong
哈佛杂志

仅在几年前,道格斯·琼斯(Douglas Jones)在罗克斯伯里(Roxbury)一家疗养院担任夜班保安的工作,他犹豫不决地花费了甚至超过其通常预算所允许的$10。他的学生贷款债务的付款直接从他的银行帐户中提取。如果余额很短(例如,如果琼斯那一周没能工作40个小时),那么银行会收取透支费。债务毁了他的信用评分,而且他已经好几年没有信用卡了。琼斯说:“他们甚至在拿我没有的钱。” “这让我感到烦恼。”

琼斯与数百万其他美国人一道成为营利性大学行业的猎物,从本质上讲,这是一个两管齐下的系统:一端是联邦贷款,另一端是旨在获取这些贷款的营利学校。已经显示出一些营利性学校以弱势群体为目标,并鼓励他们贷款给学生,尽管许多潜在的学生可能无法偿还债务。这些专科学院的大部分收入来自联邦学生贷款;从机构的角度来看,由联邦政府支持的贷款几乎类似于自由资金。 (大多数营利性学校的收入中有70%以上来自联邦资金;对于公立和私立非营利性机构而言,情况并非如此,这些机构的学费收入通常更加分散,没有联邦贷款,州拨款的支持(捐赠,赠与和赠款。)这些学校提供的证书(通常是针对成年学习者的针对特定行业的证书)通常是无用的。

2016年,琼斯在哈佛法学院(HLS)的一次掠夺性学生贷款项目(PPSL)的广告中偶然发现,那里的律师以珠穆朗玛峰学院违反联邦准则为由,帮助他取消了债务。到那时,两年后,他的债务已达到$13,700。琼斯回忆说:“一旦我终于收到一封信,说他们将取消我的贷款,我感觉就像是在空中跳跃。”

自2012年成立以来,PPSL已帮助消除了数亿美元的学生贷款债务。 HLS讲师Toby Merrill,JD '11在看到次贷和营利性大学的掠夺性贷款做法之间存在相似之处后,创立了该项目。她希望像律师针对次级抵押贷款行业使用的策略(“代表个人与潜在的不良行为者提起诉讼”)可以用于营利性学校。 PPSL不仅进行个案研究,而且还寻求更系统的变革:“其使命是使这些学校不复存在,使他们无法继续对学生实行掠夺性作法,”高级律师Victoria Roytenberg说在PPSL。 “我们首先要通过诉讼来做到这一点;我们在与决策者和民选官员的合作中做到了这一点。”

她回忆说,例如,她在2017年致力于协助学生起诉ITT技术学院。这是一家庞然大物的营利性学校,该校在全国设有138个校区,并在2016年宣布破产之前设有在线计划。追求收入而不是受教育,这是通过代价高昂的骗局来实现的。罗伊滕贝格说:“学生贷款债务几乎不可能在破产中得到解除。” “它的残酷之处在于,即使是像ITT这样的公司也要破产,对他们没有任何后果。他们几乎毫发无损地走开了。”监管机构和营利性学校高管都倾向于将债务的责任放在学生借款人身上,而不是在学校里鼓励学生借高风险贷款。但是,ITT的情况就不同了:该项目不仅获得了划时代的解决方案-取消了75万名ITT前学生的价值$5亿美元的债务-而且还颠覆了借款人-债权人的承诺,成功地论证了学生是最大的债权人ITT的财产,并确保他们获得$T15亿的债权,可以要求ITT的财产。 (将决定该索赔价值的破产案件仍在继续。)

琼斯的故事始于许多进入专有大学的美国人。 2009年,他在Everest Institute(一家位于马萨诸塞州布莱顿市的营利性学校)的珠穆朗玛峰学院看到了一项有前途的牙科辅助计划广告,并决定致电。不久之后,珠穆朗玛峰的招募人员开始每天打电话给他,并最终以向上的机动性推销琼斯:“'很多人通过这个计划生活得很成功',”他回忆说。当时似乎就像“美国梦”一样,进入白领,高薪阶层。他接受了大约$8,000的贷款来支付学费,相信这所大学为他找到一份高薪工作提供了保证,并且每天从他在多切斯特的家中乘车往返于校园一年,同时继续在夜间担任警卫。 。但是在完成该计划后,他意识到自己被卖掉了一个虚假的承诺:雇主们没有认真对待珠穆朗玛峰学院的证书,最重要的是,许多人告诉他,像他这样的非裔美国人根本没有被录用作为牙科助手。他说:“他们向您发送了他们知道不会雇用您的职位。”艰苦的一年的课程学习(琼斯一直是他班上的佼佼者)导致他的就业前景没有改变,也没有沉重的债务。

营利性大学行业,PPSL法律总监Eileen Connor解释说,低收入和少数民族个人以及单亲父母和退伍军人都是猎物,对他们来说,高等教育似乎是一个遥不可及的梦想。她说,这种关系已经成熟。与以营利为目的的大学招聘人员会面时,很少有人意识到他们正在与从事佣金工作的销售人员打交道,因此很可能会被利用,“因为他们一生都被限制在以为教育是好事,而且是公开的。 -思想。”然而,对于这些学校,托比·梅里尔(Toby Merrill)补充说,教育通常不是优先事项:许多营利性大学在营销和行政人员报酬上的支出要比教育多得多,使用虚假的广告做法,并且与其他学校的类似计划相比要昂贵得多。尽管公立和私立非营利大学也存在掠夺性贷款行为,但HLS项目关注的是私立大学,它们是高等教育中表现最差的行为者。营利性大学的学生更有可能拖欠债务,而不是获得所需的证书。营利性学校的学生人数占美国学生总数的13%,但占联邦学生贷款违约的33%。康纳说:“我们不仅要庆贺为高等教育提供贷款,还需要问:'为什么我们要这样做,我们到底在帮助谁?'”

MERRILL将掠夺性学生贷款行业的起源追溯到1944年的《军人重新调整法案》(即GI法案),该法案支付了二战退伍军人上大学或职业学校的费用。该法案为高等教育资金创建了凭证模型:联邦政府将钱分配给个人,而不是学校。后来,1965年的《高等教育法》建立了联邦家庭教育贷款(FFEL)计划,根据该计划,政府为希望上大学的学生提供银行担保的贷款(而不是《地理标志法案》下的政府补助)。优惠券模式今天仍在继续。

《地理标志法案》和第一部《高等教育法》旨在为有需要的人(退伍军人和穷人)提供机会。但是,大量的资金创造了一个系统,在该系统中,学生成为私人参与者获得联邦资金的一种手段。联邦政府对银行发放的学生贷款的担保,加上政府非凡的收债权,使这些贷款对公司而言几乎没有风险。营利性大学行业在1970年代和1980年代开始激增。根据PPSL的统计,营利性大学每年收到的联邦学生援助超过$T300亿-在2010年,这占教育部(DOE)所有学生援助计划资金的四分之一。美林解释说:“联邦学生贷款计划本身就是这些公司的激励因素,因为它提供了无限制地使用联邦资金的机会。”

“掠夺性学生贷款项目”考虑了联邦政府,特别是其贷款做法和不健全的法规,对掠夺性学生贷款的责任与学校本身一样。康纳说:“这实际上是一个两党制的问题,一直都是在影响力和俘获方面。”能源部和营利性学校构成了这种两管齐下的制度的目的。例如,2005年,政府取消了一项规定,禁止长途入学率超过50%(即仅限在线)入学的大学获得联邦资金,从而导致专有学校的规模和利润大幅增长,而这些学校现在可以提供大部分在线课程。 “ [DOE的]客户群,只要他们有一个,就真的是学校,而不是学生。”

尽管民主党政府和共和党政府都为营利性大学产业做出了贡献,但奥巴马政府至少采取了一些措施来统治该行业,尽管它们并不总是有效的。由特朗普总统任命的教育部长贝茜·德沃斯(Betsy DeVos)取消了营利性学校的管制。 2010年,奥巴马政府结束了FFEL计划,以确保所有联邦学生贷款直接来自DOE-理论上通过合并信息增加了另一种防止滥用的手段。能源部表示,“能源部如果不批准就不会放贷”。

但是,以营利为目的的大学行业仍然蓬勃发展:将监管机构和贷方合并为一个单一的身份意味着“没有外部检查”,Connor解释说。在奥巴马总统第二任期临近尾声时,政府确实停止向一些最严重滥用的营利性连锁机构(如科林斯学院和ITT)分配联邦财政援助,这些公司破产了。但是康纳说,美国能源部继续制造和收取已知无法偿还的贷款。违约率仍然很高,DeVos废除了奥巴马时代的规定,该规定导致联邦政府拒绝向某些专有大学提供资金。康纳补充说:“该部门可以通过继续收取贷款来掩盖自己在关守方面的失败,而无视借款人短缺的事实。”

2015年,债务集体组织(一家致力于为医疗和教育等基本需求取消债务的组织)的代表与能源部官员会面,讨论掠夺性学生贷款。该集体刚刚组织了第一次学生债务罢工,建立了一个由数以万计的学生贷款债务困扰的人组成的网络。为了寻求法律策略,该集体与Connor合作,代表这些以前的学生提出了抗辩债权,并援引《高等教育法》中当时未被充分利用的条款,该条款规定,如果债务人受到欺诈,可以取消联邦学生贷款。学校不当行为。 Debt Collective联合创始人托马斯·戈基(Thomas Gokey)说:“我们有一个装满[借款人防御]文书工作的红色盒子,在与[能源部]开会的某个时刻,我们将它从桌子底下抽了出来,然后砸在桌子上。” “而且他们不能忽略它。法律站在我们这一边。”

要求取消学生贷款有很大的障碍。营利性大学的招生合同通常包含一项强制性的仲裁条款,以防止学生提起诉讼。提出索赔的时间可能会用完。律师很贵。尽管学校是一个潜在的交易对手,但债务本身的大部分由联邦政府持有,这又带来了一系列挑战。而且几乎不可能单独提出对借款人的辩护主张,因为美国能源部和州政府都没有正式的程序来主张这些取消债务的主张。

债务集体与PPSL的合作改变了这一状况。 (“我们的诉讼一直在支持组织的有机运动,”康纳说。)他们的合作迫使能源部建立了一个正式的程序,让前营利性大学生提出捍卫借款人的要求。自2015年以来,成千上万的学生提出了此类申请,而借款人辩护已成为该项目的主要诉讼策略之一。 7月,它赢得了Vara诉DeVos案,该案中,法官下令取消7200多名学生的债务:这是联邦法院首次下令由于借款人的辩护而解除联邦学生贷款。

但是通过诉讼改变营利性大学行业仍然充满挑战,因为“诉讼模型通常是追溯性的”,曾任学生的杰西卡·拉努奇(Jessica Ranucci)说,她在该项目学习了一半的HLS学期后,现在从事消费者法律和学生贷款业务。纽约法律援助小组(NYLAG)。她解释说,一种平衡方法是进行“明确的前瞻性诉讼”。 Ranucci目前正在与PPSL合作,后者代表NYLAG提起诉讼,以使DOE对借款人防卫规则的更改无效,从而使取消联邦学生贷款债务变得更加困难。

这样的集体诉讼,无论是寻求纠正过去的伤害还是提供未来的保护,都达到了美林对该项目的两个目标:她说,“以结果为导向,富有表现力”。她的目标是通过PPSL的诉讼覆盖尽可能多的人,创造改变行业的政治和经济动机。这项工作也为受苦者的经历表达了声音。

康纳说,他们的诉讼是“从许多不同方面攻击债务的概念。”然而,即使在成功的诉讼中,“有时候我们能做的最好的事情就是抹去债务,但这并不能真正使人们整顿。”仍然存在道德成分。康纳说,她已经感觉到“对我的债务人客户比我的凶手客户更具敌意。”学生借款人有偿还债务的义务,债权人有追收债务的义务,这在许多方面都是营利性大学产业的道德基础,也是PPSL试图解决的问题。 “在这个联邦计划的管理中,只允许一个行业彻底破坏人们的生活,让监管机构被这样一个行业所吸引,这有什么道理?”她问。 “ [我们正在尝试改变人们对人们为什么拥有学生贷款债务的理解,以及为什么我们一开始就以债务融资的方式构建高等教育。”

最初发表于 哈佛杂志 2020年9月8日。

分享这个帖子

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin
分享到pinterest
分享到print
分享到email

相关文章

简体中文
English Español de México 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা 简体中文
滚动到顶部

为了应对COVID-19危机,我们仍在努力工作,我们的进气管已经开放,但是请注意,我们的物理办公室已关闭。

在这空前的时期,我们启动了免费的NY COVID-19法律资源热线,并编制了最新的法律和财务咨询更新。

fbpx
Eileen Connor (left) and Toby Merrill of the Harvard Law School's Project on Predatory Student Lending Photograph courtesy of the Project on Predatory Student Lending

“Attacking the Concept of Debt”

By Matteo Wong
Harvard Magazine

ONLY A FEW years ago, Douglas Jones, who worked night shifts as a security guard at a nursing home in Roxbury, was hesitant to spend even $10 more than his typical budget allowed. Payments on his student loan debt were being withdrawn directly from his bank account. If the balance was short—for instance, if Jones hadn’t managed to get 40 hours at his job that week—the bank charged an overdraft fee. The debt had ruined his credit score and he hadn’t had a credit card in years. “They were even taking money I didn’t have,” Jones says. “It was stressing me the hell out.”

Along with millions of other Americans, Jones had fallen prey to the for-profit college industry, which is in essence a two-pronged system—federal loans at one end and for-profit schools designed to access those loans at the other. Some for-profit schools have been shown to target vulnerable groups and encourage them to take out student loans—even though many prospective students likely will not be able to repay their debts. Federal student loans comprise most of the income of these proprietary colleges; from the institution’s perspective, the loans, backed by the federal government, are almost akin to free money. (The majority of for-profit schools generate more than 70 percent of their revenue from federal funds; that is not the case for public and private non-profit institutions, which typically have more diversified revenues from tuition not backed by federal loans, state appropriations, endowments, gifts, and grants.) The credentials these schools provide—often trade-specific certificates aimed at adult learners—are often useless.

In 2016, Jones stumbled across an advertisement for the Project on Predatory Student Lending (PPSL) at Harvard Law School (HLS), and lawyers there helped him cancel his debt on the grounds that the Everest Institute had violated federal guidelines. By the time that happened, two years later, his debt had reached $13,700. “Once I finally got the letter saying they were going to dismiss my loans,” Jones recalls, “I felt like jumping in the air.”

Since its inception in 2012, PPSL has helped eliminate hundreds of millions of dollars of student-loan debt. HLS lecturer Toby Merrill, J.D. ’11, founded the project after seeing similarities between predatory-lending practices in subprime mortgages and for-profit colleges. She hoped tactics like those that lawyers used against the subprime mortgage industry—“litigating on behalf of individuals against underlying bad actors”—could be used against for-profit schools. PPSL does individual casework, but also pursues more systemic change: its “mission is to make it so that these schools can’t exist, that they can’t continue to perpetuate these predatory practices on students,” says Victoria Roytenberg, a senior attorney at PPSL. “We do that first and foremost with litigation; we do that in our work with policymakers and elected officials.”

She recalls, for instance, working in 2017 to assist students in suing ITT Technical Institutes—a behemoth for-profit school that operated 138 campuses across the country and an online program before declaring bankruptcy in 2016. The court filing accused the company of “churning students through a costly sham” in pursuit of earnings rather than education. “Student-loan debts are almost impossible to discharge in bankruptcy,” Roytenberg says. “The cruelty of it is that even these companies, like ITT, get to go bankrupt and there’s no consequences for them. They get to walk away virtually unscathed.” Regulators and for-profit school executives alike tend to place responsibility for debt on the student borrower, rather than on the schools encouraging students to take out risky loans. The case of ITT, however, would be different: the project not only secured a landmark settlement—the cancellation of $500 million worth of debt for 750,000 former ITT students—but flipped the borrower-creditor script, successfully arguing that students were the largest creditors of ITT’s estate and securing them a $1.5 billion allowed claim against ITT’s estate. (The bankruptcy case that will determine the value of that claim is continuing.)

JONES’S STORY began like that of many of the millions of Americans who have enrolled in proprietary colleges. In 2009, he saw a promising commercial for the dental-assistant program at Everest Institute, a for-profit school with a campus in Brighton, Massachusetts, and decided to call. Soon after, an Everest recruiter began calling him daily, eventually selling Jones on upward mobility: “‘A lot of people get ahead in life going through this program,’” he recalls being told. It seemed, at the time, like “the dream of America,” a way to enter the white-collar, higher-salary world. He assumed approximately $8,000 of loans to afford tuition, trusting the college’s guarantee to find him a well-paying job, and commuted from his home in Dorchester to the campus every day for a year while continuing to work as a security guard at night. But after completing the program, he realized he had been sold a false promise: employers didn’t take the Everest Institute credential seriously—and on top of that, he says, many told him that African American men like him simply did not get hired as dental assistants. “They sent you places that they know aren’t going to hire you,” he says. A grueling year of coursework (Jones had been near the top of his class) resulted in no change in his employment prospects—and devastating debts.

The for-profit college industry, explains Eileen Connor, PPSL’s legal director, preys on low-income and minority individuals, as well as single parents and veterans, for many of whom higher education seems like a distant dream. It is a relationship ripe for abuse, she says. When meeting with a for-profit college recruiter, few people realize they are dealing with a salesperson working on commission and thus are likely being taken advantage of, “because they’ve been conditioned over their entire lives to think education is something good and public-minded.” Yet for these schools, Toby Merrill adds, education is often not a priority: many for-profit colleges spend far more on marketing and executive compensation than education, use false advertising practices, and are more expensive compared to similar programs at other schools. Although predatory-lending behaviors also exist at public and private nonprofit universities, the HLS project focuses on proprietary colleges as the worst actors in higher education. Students at for-profit colleges are more likely to default on their debt than obtain the credential they sought; for-profit schools enroll 13 percent of the total student population in the United States but account for 33 percent of federal student-loan defaults. “Instead of just celebrating the availability of loans for higher education,” Connor says, “we need to ask: ‘Why are we doing things this way, and who are we really helping?’”

MERRILL TRACES the origins of the predatory student-lending industry to the Servicemen’s Readjustment Act of 1944, or GI Bill, which paid for World War II veterans to attend college or vocational school. The bill created a voucher model for higher-education funding: the federal government distributed money to individuals, rather than to schools. Later, the Higher Education Act of 1965 created the Federal Family Education Loan (FFEL) program, under which the government insured bank-provided loans (rather than government grants under the GI Bill) to students seeking to attend college. The voucher model continues today.

The GI Bill and the first Higher Education Act were designed to provide opportunity to those in need—veterans and the poor. But this flood of money created a system in which students became a means for private actors to receive federal funds. The federal guarantee on bank-issued student loans, combined with the government’s extraordinary debt-collection powers, made these loans virtually risk-free for companies. The for-profit college industry began to proliferate in the 1970s and 1980s. According to PPSL, for-profit colleges receive more than $30 billion annually in federal student aid—in 2010, this amounted to one-quarter of all Department of Education (DOE) student-aid program funds. “The federal student-loan program is itself a motivator for these companies,” Merrill explains, “because it provides potentially unlimited access to federal funds.”

The Project on Predatory Student Lending considers the federal government, in particular its lending practices and lackluster regulation, just as responsible for predatory student lending as the schools themselves. “This is really a two-party problem, and it always has been in terms of influence and capture,” Connor says—the DOE and for-profit schools form the ends of this two-pronged system. For instance, in 2005 the government lifted a rule that prohibited colleges with more than 50 percent long-distance (i.e. online-only) enrollment from receiving federal funds, leading to tremendous growth in the size and profits of proprietary schools that could now offer mostly online classes. “[The DOE’s] clientele, to the extent that they have one,” Merrill says, “is really schools and not students.”

Although both Democratic and Republican administrations have contributed to the for-profit college industry the Obama administration took at least some steps to reign in the industry, though they were not always effective. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos, appointed by President Trump, has instead deregulated for-profit schools. In 2010, the Obama administration ended the FFEL program, to ensure that all federal student loans came directly from the DOE—in theory adding another check against abuse by consolidating information. The DOE “wouldn’t lend if it wouldn’t approve,” Merrill says.

But the for-profit college industry still flourished: merging regulator and lender into a single identity means “there’s no external check,” Connor explains. The government did stop dispensing federal financial-aid dollars to a few of the most egregiously abusive for-profit chains, such as Corinthian Colleges and ITT, near the end of President Obama’s second term, and those companies went bankrupt—efforts the project applauds. But the DOE continues to make and collect on loans it knows cannot be repaid, Connor says. Default rates remain high, and DeVos repealed the Obama-era rules that led to the denial of federal funds to some proprietary colleges. “The department can hide its failure in gatekeeping by continuing to collect on the loans,” Connor adds, “and ignore the fact that borrowers were shortchanged.”

IN 2015, representatives from the Debt Collective, an organization that works to cancel debt for basic needs such as health care and education, met with DOE officials to discuss predatory student lending. The collective had just organized the first student debt strike, creating a network of tens of thousands of people suffering from student-loan debt. Searching for a legal strategy, the collective worked with Connor to make borrower-defense claims on behalf of these former students, invoking a then-underutilized provision in the Higher Education Act stating that federal student loans can be canceled if the debtors have been defrauded by school misconduct. “We had a red box full of [borrower-defense] paperwork and at one point in the meeting [with DOE] we pulled it out from under the table and slammed it on the desk,” says Debt Collective co-founder Thomas Gokey. “And they couldn’t ignore it. The law was on our side.”

There are significant obstacles to suing for student-loan cancellation. Enrollment contracts at for-profit colleges usually include a forced arbitration clause that prevents students from suing. Time to bring claims can run out. Lawyers are expensive. Although the schools are one potential counterparty, much of the debt itself is held by the federal government, which involves another set of challenges. And borrower-defense claims were nearly impossible to mount individually, because neither the DOE nor state governments had a formal process for asserting those debt-cancellation claims.

The Debt Collective and PPSL collaboration changed that. (“Our litigation has been in support of organic organizing movements,” Connor says.) Their cooperation forced the DOE to establish a formal process for former for-profit college students to make borrower-defense claims. Since 2015, hundreds of thousands of students have filed such applications, and borrower defense has become one of the project’s main litigation tactics. In July it won the case Vara v. DeVos, in which a judge ordered the cancellation of debt for more than 7,200 students: the first time a federal court has ordered the discharge of federal student loans due to borrower defense.

But changing the for-profit college industry through litigation remains challenging because “the litigation model is often retrospective,” says Jessica Ranucci, a former student who, after spending half of her HLS semesters at the project, now works on consumer law and student loans at the New York Legal Assistance Group (NYLAG). One way to balance that, she explains, is to make “explicitly prospective litigation.” Ranucci is currently back at work with PPSL, which is representing NYLAG in a lawsuit to invalidate DOE changes to borrower-defense rules that make it substantially harder to cancel federal student-loan debt.

Such class-action suits, whether they seek to correct past harms or create future protections, fulfill two goals Merrill has for the project: to be, she says, “outcome-oriented and expressive.” She aims to reach the broadest number of people possible through PPSL’s litigation, creating political and economic incentives to change the industry. And the work also gives voice to the experiences of those who have suffered.

Their litigation, Connor says, is “attacking, from a lot of different fronts, the concept of debt.” Yet even in a successful lawsuit, “sometimes the best thing we can do is just wipe away debt, but that doesn’t really make people whole.” There remains a moral component. Connor says she has sensed “more hostility toward my clients who are debtors than my clients who were murderers.” The idea that student borrowers have an obligation to repay and that creditors have an obligation to collect is in many ways the moral foundation of the for-profit college industry—and one that PPSL seeks to unsettle. “What’s moral about having a regulator that’s so captured by an industry that is just allowing for the utter destruction of people’s lives in the administration of this federal program?” she asks. “[We’re] trying to change people’s perceptions about why people have student-loan debt, and why it is that we even structure higher education in a debt-financed way in the first place.”

Originally published in Harvard Magazine on September 8, 2020.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related Articles

English
Español de México 简体中文 繁體中文 Русский Français اردو বাংলা English
Scroll to Top

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, we are still working hard and our intake lines are open, but please note that our physical office is closed.

During these unprecedented times, we’ve launched a free NY COVID-19 Legal Resources Hotline and compiled the latest legal and financial counseling updates.